Big light double room nr Limerick

House - Private room · Bishop Murphy Park, Parteen, Ireland

The Space

Please note for security reasons I only take female guests, but will consider a well recommended couple.

Mauve decor, bright, two windowed, modern room with double bed. Wireless internet (downloading and uploading large files limited - ask me first). Sole use of bathroom. Use of sitting room & TV. Laundry and cooking facilities by arrangement. 3 miles from city centre, half mile from nearest shops. Poor bus service, car advisable, plenty of on-street parking. Suit couple or 1-2 ladies. Safe respectable working-class area. Local reliable taxi driver available for sightseeing, airport/station transfers, etc. Self-service continental breakfast items available, tell me what you would like and I'll get it in.

I cannot offer to cook, iron, or do shopping for you, as I am mildly disabled, and have no car.

There is a ramp up to the front door, and if you cannot manage stairs, I may be able to accommodate you on a comfortable single bed in my own room. This has a fully disabled friendly bathroom attached. I would sleep in the guest room.

My home is a simple house, but nicely decorated. The room has hanging space, chest of drawers, mirror, and a chair to relax. It's my spare bedroom, so my books are there, and you are welcome to read them. Please do not remove any books, it's taken me many years to collect them. There is a nice view from the windows and the room gets the afternoon sun. It's a non-smokingand pet-free house. Free local and National phone calls after 7.00PM on the landline. All day wireless internet access for (website hidden)ing.

I do not usually give a key, as I am usually in. However that's negotiable.

Please note, the public transport is as follows:

From 20 meters outside the door to the centre of town, 4 times a day in and out. No Sunday or bank holiday service. Bus fare currently is 2.10 euros.

From 2 Kilometers away, to the centre of town and on to the other side of the city (big shopping centre, cinema complex, large hospital) every half hour. Sundays/bank holidays aprox every hour.

Nearest shops, 1 general store, garage, dry-cleaners/laundry, butcher's shop 1 Km away.

One bicycle may be available on loan, but walking shoes might be useful! A taxi to town will cost 10-12 euros.

Please be understanding of the fact that Ireland has a moderate climate. That is to say we don't get extremes of temperatures. If you come from a hot climate in July you may feel cold. We don't go round the house in a short sleeved tee-shirt and have the heating on. The first (eco-friendly) resource is a sweater, likely to be needed at any time of the year.

Also, much as I would love to be able to do something about it, it rains a lot in Ireland! That's why it's so green. An umbrella might be useful. I can lend you one, if you lose it you replace it.

May I suggest you also pack an adapter. Mine have a habit of disappearing.Our electricity sockets are the same as the UK.

Guest Access

Bathroom (sole use) kitchen, sitting room with TV. Use of washing machine, and clothes airer. I have no dryer.

Interaction with Guests

Quite a bit. I'm usually at home in the evenings. I'm happy to sit and chat, or find out and recommend things to do. I can arrange for cabs and possibly bike rental. I have my own room and bathroom with TV, so I give guests privacy. I can provide a shelf in the fridge for guests.

The Neighborhood

It's quiet. It's a large village, with several housing estates. There is a pub, church, window glaziers shop, and a beauty shop. No general store, but the nearest is half a mile walk, where there is also a garage, some hot food, a dry cleaners, a butchers. My house is in an ex-social housing estate, which was built in 1970, and well established. It's quiet, and respectable, with no crime, drug or alcohol problems. It's very pretty in the summer, when the estate take part in the "Tidy village" competition. All the neighbours plant flowers in the public areas, and the trees are in full blossom.

Getting around

No, not very. There is a bus in and out of town (Limerick) about 3 - 4 times a day, the earliest being around 8.00 AM, and the latest 5.30 PM. There is a regular bus service about a mile away, every half hour.

Other Things to Note

Duvet is down and feather, but I can arrange to put a synthetic one on the bed if you prefer

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $7 / night after the first guest
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $285 /week
Security Deposit: $142
Check Out: 1:00 PM
Cancellation: Moderate

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Check In
  • Amanda and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Frances. She's such a polite and friendly person to stay with and also extremely helpful in planning activities and suggesting ideas. The room was absolutely wonderful and the city was just as beautiful. We can't wait to come back again!

    March 2014
    Response from Frances:

    Thank you, Julie. It was a pleasure having you

  • Our stay was very nice. Frances home is very cheerful and safe. Frances is very welcoming. She gaves us all we needed and she helped us for all. We enjoyed speak with her. She is very interesting !

    October 2012
    Response from Frances:

    Thank you, Helene. It was a pleasure having you.

  • I enjoyed my stay with Frances greatly and would recommend her place. She and her family were gracious, thoughtful, and personally helpful beyond expectation. I enjoyed our time together a great deal. Limerick is a lovely place to visit and you will leave with fond memories and a desire to return soonest.

    July 2011
Per Month
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 19 times
Deutsch, English, Ελληνικά
World traveller, world citizen
View full profile
Calendar Updated

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings