EnsuiteRoom #6 CityCentre Townhouse

House - Private room · Lawrence Hill, Londonderry, Northern Ireland BT48 7NJ, United Kingdom

A comfortable, spacious ensuite room.
The room has a very nice Kingsize bed and two single beds.
There are 7 bedrooms to rent in this Townhouse.
The Townhouse has a full-time live-in Manager and is home to tour-guide Stephen McPhilemy

Your host, Stephen
18 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

A comfortable, spacious ensuite room.
The room has a very nice Kingsize bed and two single beds.
There are 7 bedrooms to rent in this Townhouse.
The Townhouse has a full-time live-in Manager and is home to tour-guide Stephen McPhilemy

The Space

A huge ensuite bedroom. Comfortable, bright and spacious.
The room has a very nice Kingsize bed and 2 single beds.
There are 7 bedrooms in this Townhouse available to rent to members of the AirBnB community.

The Townhouse has a full-time live-in Manager and is home to tour-guide Stephen McPhilemy

Room type: Private room
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 3
Extra people: $18 / night after 2 guests
Minimum Stay: 5 nights
Weekly Price: $371 /week
Monthly Price: $1059 /month
Cancellation: Flexible

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Check In
  • Great place! Location terrific, sorry to miss Stephen, but Eileen was most helpful and responsive. Room for the four of us was fabulous! Large space, private bath, and separate beds for the kids! And thankfully wifi that worked wonderfully - sorry we were just there overnight. The walking tour if Derry really gave us a good overview and we were there for the music festival so the waterfront was bustling. A great first night in Northern Ireland. Thanks.

    June 2014
  • We got the F ensuite room on the 3rd floor, a very large room with 3 beds. The room is not well decorated, but it did not really matter, we had a good night sleep and a lot of space. We parked our car on the street free just in front of the guest house. We used the large kitchen to prepare a simple dinner and ate it with other very nice guests. We had breakfast in the kitchen with our own products. All in all it was a positive experience.

    June 2014
  • Nice clean room, well kept. Private bathroom. Nice bars and restaurants within walking distance.

    May 2014
  • Stephen's place is cool if you know what to expect. In other feedbacks we already saw that this place is some kind of hostel rather than BnB - but for a hostel, it was really great. Both our ensuite room and kitchen were really spacious. There were renovations going on, but it didn't bother us. We didn't meet Stephen himself, but the lady who checked us in was really nice and helpful! The location is great, Derry centre is very close. If you don't necessarily want to stay in a classic BnB, I'd recommend this place!

    April 2014
  • Accommodations were fine - quiet, clean, comfortable and basic.
    We didn't meet Stephen but the young lady working there was very friendly and nice.

    April 2014
  • This listing could have benefitted from a bit more accuracy. It is great for a young group of people traveling on a budget (which we are). The space is a group house with several residents of varying lengths of tenancy. All the current residents were very nice and helpful, and the house was quiet while we were there. common areas were well respected. The house is older and is in need of some work. The kitchen ceiling sprung a leak from the shower above it, and many of the lights weren't working. Overall it was decent, and a good price, if you go into it knowing what you will be getting into.

    April 2014
  • I'm afraid this is going to be a negative review...
    so therefore as a mature woman I felt as if I was very much intruding on therFirstly there is nothing Deluxe about the rooms at this property and the room I was given was in fact a room £15.00 a night cheaper than the one I had booked not that it would have made the slightest difference as my stay in Derry was not based on cost but the fact that all the Hotels were fully booked during my scheduled stay...

    Secondly on making this reservation I was under the impression that this was Mr.McPhilemy's private residence whereby he let out a few private rooms to tourists when in fact the house is the full time home of very young people e privacy even though they were most welcoming...had this been made clear on his web page I most certainly would not have booked the room!!

    Thirdly the room I was given was totally unsuitable and unpleasant...the bedding was clean but unfortunately with no pillow protectors the smell was really not nice and I had to use a towel to mask some of the smell...there were also no towels supplied...

    Fourthly the room was directly above the kitchen dinner and seems to be the communal place for everyone living in the house...there is no sound proofing and on one of the evenings it was well past 2 am before people started to drift off to there rooms and after a long day of sight seeing all I wanted was to sleep...but I have to say in the defence of the young people living there they were only doing what any of us would do in our own homes...cooking, eating and talking with there fellow house mates!!

    Lastly and sadly I have to say this obviously had a knock on effect to the overall enjoyment of my visit to the wonderful City of Derry and the outstanding hospitality of its residents...the web page is totally misleading!!

    April 2014
  • The advertisement for this accommodation misrepresented what was actually provided. We had a confirmation reservation for an apartment and what we received was a room in a de-facto youth hostel. This should have been stated and explained in the advertisement. As an example no breakfast is provided

    January 2014
  • Excellent value for money, huge room a short walk from the centre.

    January 2014
  • I was a bit upset with the way this turned out. We had booked a room for one night, and the day of the reservation received an email from Stephen letting me know someone had to stay on an extra night and that he didn't have a room for us. He offered to put us in the hostel for half the price (so about the standard rate for the hostel anyway), but we declined as we had specifically wanted a private arrangement. We did manage to find another room at a higher price and in the end it worked out, but it was a huge hassle. I'm lucky that I was able to receive email while traveling abroad, otherwise I would have showed up to a room I paid for and been turned away.

    I have given him the rating because he was courteous enough to at least email me and provide a solution. I have yet to receive my refund though, and if this does not happen promptly, this will become a much bigger issue.

    December 2013
    Response from Stephen:

    Thanks for your understanding over Christmas and that double booking I had due to emergency circumstances. The guests from the night before couldnt leave due to unforeseen circumstances and It is something I felt very bad about. Which is why I contacted you and offered you somewhere else at a reduced rate.
    To be fair, I didnt think there was any need to go online and start saying' if I dont get my refund, this will become a bigger issue'. There was no question of not getting your refund, I am a very honest and honourable person, I asked you to cancel through the proper AirBnB protocol and thus you wouldve been automatically reimbursed. but you didnt respond on this.
    Anyway, the room was overbooked due to a guest having an emergency abd being unable to leave - it was the night after Christmas. Thank you for acknowledging that I did contact you in advance and did offer you alternative accommodation.
    Hopefully I might welcome you again in the future, this time free of charge of course.
    Happy travels

    December 2013
Per Month
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 59 times
Queens University, Belfast
Rick Steves
I was born in Derry and have runsuccessful and award-winning tourist-accommmodation for over 10 years. I am lucky enough to own a luxury river-front Apartment and also a 7 bedroom Townhouse, both in the city-centre; which I rent out to couples, familes and vacationing professionals on short-term stays. Sometimes (website hidden) guests who are Students, Professors or Professionals come and stay for longer at my properties, one even booked for 3 months! The apartment is very high-end and and luxurious. It really has the 'wow-factor'. You pay more and you get more! I work as a professional tour-guide with US travel TV star, Rick Steves. This year I had the honour of being one of 4 judges in a very high-profile competition organised by our national newspaper, the Irish Times - my job was to use my expertise to decide "The Best Place to Holiday in Ireland!" To stay true to my backpacking roots, I decided to open up my 7 bedroom Townhouse in the exclusive 'Lawrence Hill' area (city-centre, 1 minute from the University) to budget-conscious visitors, who basically want a cheap room with a great location. These rooms are £25-£50 depending on whether it is 2 or 6 people in the room, some of the rooms are HUGE, and ensuite. The Lawrence Hill property is quite lovely in my honest opinion, but several of the guests there have proved a little harder to please. Most think it (email hidden) and excellent value for money, i just need you to know that it is a room for a cheap price, it is not Buckingham Palace, nor does it have the wow-factor of my riverfront apartment, But for the price, most guests think its great, check out the pics on my airbnb.com listing. I will be happy welcome you to any of my lovely properties and to help introduce to you my beloved home region of Derry/Donegal. Needless to say, free Travel tips/advice is my speciality Le meas (with respect in Irish Gaelic) Steve McPhilemy
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
5 days ago
Similar Listings