Room to relaxMix of furniture
Room w bath in quiet neighborhood
Hosted by Harriette
Harriette is the host.Harriette is a superhost.
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Enjoy a bright, spacious air-conditioned second floor all to yourself. Bedroom is 18 x 18' with queen bed and private bath. Located in close-in St. Matthews, a quiet tree-lined area with easy access to downtown, major tourist attractions and eateries.

The space

Enjoy a bright and spacious air-conditioned second floor all to yourself, with a 18 x 18' room with queen bed and private full bath.
The room has its own air cond. thermostat (guest may set temp). There is Wi-Fi and a TV with DVD player (local channels, but no cable). Coffee maker and tea kettle in the room. Tea and coffee provided (filters in drawer below coffee pot). Guests may use my kitchen to prepare breakfast or warm up a pizza. If you don't mind going down to a 1946 (unfinished) basement, you may also use the washer-dryer. There's an iron and board available. There are lots of towels, a small hair dryer and "generic" shampoo in the bathroom.

Located in close-in St. Matthews, a quiet tree-lined area 5 easy miles from the heart of the city, a 2-block walk to the bus stop serving downtown. There are several restaurants, coffee shops, and pubs less than a mile away--on walkable sidewalk.

Louisville offers many attractions--historic homes such as Locust Grove and Farmington; the Kentucky Derby, Louisville Slugger and Muhammad Ali Museums; the KY Center for the Arts, and the new YUM! arena. The Big Four Bridge has recently opened as a pedestrian walkway to Indiana. There is a lovely ramp with super views of downtown and the Ohio River esp at sunset. The Shelbyville Road shopping area, boutique-lined Frankfort Avenue, the hip Bardstown Road and NULU districts are a short drive away. Guests often comment on how well situated the house is.

Three hospitals are within 2 miles (Baptist East, and the VA). The Presbyterian and Baptist seminaries are nearby.

No smoking.
No pets, please.

I'm an energetic semi-retired educator. I myself like to travel, so I'm participating in Airbnb in order to supplement my own travel budget. I'm a people-person so I look forward to welcoming visitors. I have had the privilege of hosting great guests from around the world.

Guest access

Guests may park in my driveway. During the day you may also park on the street, but not overnight. Once you have checked-in and have the key to the front door--you may come and go as you wish. You will enter into my living room, turn right immediately and go up the stairs. Private room and private bath are on second floor.

Interaction with guests

Usually brief chats--depending on the guest's schedule and mine.
I also speak French --and will soon get around to translating this listing.

Other things to note

My rate varies somewhat by season--$50 or $55 per night Sunday thru Friday, $60 for Saturday nights. More during the Kentucky Derby (first week of May. Airbnb adds its booking fee. I don't make breakfast for guests but there's a coffee pot in the room & an electric tea kettle. I keep juice, milk, yogurt, cereal, bread and fruit on hand. Guests may help themselves.
There are extra blankets and pillows in the closet in the room.


Amenities
Free parking on premises
Kitchen

Prices
Weekly Discount: 15%
Weekend Price $60 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 5PM
Check out by 1PM

No pets, no smoking.
If you turn on the air-conditioning, kindly close the windows.
Double-check that appliances have been turned off.
Don't forget to take your own phone charger!
Turn in key as instructed when you depart.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit

Availability
1 night minimum stay

407 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Patricia User Profile
October 2017
It's clear that Harriette goes above and beyond to provide for her guests! My boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and appreciated the small touches that are included. The entire upstairs of Harriette's home is yours, and includes a sparkling clean bathroom with a large bedroom, comfy bed, and even board games in the closet. Harriette herself is friendly and welcoming, and left clear instructions about checking in and staying in her home. We'll definitely be back next time we're in Louisville!

Waleed User Profile
October 2017
We loved staying at this clean and awesome place. We got an awesome experience of the bourbon trail while doing so. Would definitely come back again in the future!!!

Don User Profile
October 2017
As always - a really comfortable stay at Harriette's lovely home. You will not regret a visit here. Only thing is - you'll need a car to get around, it is a long walk to restaurants etc.

Marlene User Profile
October 2017
Again a great stay!We have stayed many times and we are certain to return!!

Katharine User Profile
October 2017
Harriette is a wonderful, kind, and considerate host, and the room is cozy, comfortable, and absolutely darling! Very clean, separate bathroom, and cute decor. Would highly recommend.

Linda User Profile
October 2017
Hariette's place was in a safe neighborhood. She's a lovely hostess who includes those extra touches to make your stay less hotel like, more of a homey feel. She had plenty of extra outlets in both sides of the bed. The bed was a sleep number bed--not my favorite but some people prefer them. You have the whole well ventilated upstairs to yourself. I liked the Coffee/Tea station right in the large bedroom. PLenty of Brita water and a hot pot, and extras like shampoos, contact solution & qtips! Definitely a comfortable and affordable stay in Louisville near downtown.

Phil User Profile
October 2017
Harriette offers a wonderful place to call home when traveling to Louisville, KY. She is the consummate hostess, a warm, clean and enjoyable home for the traveler. This stay is our second in 2 years with Harriette. She provided everything we could ever need when traveling. I would highly recommend Harriette's hospitality.

Louisville, Kentucky, United StatesJoined in August 2013
Harriette User ProfileHarriette is a superhost.

I have been an Airbnb host since 2013. A semi-retired educator, I enjoy reading, movies, genealogy, gardening, and spending time with friends and family. I volunteer with certain community groups. A native Canadian, I've lived in Louisville for over 30 years, happily raised three children here. Since I enjoy traveling myself, I'm participating in Airbnb in order to supplement my own travel budget. When I was younger, I studied and traveled in Europe and stayed in "pensions" or B I found I liked that friendly and economical style of travel. I'm a people person, and I look forward to welcoming visitors from around and beyond the US.

Languages: English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings