1BD & Bath in Hip Cle Neighborhood

House - Private room · West 84th Street, Cleveland, OH 44102, United States
Amanda

Great one bedroom (+ private bathroom across the hall) available in trendy Gordon Square/ Detroit Shoreway area of Cleveland. Close to rapid/bus lines. 5 minute walk to Lake Erie, 5 miles from downtown, close to great restaurants.

Your host, Amanda
62 Reviews
Response rate: 90%
Response time: within a day

Great one bedroom (+ private bathroom across the hall) available in trendy Gordon Square/ Detroit Shoreway area of Cleveland. Close to rapid/bus lines. 5 minute walk to Lake Erie, 5 miles from downtown, close to great restaurants.

Guest Access

The house:
My house has been completely rehabbed about 5 years ago (before I bought it) so it feels like new even though it is over 100 years old. There is central air, wireless, cable, washer/dryer for you to use, front and back porches. You will have your own bathroom/shower and private room.

Interaction with Guests

The Homeowner:
I am a high school history teacher and a huge fan of Cleveland and have a great love and long list of things for you to do. I live with my boyfriend, Steve, a transplant from New Orleans, who can find something in common with just about anyone. I promise I can fill your stay with tons of great restaurant recommendations and fun activities to see the real side of Cleveland. We have two pups, Isobel and Tybee who love to interact, but will leave you be if you want.

The Neighborhood

My home is in Detroit Shoreway neighborhood on the near west side of Cleveland (about 5 miles west) which hosts an arts district with a movie theater, Cleveland Public Theater, art galleries, shops, a great coffee house (Gypsy Bean) and some of the best restaurants in the city (Happy Dog, Luxe, Toast). Lake Erie is just a five minute walk and there is bike and pedestrian path leading to the lake and Edgewater Park (with a beach and marina) is about 4 blocks north. While I love the area and feel complete safe living here the last four years, it is the city and not the suburbs.

Getting around

The bus stop (#26) is at the end of my street, a half a block and will take you downstairs or all the way west. The rapid is a 10 minute walk or an easy 3-4 minute buss ride on the #26. Very convenient.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $10 / night after the first guest
Weekly Price: $250 /week
Monthly Price: $750 /month
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Moderate
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Great stay, so comfortable. Loved chatting with Amanda and Steve. Wonderful walkable neighborhood!

    June 2014
  • I enjoyed my stay at Amanda's home. She is a very gracious host and was very friendly and helpful with her knowledge of Cleveland. The room is lovely and is just as described, plus she has added little loving touches like a scrapbook of recommendations for nearby restaurants. It is also right down the block from the bus line to downtown, which is awesome. I would stay here again.

    June 2014
  • I was feeling stressed out, having just moved to the area and with work piling up before I'd found a place to stay -- and then I found Amanda and Steve's place! They are great hosts, the house and bathroom are clean and comfortable and I felt like I was finally able to relax, for the few days that I stayed with them. I felt comfortable and safe in their neighborhood.

    June 2014
  • Beautiful home in a very cool area of Cleveland. Amanda was very welcoming and friendly, and her dogs greeted us enthusiastically as soon as we arrived!

    June 2014
  • Amanda is FANTASTIC! She responded to our request right away and was extremely helpful and friendly. Her house is adorable, she and Steve have worked hard to make it welcoming and fun. The dogs are so sweet and were there to greet us and make sure we knew where our room was right away :) Great overall experience, Amanda definitely gets 5 stars!

    May 2014
  • Terrific stay and a great recommendation for dinner at a local diner. Thanks!

    May 2014
  • Amanda and Stephen were great hosts! When I experienced a series of unfortunate events resulting in epic travel fails, Amanda came to pick me up at 10pm from the rail station so I could avoid having to take the bus. All this on the night before running a marathon! Champion host behavior! Their two doggles were similarly delightful and we spent quality time snuggling. BThe house is very cute and located just a block from the Detroit Avenue bus lines which run every 10 minutes. The room I rented faced the street, had lots of light and featured a very comfortable bed. My bathroom had everything a traveler could want: hot water, lots of towels, and an assortment of bath products. While there was a lot of neighborhood activity during the day, the evenings were quiet and all the neighbors were very friendly as I made my way to the bus each day. I look forwarding to staying with Amanda, Stephen and the pups again soon!

    May 2014
  • Amanda has a very beautiful home. I was made to feel most welcome and to share her home. My stay could not have been better and met my needs perfectly.

    May 2014
  • Superb. Amanda is a very gracious host. I was nervous using a BnB vs. hotel but I instantly felt welcomed and and at home. The room was exactly as described. Every detail that was needed was either on the site or provided for me in a great book she apparently took a lot of time preparing for her guests. Although she isn't in a posh neighborhood I felt safe as they all seemed to know each other. Amanda's dogs were not a bother, they wanted to be pet but were not annoying. I highly recommend this room for anyone.

    May 2014
  • A great place to stay, exactly as advertised. Really enjoyed it!

    May 2014
Per Month
From
$45
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 92 times
Languages
English
School
Walsh Jesuit High School, University of Dayton
Work
Shaker Heights High School
About
I am a huge fan of this city. I have lived and traveled to many cities and I know what it takes to make a trip great. I have great recommendations for restaurants and for things to do in this city. I am easy going and enjoy talking but also am often out and about exploring the city or enjoying the company of my friends. I enjoy biking, live music, polka dots, coffee dates with friends, sharing meals at dinner and yearly mottos. I live with my boyfriend, Steve a transplant from the South, who is getting to know Cleveland as well. He will most likely suggest you go to breakfast at the new restaurant, Jack Flap, because he has a soft spot for amazing pancakes. But really, who doesn't. Together we have two dogs, Tybee and Isobel.
View full profile
Response Rate
90%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
yesterday
Similar Listings