Entire home/apt
3 Guests
1 Bedroom
1 Bed
Per Night
Per Month
Subtotal Total
Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

This property is unavailable.

View Other Listings
Report this listing
You have reported this listing. Undo?

About This Listing

This is a quiet house in an urban neighborhood. What the neighborhood lacks beauty, it has in convenience. You have the entire house to yourself and my super sweet cat bean.

Contact Host

South Philadelphia artist's house
Verified Photo

The Space
Bed type: Real Bed
Property type: House
Accommodates: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 12:00 PM (noon)
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Cat(s)


Extra people: $25 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee: $25
Security Deposit: $100
Cancellation: Moderate


House Rules

1 night minimum stay
South Philadelphia artist's house
Verified Photo

7 Reviews

Check In
August 2014

January 2014
Response from Ellie:

This review seems to be unfair, in that the issues states were indeed out of my control. The neighbors had a fight. I cannot control that. The previous guests didn't clean up. This is an airbnb issue that I am taking up with them. They were disasterous guests and this also is not my fault. You're allergic to (email hidden)ain, not my fault.
I called you and asked if everything was okay and you said it was all fine. Instead I come home to find a note and a bad review. I'm wondering why you didn't communicate your concerns with me directly?
I could have sent a neighbor over to help clean up at the very least....
I'm sorry you were unhappy and I'll apologize for the circumstances beyond my control.
None of this is what I wanted to come home to and I'm sad it was negative for both of us. When I left the house was spotless, the furniture wasn't moved around, there was no trash, I left sheets and towels out for you and all was well in the neighborhood.

January 2014

January 2014
Response from Ellie:

Fact: this girl was 18 and her boyfriend is still in high school. They have never had to take care of themselves or a home. I did not know this before they arrived. It's my fault for leaving them alone in my house.

Fact: They actually caused $900 worth of damage. My bed was covered in their sex fluids, sheets and duvet cover ruined, a plate from the 1950s broke under the weight of the dirty dishes they left in the sink, they tried to make pancakes in a soup pot (???) and left the batter in the pot and pans used ruining those, a wooden spoon I brought back from Costa Rica was in there and ruined, they used my food when I soecifically asked them not to and left Chinese food containers everywhere, including my bedroom. That's just the kitchen. I came home to find my credit card out, my computer monitor not working and other things in my office out of place.

Fact: I had the house cleaned before they arrived and after I got home. Time before was 2 hours. Time after their visit was 4 hours. There are no bugs in the house, unless they brought them in with them. Bugs were a problem over the summer but they have since been exterminated. This is my home and I take pride and care in it.

Fact: My cat Bean is petit, not underfed. She's been 9 pounds her whole adult life. She picks at her food. The fact that they tried to feed her human food and treats instead of her prescribed care horrifies me. This woman clearly knows nothing about caring for animals.

Fact: the internet was working for the next guest Michelle. I'm not sure why they couldn't use it.

Fact: the fighting neighbors have moved out.

Fact: this is the city. I vow never to rent to anyone under the age of 23 who has not lived in a city before. My feeling is that if the city makes you uncomfortable, you should probably stay in a hotel.

Fact: I don't charge that much here because I'm trying to accommodate budget travelers, as I am one myself.

I don't appreciate the lies, exaggerations and mischaracterizations written in this review. In all of my time with airbnb, this experience has nene the worst of two negative experiences. Most other guests are able to communicate like adults.
This has been very distressing to say the least.

January 2014

October 2013
Response from Ellie:

Jessica. I have done what you requested. On airbnb there is a local guide. I indeed had filled out restaurants and nearby places before you arrived. I'm guessing you didn't know it was there. Thank you though.

October 2013

October 2013

September 2013
Response from Ellie:

Thanks Alfredo! Just for the record, I didn't realize that there was a problem with my tub until I returned home. My landlord has fixed issue and the tub is all clean again. Sorry for the inconvenience.

September 2013

September 2013
Response from Ellie:

Celine. If you had taken the time to communicate with me at all before you arrived, I would have told you where to go, what to expect and so on. It sounds to me like you've never experienced a mixed neighborhood before and your comment comes off as racist. Black people do not make a neighborhood unsafe.
The house was cleaned before your arrival.
To me it sounds like you would have been happier in a hotel.
My question is this: If my house was so awful, why in the world did you invite yourself to stay an extra night without my permission and lock yourself inside? This action displaced my next guest and inconvenienced a number of people.
I heard ZERO communication from you about your concerns or desire to stay.
I do believe that you're better off staying in a hostel or hotel in the future.

There still has been no explanation why you didn't ask my permission to stay here an unauthorized night, not pay for it and then rip apart my house. This is just rude.

September 2013

About the Host, Ellie

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Member since September 2012
Response rate: 100% (past 90 days)
Response time: within a few hours
  • Ellie
  • Café Con Chocolate

    This is very close to my house, it is delicious, affordable and vegetarian friendly.
    South Norwood Street Philadelphia PA 19145-3411
  • Hardena

    Amazing plate of Indonesian food for $7.
    West Moore Street Philadelphia PA 19145
  • South Philadelphia Tap Room

    The closest bar/ gastropub
    Mifflin Street Philadelphia PA 19145
  • Ultimo Coffee Bar

    This is the closest coffee shop to my house. It also sells beer.
    South 15th Street Philadelphia PA 19145
  • Circles

    Thai food
    Tasker St Philadelphia Pennsylvania 19145
  • Tasker Morris Station

    The subway
  • American Sardine Bar

    Federal Street Philadelphia PA 19146
  • Rosario's Pizzeria

    Good for delivery of Mexican food and or pizza.
    Wharton St Philadelphia PA 19146
  • Adobe Cafe

    vegetarian and vegan options
    East Passyunk Avenue Philadelphia PA 19148
  • The Home Depot

    There is also a Staples, Grocery Store and many other stores in this complex.
    West Oregon Avenue Philadelphia PA 19145
  • Gallery 339

    Photography Gallery
    South 21st Street Philadelphia PA 19103
  • Mutter Museum

    The craziest/ grossest museum youll ever see.
    South 22nd Street Philadelphia PA 19103

Similar Listings