Private in the Heart of the Haight
Private in the Heart of the Haight
4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
4 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

A quiet apartment in the heart of the Haight Ashbury. The location is unbeatable!
A large studio with queen bed and space for lounging and working. Also, a roomy bathroom with big clawfoot tub.
Read our reviews!

The space

January 2017: Brand New Lighting! Many more lights sources added in just the right spots. Also- another curtain for the window so if you want to watch TV totally nude you can do so!
January 2015: BRAND NEW MATTRESS and SOFA BED

A sweet apartment in a perfect location for your San Francisco work-cation, internship or while you figure out where you will move permanently.
This is a quiet and large studio apartment with a garden, one block from Haight and Ashbury. Perfect for one person (with room for a guest) or a couple. There is a queen size bed. The couch can be pulled out into a single bed and there is an air mattress if you have guests. We supply an additional feather-mattress for extra comfort if you prefer a soft mattress.

There is street parking and you will easily find a spot unless it is a Friday evening or Saturday or during the music festivals. We can rent you our garage for a few nights if you need, but not permanently-- $30 a night.

Note that a previous complaint about noisy tenants upstairs is no longer a problem-- new upstairs tenants with no shoes and no laundry at night. NEW JANUARY 15th 2014-- while replacing the floors in the kitchen upstairs we added insulation. This is still city living, and you will sometimes hear the upstairs neighbors walking, but you won't hear their conversations.

The studio is a colorful open space with a living area, a sleeping area, a kitchenette, a reading area and desk, a large bathroom with claw foot tub. When you arrive there will be some fresh fruit on the table, a booklet we've made about the neighborhood and, of course, fresh sheets and luxurious fluffy towels. Unlike many SF apartments, this one is warm in the winter and comfortably cool in the summer.

The TV has an antenna that receives local channels and is also set up for instant streaming via roku (netflix, hulu plus, etc.). There is fast wireless internet and an internet hub for direct connection. You can use our laundry (but plan ahead). There is room for a bike in the garage.

The Kitchenette is fully stocked with a toaster oven, hot plate, slow cooker, pots and pans, microwave, coffee maker and grinder, electric kettle, dishes, glasses, and utensils. We provide fresh linens, fluffy towels, and extra sheets if you choose to use the futon.

We provide the place clean and do not clean while you stay but can easily arrange for cleaners and laundry if you wish.

My partner and I both love San Francisco and would be happy to help advise you on a great SF vacation. We can help you get set up for walking tours, motorcycle tours, bike rentals, hikes and let you know where to get the best foods of SF.

For BABIES and younger CHILDREN we can provide a crib (big enough for toddlers), highchair, toys and guest passes to the Cal Academy of Science, Discovery and other fun places.

The location of this studio is unbeatable! It’s in the middle of everything and there’s lots of public transportation for fast transit to anywhere in the city. You have access to MUNI 6, MUNI 71, MUNI 43, MUNI 33, MUNI 37, all within a block and the N-Judah is just a few blocks away.
20 minutes to downtown on Muni. 15 min by car. goog le /Apple bus very close.

It’s within walking distance of Golden Gate Park, museums, a block from a wonderful family grocery store with organic fruit and vegetables and delish prepared foods, lots of great cafes, a brewery pub Magnolia at the corner, Ameoba records, Cal Academy of Sciences, and the De Young Museum.

Note: RITUAL COFFEE is a block away at Haight Street Market-- BEST COFFEE!

It’s a 5 minute bus ride/ 10 minute walk to USF and UCSF. It’s only a 25 minute taxi ride from SFO, or 40 minute taxi from the Oakland airport.

Disclaimers:
1. This is a basement apartment with access through a garage.
2. The neighborhood includes spare-changer living-outside youth. They are not violent nor dangerous. I don't let small children near their dogs.
3. When it is rainy (rare now unfortunately) running the dehumidifier is necessary to protect the furniture, but since it is noisy, you can run it when you are out for the day.
4. We've insulated and our renters upstairs don't wear shoes at home, but you will still hear footsteps and some other noises. It's a city apartment.
5. This is a STUDIO apartment. It is one big space plus a large bathroom.

Guest access

Garden
Laundry (shared)

Interaction with guests

If you have young children and want to play with our kids, we have a great playroom and willing kids (2 boys born 2002 and 2013).

Other things to note

Best Breakfast-- one block away at Blue Front (the Alaskan omelette)

Best Coffee-- Ritual or Stanza-- both on Haight Street

Best Beer-- at the Corner- Magnolia Brewery
Best Whiskey and Bourbons-- Alembic on Haight street

Best kids park-- Children's playground ten minute walk away or closer is the Panhandle playground and it's really good. Less good, one block away is Buena Vista-- great views and very small and cold!

Best Bar-- Zam Zam
Best Live Music- Club Deluxe
Best restaurant-- Zazie's a short walk away in Cole Valley


Business travel
This listing has essential business travel amenities.

Amenities
Wheelchair accessible
Kitchen

Prices
Extra people $10 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee $150
Security Deposit $600
Weekly Discount: 25%
Weekend Price $298 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 11AM
Self check-in with keypad

Have a good time!

But not too noisy after 10pm in the garden on worknights, or 11pm on Friday or Saturday.

No smoking inside, but you can smoke weed outside (this is San Francisco) or cigs (yuck) if you throw the fully extinguished butts into the outside garbage can.

If you need to use my laundry-- just let me know in advance and you can come on up. No Charge.

Tip the cleaners.

And tell me if there is a problem or you need anything at all. If you use a wheelchair, access to the apartment is likely fine, but the tub is an old claw foot and may not be as comfortable to get in and out of as you wish.

During your stay, if you would like your linens changed, to be provided with fresh towels, have the trash removed, or have the unit cleaned, that can be arranged for an extra fee. We provide lots of towels.

You must also acknowledge
No parking on property - Street parking isn't too hard-- but pay attention to the street signs.

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
30 nights minimum stay

94 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Brian User Profile
March 2017
Terrific place! Love being so close to Golden Gate Park and Buena Vista Park.

Lucy User Profile
January 2017
Julia was a welcoming and responsive host. Unfortunately, I had a lot of issues with the apartment itself. Simply put, there is an ant problem. Julia was always responsive about trying to fix the issue, but the floorboards open directly to the ground below, so there really isn't anything she could do about it. The ceiling in the bathroom also leaked when it rained, which unfortunately happened pretty frequently during my stay. Putting a tarp on the roof did not really solve the problem. The location is nice and close to Golden Gate park. Communication with Julia was easy and efficient, but the apartment has structural issues (ants, leaks, a garage door that sometimes won't close) that even a great host can't make up for. I have stayed at 10+ Airbnbs in SF, and I have to say that this was my worst experience. There are much better values out there.
Julia User Profile
Response from Julia:
Hi Lucy! You did get the bad luck. I hope the 4 days I gave you for free in my other bi-level skylighted apartment helped. We are fixing the problems now. It rained more while you were here than it has in 8 years. This caused a leak in the bathroom-- a new leak. I immediately got a tarp to make it less of a problem, and your partner told me it solved the problem. I am sorry that it didn't-- I wish you had told me. I appreciate you letting the roofers come see it. The roofers will fix the leak soon. The garage door problem was new as well and has since been fixed. The ants aren't "fixable" but they only come when it rains heavily (and we had a drought for so long that the first rains made it worse)-- winter only-- we provided ant traps and sent cleaners to clean the floors with natural repellant repeatedly. I'm sorry you had the bad luck time! Most guests don't have ants or garage door problems and no guest had a leak before you.
January 2017

Jeremy User Profile
December 2016
I had a good stay at Julia's place. She was very organized, friendly and helpful. I'm a frequent SF visitor and the Haight is my favorite neighborhood to stay in. Again, my experience was largely positive, but I did find the place very, very dim and not well lit. Also, some of the bed linens had minor stains and yellowing and should probably be replaced.
Julia User Profile
Response from Julia:
Thanks Jeremy. We will go through the linens and retire those with yellowing. We've already bought more lights.
December 2016

Ana User Profile
September 2016
Julia was always very responsive when I had questions. The apartment is in a great location with easy access to public transportation

Kyle User Profile
June 2016
I just returned from a 4 night stay at this place. Julia is an amazing host who goes out of her way to make sure you have the best experience & most comfortable stay. She sends out an email with details regarding your stay prior to your visit, and even provides you with fresh fruit upon arrival. Thanks for the hospitality Julia!

Susan User Profile
June 2016
Juila was there to greet us/give us key/give us some details about the place and the neighborhood. The apt is as described on line. Great bed, great shower, great towels. It was nice to have a full refrigerator for restaurant leftovers and for breakfast and coffee in the apt each morning. Fantastic location- by the end of the week, we felt like residents of the Haight; can't say enough for quiet location in lovely residential street, but 1/2 block from Haight street, lots of cafes, restaurants, shopping, people watching, multiple bus/MUNI lines (20 min to anywhere downtown), and 5 blocks from Golden gate park.

Jennifer User Profile
August 2015
This was our first Airbnb experience and it was extremely positive! Thanks to great pre-arrival communication, it was easy to access the space without disturbing anyone even though we arrived around midnight. Fresh fruit was waiting for us when we got there, and it felt very tidy and spacious. We were traveling with two kids, and having a garden level apartment was great - no stairs to climb getting in and out with a stroller. And the space with very roomy. Great location, fun neighborhood to explore and nearby access to multiple public transit routes, so you can get anywhere quickly. Julia was very accommodating, with a travel crib and a booster seat available so we didn't have to bring ours; she also allowed us to borrow her parking spot one night so that we could do a day trip out of the city. Julia and/or Wahe were also easily reachable when we had a few questions during our stay. Some reviews mentioned ants. There are a few because it's inevitable in a garden apartment, but we made sure not to leave food out and they weren't bothersome and stayed in the bathroom. They had some non-toxic ant control strategies in place as well, which I liked, given that we had a toddler walking around the apartment. I also asked ahead of time about earthquake soundness (as a Midwesterner this was a concern to me), and I felt reassured to know that the house is standing on bedrock so is not prone to soil liquefaction, and it also survived the 1906 earthquake. You can tell that the foundation is made from heavy, solid, old growth timber. I felt very safe staying there. The only downside is that the futon is not that comfortable for sleeping. They do have a queen size air mattress available, though, and also a crib mattress, which is what we used for our 5 yr old. The regular bed that we slept on was very comfy. All in all, it was a great home base for our trip to San Francisco!

San Francisco, California, United StatesJoined in June 2011
Julia User Profile

I'm a psychotherapist and former filmmaker. My partner is a civil rights lawyer. Our pre-teen son is a Star Wars and Harry Potter fan. Our toddler loves to climb. We love San Francisco and can make recommendations. We've rented and hosted on Airbnb for years.

The neighborhood

Similar listings