Be welcome, relax, be the change
Be welcome, relax, be the change


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

The space

The Glebe House is a lively open-minded family household and a large old rambly house located in the centre of Ottawa on unceded Algonquin territory.

We love to welcome guests who have interesting tales to tell and hold politically progressive and eco-friendly values. We believe that a better world is possible.

We have a large rambling old house with all amenities including high-speed wifi and a large backyard where we try to grow organic vegetables, BBQ and hold music, poetry and fund-raising shows. You can chill in the backyard; we can lend you a bike to get around; our house can be your home away from home, or your Ottawa office away from your office as you advocate for change.

We also like kids and have a playstructure in the back and baby-sitting on-demand available (usually anyways).

Hope to meet you!

Neighbourhood & Location: We are located in the Glebe, which is a central, treed, urban, thriving neighbourhood. Two blocks from the house you can find coffee shops, restaurants, grocery, pharmacy, boutiques, post office, wine bar, whatever.

Transit: One block from bus routes 1 & 7. Five minutes bus ride or 20 minutes walk to Parliament. Best way to get around Ottawa is by bike -- loaner bike + lock is available.
We are 5 minutes walk away from the Greyhound Bus Terminal and 15-20 minutes drive from the airport.

Free parking can be arranged.

Fair-trade organic coffee or tea are always available for free. Our optional full breakfast is an additional $12.00 per person, made with locally sourced and organic ingredients.

More info at (website hidden)

Guest access

The house has a lot of common spaces that guests are very welcome to relax in, retreat to, work in. The one area guests are not usually found is the basement - which is a bit of a teen cave. However, guests have been spotted down there too, watching Dr. Who with my daughter...

Interaction with guests

This varies a lot. I think the biggest factor is whether the guests want to interact or just want their space. But lots of other factors. Most common is that we would have liked to talk more but time was a-fleeting...


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 2.5 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 4PM - 11PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Weekly Discount: 17%
Weekend Price: $60 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
Check in time is 4PM - 11PM

Pets: Unfortunately we cannot accept any pets.

Children: We are very child friendly and will make every effort to accommodate your children in a cost-effective way. Childcare can almost always be pre-arranged both on-site in the daytime, as well as in the evenings. A home-based daycare runs Mon-Fri (8:30am to 5:30pm) on the ground floor of the house. We have two kids in the house (13, 14).

Accessibility: Unfortunately the house is not wheelchair accessible. If you need accommodation for a disability or special need, please discuss and we will do our best to accommodate and figure out solutions.

Parking: Can usually be arranged in the day-time. 7pm to 7am free street parking is available except on snow-clearing days.

Negative List: No drugs. No guns.

Alcohol: Alcohol is often shared on the premises. Alcohol is enjoyed in moderation.

Smoking: No smoking inside the house. You can smoke in backyard or front porch.

Food Preferences, Intolerances and Allergies: I am happy to take your preferences and constraints into account in preparing your breakfast. The House is not peanut free.

Chemicals, Toxins & Allergens: We generally use non-chemical cleaners and our food-basket is heavily weighted towards organic, local and wholesome foods. That said, the community household is diverse, busy, and fluid with very few absolute rules. While we clean with some regularity, there is also some dust. Sufferers of MCS or extremely high sensitivity to various allergens should undertake their own assessment and pre-cautions.

We are politically progressive, supportive of unions and labour organization (though not uncritically so), and allies of indigenous peoples.

Respect for People: We expect all guests to behave in a manner that respects the rights and diversity of views of other guests and household members. When there are children in the room, please refrain from using coarse language or inappropriate topics. Violent or abusive behaviour of any kind will not be tolerated.

Respect for Environment: We have a well-organized recycling set-up including a back-yard composter for organics. We try to minimize waste. We are a subscriber to Bullfrog Power which means that we draw on renewable sources of power and also generate our own power with solar panels. We buy significant amounts of organic and local food and usually cook from scratch.

Taxes: We believe in paying our fair share of taxes and benefiting from a well-functioning public service, universal health care and old age pension. We pay 13% harmonized sales tax on all income through airbnb (HST Numb), and income tax on all income generated by the house after eligible expenses.


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher
First aid kit

Availability
1 night minimum stay

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

85 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Indu User Profile
May 2017
Angela and her family are lovely, welcoming hosts. Her place was as described - a comfortable bedroom in an old house. The house is in a great location, close to several restaurants and shops in the Glebe area. It is also well-connected to public transport. She gave us great recommendations and a map to help us with our stay!

Theophilus User Profile
April 2017
For a little bit extra, you can also get a very delicious breakfast.

Richard User Profile
April 2017
Angela's home has lots of character and is very clean and comfortable. She is gracious and made us feel very much at home. The neighbourhood is central and quiet. We enjoyed staying there and especially enjoyed the gourmet breakfast which, though not included in the price of the room was worth the extra cost and featured a bonus opportunity to be included at the table of their welcoming family!

Dan User Profile
April 2017
Angela and her family are very warm and friendly, the room is very clean, a great experience!

Tanya User Profile
January 2017
Angela and her family are very accommodating hosts. The house is cozy and welcoming, beautifully equipped with books, games, many common areas if you would like to socialize with other guests, and rooms are private and quiet. I did not stay long, and would love to stay at Angela's next time I am in Ottawa. Thank you, Angela.

John User Profile
December 2016
My stay at Angela's was great from start to finish. Communication was very easy. My arrival in Ottawa was delayed because of inclement weather and Angela was most accommodating. Angela and her husband Dan are quite interesting and fun to spend time with. The house looks just as it appears on the pictures. The bedroom had ample storage and closet space, the bed comfortable and the washroom was clean and well equipped. The house is located in a quiet residential neighbourhood, however close to major bus routes and near many to restaurants. I would highly recommend Angela's place if you are looking for a place to stay in Ottawa. The

Liz User Profile
December 2016
Thank you Angela, you and your family are most welcoming! A very nice neighbourhood and convenient to downtown for a walker like me! Quiet neighbourhood. A busy but quiet household! Great value. Parking a plus.

This host has 149 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Ottawa, Canada · Joined in January 2013
Angela User Profile

I am politically progressive, environmentally conscious and feminist. I am connected with a number of communities and networks in Ottawa. I am especially happy to facilitate stays of people who are coming to Ottawa to advocate, lobby and network for change in the direction of greater socio-economic justice and environmental sustainability. I'm in mid-life and mother of two wonderful teenagers. We live in a big lively household and can usually find whatever is needed in a snap -- spare bicycle, babysitter, organic mint tea....

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour