Private room
2 Guests
1 Bed
$73
Per Night
Report this listing
You have reported this listing. Undo?

About this listing

A double room in a stylish and quiet flat, my place isn't in tourist London, so you can live like a real Londoner for your days here! Check out the many reviews and description below.

This is your room, with a double bed. There are two separate duvets available to stop arguments over the covers!

This is your room, with a double bed. There are two separate duvets available to stop arguments over the covers!

Verified Photo

The Space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Weekly Price: $523 /week
Monthly Price: $1793 /month
Cancellation: Strict

Description

The Space

Hi there!
My place is a two bedroomed architect-designed apartment. A double room is available, for a maximum of two people. You will share the apartment with me, Matthew.
Like London, the place is modern on the inside but old on the outside!

Guest Access

WHAT IS YOURS: Your room has a double bed (140cm wide), with lots of storage and a desk. The bed is made up, and towels are provided, and there is a hairdryer and a European socket adaptor
WHAT IS SHARED: You share with me the open plan living room with high, roof-lit ceiling, and a piano if you want to play!
Please feel free to use the kitchen area, with oven, dishwasher, microwave, and all utensils, and dining table
Bathroom with shower, bath and washing machine
South facing balcony overlooking private gardens, great for breakfast or lunch in good weather.
and ... There are friendly neighbours!
The place has wi-fi

Interaction with Guests

The majority of the time, I am also at the flat, but sometimes I can be absent for some of your stay.

The Neighborhood

WHERE: The apartment is in Southwark, south of the Thames. To be clear, this location, 16 mins walk from the Elephant and Castle, is not in tourist London. If you want to roll out of bed into Piccadilly Circus, then this is not the place for you. The area is a residential area just south of the centre of London.

So if you need somewhere comfortable, clean, sunny, and quiet, that is quick to get into town, and in an interesting multicultural area where real people actually live, then this apartment is great!

Central London is pretty big. Yet thanks to the bend in the river Thames, the flat is equidistant to most places of interest - Westminster, Soho, the West End, Covent Garden, and the City of London are a short bus journey away.
The area isn't London's most glamorous, but it is convenient. In fact, with the wind in the right direction, when lying in bed you can hear Big Ben striking!
Local facilities are great for buying provisions. Not only are good British supermarkets under five mins walk away, but a very handy well stocked Turkish store is also close by, where you can get groceries, fruit and freshly baked bread 24 hours a day!

Getting Around

BUS
The buses from the Walworth Road, which is three minutes walk away, are frequent and the best way get here. It takes as little as 20 minutes to all of central London, with 11 routes during the day, and 7 routes all night

TUBE
The nearest tube station is Elephant and Castle, (in zone 1). This is 16 minutes walk, and is on two lines, Bakerloo and Northern. Kennington tube is also within 15-20 mins walk.

BIKE
The nearest London cycle hire scheme (only £2 for 24hours access) is a few mins walk away

TRAIN
Elephant and Castle has the Thameslink trains, direct to all central London stops, plus further north and south.

AIRPORTS
The great thing about this location is all five London airports (Heathrow, Gatwick, Luton, Stansted and City) take around the same time to get to from the place, around 1 hour or so.

CAR
If you have a car, there is street parking right out side the door. It is free in the evenings and all weekend, outside these times it is payable parking. However, there is some free on street parking around 10 mins walk away, which I can show you if you require it.

Other Things to Note

Check in is flexible, but you do need to provide arrival details in advance. Check out is usually best before 11 am, though you are very welcome to leave your luggage here on the day of departure, to pick up in the evening.

Please read the listing carefully before booking, or requesting a booking, reservations will be accepted on the basis you have done so. The room is for one or two people, there is no space for a third person, and the flat is not suitable for a baby or small child.
All the information guests usually require is hopefully stated here, so please double check your questions before asking, or committing to book. Should you then not see the answer to your question, then ask!

+ More

House Rules

My house is your house, and my guests tend to want to keep it tidy, as I do. There are no time rules or anything, I give you the keys and you are free to come and go as you like. I do have one particular rule though, if you are a smoker. If you could make sure you don't smoke inside, that would be greatly appreciated!

+ More

Availability
3 nights minimum stay
the kitchen is well equipped, with oven, microwave, and dishwasher.

the kitchen is well equipped, with oven, microwave, and dishwasher.

104 Reviews
()


Summary
()
Accuracy
()
Communication
()
Cleanliness
()
Location
()
Check In
()
Value

This host has 6 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

About the Host, Matthew

shared.user_profile_image
London, United Kingdom
Member since August 2010

Connections

Explore other options in and around London

More places to stay in London: Houses · Bed & Breakfasts · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums