Deluxe Room #6 CityCentre Townhouse

House - Private room · Lawrence Hill, Londonderry, BT48 7NJ, United Kingdom

A comfortable, spacious room with ensuite bathroom.
The room has 2 bunk beds and a very nice Kingsize bed.
There are 7 bedrooms to rent in this Townhouse.
The Townhouse has a full-time live-in Manager and is home to tour-guide Stephen McPhilemy

The Space

A HUGE ensuite Bedroom, with an elegant Kingsize bed, a singe bed, a leather sofa-bed and tons of space! Comfortably sleeps a family of 3/4 people, but also ideal for an individual or couple who desire spacious elegance for an affordable price.

A comfortable, spacious room with ensuite bathroom.
The room has 2 bunk beds and a very nice Kingsize bed.
There are 7 bedrooms to rent in this Townhouse.
The Townhouse has a full-time live-in Manager and is home to tour-guide Stephen McPhilemy
This truly is one of Derry's finest family homes, slap-bang in the city centre!
Located on the quiet and exclusive 'Lawrence Hill' neighbourhood, which connects the Strand Road & the Northand Road.

Everything is nearby. 1 minute walk to BBC Radio Foyle, Universtiy of Ulster (Magee) and the North West Regional College (45 seconds walk to their side entrance!).
Glorious views of the river Foyle and the Peace-Bridge. Pretty-much 5 minutes walk to everything of interest in Derry city-centre!

With an extra long living-room and the biggest Leather sofas youre likely to encounter on all your travels!
Super fast WiFi, cable TV, outdoor parking, gorgeous modern kitchen.

Most of the other homes in Lawrence Hill are family-occupied, the homes of Lawyers, Doctors, Teachers, other professionals and their children. There are also some student-houses and one or two retired couples enjoying their retirement in this peaceful river-side oasis in our otherwise bustling and active city-centre.
So we are NOT party, party, party, but more of a quality, authentic and relaxed place to stay.
Occurs at our property at 30 Lawrence Hill.

Remember we have a great central location, Lawrence Hill. It is between the Northland Road and the Strand Road, the main west-bank city-centre road running north-south and parallel with the River Foyle.

Interaction with Guests

There are 7 bedrooms to rent in this Townhouse. Some guests stay a few nights and others stay for a few weeks.
The Townhouse has a full-time live-in Manager and is home to tour-guide Stephen McPhilemy, for 6 months per year he is on the road travelling with US Travel TV star Rick Steves

Other Things to Note

There are 7 bedrooms to rent in this Townhouse.
The Townhouse has a full-time live-in Manager and is home to tour-guide Stephen McPhilemy

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 3
Extra people: $17 / night after 2 guests
Weekly Price: $346 /week
Monthly Price: $1039 /month
Cancellation: Flexible

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Check In
  • Accommodations were fine - quiet, clean, comfortable and basic.
    We didn't meet Stephen but the young lady working there was very friendly and nice.

    April 2014
  • This listing could have benefitted from a bit more accuracy. It is great for a young group of people traveling on a budget (which we are). The space is a group house with several residents of varying lengths of tenancy. All the current residents were very nice and helpful, and the house was quiet while we were there. common areas were well respected. The house is older and is in need of some work. The kitchen ceiling sprung a leak from the shower above it, and many of the lights weren't working. Overall it was decent, and a good price, if you go into it knowing what you will be getting into.

    April 2014
  • I'm afraid this is going to be a negative review...
    so therefore as a mature woman I felt as if I was very much intruding on therFirstly there is nothing Deluxe about the rooms at this property and the room I was given was in fact a room £15.00 a night cheaper than the one I had booked not that it would have made the slightest difference as my stay in Derry was not based on cost but the fact that all the Hotels were fully booked during my scheduled stay...

    Secondly on making this reservation I was under the impression that this was Mr.McPhilemy's private residence whereby he let out a few private rooms to tourists when in fact the house is the full time home of very young people e privacy even though they were most welcoming...had this been made clear on his web page I most certainly would not have booked the room!!

    Thirdly the room I was given was totally unsuitable and unpleasant...the bedding was clean but unfortunately with no pillow protectors the smell was really not nice and I had to use a towel to mask some of the smell...there were also no towels supplied...

    Fourthly the room was directly above the kitchen dinner and seems to be the communal place for everyone living in the house...there is no sound proofing and on one of the evenings it was well past 2 am before people started to drift off to there rooms and after a long day of sight seeing all I wanted was to sleep...but I have to say in the defence of the young people living there they were only doing what any of us would do in our own, eating and talking with there fellow house mates!!

    Lastly and sadly I have to say this obviously had a knock on effect to the overall enjoyment of my visit to the wonderful City of Derry and the outstanding hospitality of its residents...the web page is totally misleading!!

    April 2014
  • The advertisement for this accommodation misrepresented what was actually provided. We had a confirmation reservation for an apartment and what we received was a room in a de-facto youth hostel. This should have been stated and explained in the advertisement. As an example no breakfast is provided

    January 2014
  • Excellent value for money, huge room a short walk from the centre.

    January 2014
  • I was a bit upset with the way this turned out. We had booked a room for one night, and the day of the reservation received an email from Stephen letting me know someone had to stay on an extra night and that he didn't have a room for us. He offered to put us in the hostel for half the price (so about the standard rate for the hostel anyway), but we declined as we had specifically wanted a private arrangement. We did manage to find another room at a higher price and in the end it worked out, but it was a huge hassle. I'm lucky that I was able to receive email while traveling abroad, otherwise I would have showed up to a room I paid for and been turned away.

    I have given him the rating because he was courteous enough to at least email me and provide a solution. I have yet to receive my refund though, and if this does not happen promptly, this will become a much bigger issue.

    December 2013
    Response from Stephen:

    Thanks for your understanding over Christmas and that double booking I had due to emergency circumstances. The guests from the night before couldnt leave due to unforeseen circumstances and It is something I felt very bad about. Which is why I contacted you and offered you somewhere else at a reduced rate.
    To be fair, I didnt think there was any need to go online and start saying' if I dont get my refund, this will become a bigger issue'. There was no question of not getting your refund, I am a very honest and honourable person, I asked you to cancel through the proper AirBnB protocol and thus you wouldve been automatically reimbursed. but you didnt respond on this.
    Anyway, the room was overbooked due to a guest having an emergency abd being unable to leave - it was the night after Christmas. Thank you for acknowledging that I did contact you in advance and did offer you alternative accommodation.
    Hopefully I might welcome you again in the future, this time free of charge of course.
    Happy travels

  • Lovely house in a great area with a really welcoming and helpful host. Recommended!

    December 2013
    Response from Stephen:

    Sheelagh was lovely, its so refreshing when a guest walks through your door smiling and chatty and friendly and positive. Her friend and herself were very nice guests and are welcome back anytime. It was cool also to have guests who were attending the Turner Prize award ceremony, nice to welcome guests to my hometown's 2013 City of Culture celebrations...

  • We had a nice stay in Derry with Stephen. His home on Lawrence Hill is ideally situated for good access to Derry activities and our exploration of Counties Derry and Donegal. Stephen got us plugged in to the Traditional music scene in Derry and helped me have the experience I was looking for in that regard. Eileen, his manager was a delight and gave us great advice as to where to have a good meal and answered all of our questions. Undoubtedly the best value of all our accommodations during our 10-day stay in Northern Ireland and The Republic. We'd be delighted to stay with Stephen again!

    October 2013
    Response from Stephen:

    Thanks Scott for the kind words and for bringing your lovely wife and daughter top stay in my city-centre townhouse in Historic Derry. It was great to meet you and connect you to our local traditional music scene, and indeed to discuss your Irish travel adventures! Happy travels, Stephen McPhilemy

  • Great large townhouse in a perfect location in Derry. Open plan kitchen dining room and separate lounge room were nice for socialising with the other guests. Bedroom was massive and very comfortable with private shower and toilet. Only a short stay but would suit a visit of a few days or more also. Stephen is a lovely host and made the effort to ensure we enjoyed our stay. Would certainly recommend :)

    October 2013
    Response from Stephen:

    Thanks Kelsey, we hope to welcome you again soon. Always great to have that great Aussie humour and positive sense of travel adventure cross our path. Safe journey, Steve.

  • This room was perfect for our stay in Derry. With a big perfectly clean room, great living room and awesome kitchen we felt right at home for our time there. Walking distance to city center you can get anywhere you would want to be with a 15 min walk, no need for a car. Great big supermarket near by as well. Stephen was a great host, super attentive and responded to emails quickly and helpfully. Would recommend this place to anyone!

    October 2013
    Response from Stephen:

    Thanks Nick, you and Noemi were great guests. Thanks for staying in Derry and for the good humour you brought to my lovely city-centre townhouse. Its always a big compliment when well-travelled professionals enjoy our fine rooms and LegenDerry hospitality! Le meas/with respect, Stephen

Per Month
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 36 times
Queens University, Belfast
Rick Steves
I was born in Derry and have runsuccessful and award-winning tourist-accommmodation for over 10 years. I am lucky enough to own a luxury river-front Apartment and also a 7 bedroom Townhouse, both in the city-centre; which I rent out to couples, familes and vacationing professionals on short-term stays. Sometimes (website hidden) guests who are Students, Professors or Professionals come and stay for longer at my properties, one even booked for 3 months! The apartment is very high-end and and luxurious. It really has the 'wow-factor'. You pay more and you get more! I work as a professional tour-guide with US travel TV star, Rick Steves. This year I had the honour of being one of 4 judges in a very high-profile competition organised by our national newspaper, the Irish Times - my job was to use my expertise to decide "The Best Place to Holiday in Ireland!" To stay true to my backpacking roots, I decided to open up my 7 bedroom Townhouse in the exclusive 'Lawrence Hill' area (city-centre, 1 minute from the University) to budget-conscious visitors, who basically want a cheap room and a wee bit of basic breakfast. These rooms are £25-£50 depending on whether it is 2 or 6 people in the room, some of the rooms are HUGE, and ensuite. The Lawrence Hill property is quite lovely in my honest opinion, but several of the guests there have proved a little harder to please. Most think it is a great place and excellent value for money, i just need you to know that it is a room and some breakfast for a cheap price, it is not Buckingham Palace, nor does it have the wow-factor of my riverfront apartment, But for the price, most guests think its great, check out the pics on my listing. I will be happy welcome you to any of my lovely properties and to help introduce to you my beloved home region of Derry/Donegal. Needless to say, free Travel tips/advice is my speciality Le meas (with respect in Irish Gaelic) Steve McPhilemy
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
3 days ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings