Rural property with amazing views

Private room
4 Guests
2 Beds

Request to Book

Per Night
Per Month

This property is unavailable.

When are you traveling?
Enter dates for accurate prices and availability.

This is a rare find.
Heather's place is usually booked.
Love this place? Book soon!
Chances are...
Heather's place will get booked for these dates.
Chances are...
Heather's place will get booked for these dates.
Reserve for disaster relief
Heather has waived the cost of staying here for people displaced by
Strict Cancellation
50% refund until one week before arrival, except service fees.
Report this listing
You have reported this listing. Undo?

About this listing

Set in lovely, quiet surroundings in rural South Cumbria. This home is a great place from which to visit both the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales. I offer one double room and one twin- bedded room and a full English or continental breakfast.

Contact Host



The Space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: 4:00 PM
Check Out: 10:00 AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room


Extra people: $47 / night after 2 guests
Weekly discount: 0%
Cancellation: Moderate


The Space

This is my family home with a lovely garden and stunning views in every direction and is quiet and peaceful, ideal for a relaxing retreat.

There is a choice of a double room or twin bedded room. The double room, with far-reaching views, has an en-suite shower and sink, whilst the twin room has exclusive use of a downstairs shower room. Both rooms share a toilet/sink room. Tea and coffee making facilities are in the rooms, toiletries and towels are provided. A small fridge is available for perishable goods. The rooms are £60 each for two or more nights. The price for a single night is negotiable on enquiry, depending on the time of year.

I can offer a choice of full English or continental breakfast with vegetarian options available. Please let me know your requirements when booking. There is a good range of local pubs and restaurants nearby, serving food all day. Something to suit every taste from fish and chips and Pizza Express to fine dining.

The house and garden are not suitable for babies and toddlers.

Guest Access

In the summer months, the conservatory is a delightful space in which to eat and relax, however during the cooler months you might take advantage of the sitting room with its log burner and TV. There is plenty of space to be private should you want that. All of this is negotiable.

Interaction with Guests

I am happy to spend time with you if you would like that and I can provide maps, ideas of places to visit or walk, packed lunch or be your guide on a day out if I have no other commitments (There would be a reasonable charge to cover fuel and additional food. I would also need some notice to shop for food for packed lunches)

The Neighborhood

I welcome guests from all over the world who wish to explore the North of England. This peaceful neighbourhood has lovely walks from the doorstep, both the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks are within 20 miles drive, and the Cumbrian coastline is only 5 miles from here. There are also a number of historic houses (Sizergh Castle and Levens Hall within 2 miles), tourist attractions (Heron Corn Mill, South Lakes Wildlife Park), interesting towns and villages (Kirkby Lonsdale, Kendal, Grange-over-Sands and Cartmel) and a world-famous bird reserve within easy travelling distance.

Getting Around

This is a rural location, with a bus service running 3 times during the day between Milnthorpe and Kendal. Oxenholme Lake District mainline train station is about 5 miles away. I am happy to provide a collection service from the station free of charge if required. Having a car would be an advantage, but staying here for a couple of nights without one is possible

Other Things to Note

I have a well-behaved boxer dog, who loves to be everyone’s friend, and for that reason, I would want to do some negotiation before welcoming other pets to my home.

My preference would be to host people who are part of a couple or a group of friends, whatever gender. Single women travellers would also be welcome.

+ More

House Rules

I would expect guests to treat me and my home with respect. It is a non-smoking house, but you could do so in the garden. Please check in after 4.30 pm and check out by 10.30 am. I will negotiate around this if you would like that.

+ More

Safety Features
Smoke Detector
Carbon Monoxide Detector
First Aid Kit

1 night minimum stay
Double bedroom

Double bedroom

53 Reviews

Check In

This host has 1 review for other properties.

View Other Reviews

About the Host, Heather

Kendal, United Kingdom
Member since August 2013


Explore other options in and around Hincaster