Min 1 night in WIFI Family Home

Bed & Breakfast - Private room · Day's Road, Swanage, BH19 2JP, United Kingdom
Melanie

Room has double bed, bedding & towels, TV/DVD, tea/coffee facilities, blackout curtains. Parking space on drive. Ideal for walkers as close to coastal & hill walks. Breakfast self serve cereal & toast/jams only.
Front door key in coded box. Price is same for one or two people.

Your host, Melanie
10 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

Room has double bed, bedding & towels, TV/DVD, tea/coffee facilities, blackout curtains. Parking space on drive. Ideal for walkers as close to coastal & hill walks. Breakfast self serve cereal & toast/jams only.
Front door key in coded box. Price is same for one or two people.

The Space

Free WIFI available. The details of network and password is in your guest folder.

2 extra people can be accommodated on the large 3 seater sofa bed in the lounge. There is an extra charge of £15 per person per night (including self serve cereal / toast breakfast) should you wish to invite additional guests/children to use this sofa as a bed.

The bedroom is quite spacious and has room for a travel cot if necessary. A stair gate, travel cot and booster seat are available to use.

We allow one night stays.

Please enquire for discount on 2 or more night stays if booking more than a week in advance.

The door to your Guest Room is lockable!

There is a weather station in the bedroom which advises indoor & outdoor temperatures.

I am happily separated from the kids Dad, so basically every other weekend is Kid free! Nick often comes round to see the kids during the week and it is amicable.

Down to earth family home which has been decluttered and deep cleaned for weekly Summer bookings.

We have been smoke & pet free for over 10 years. However, there is an ashtray for smoking in the garden.

The family bathroom is quite spacious with a separate shower as well as a sunken bath with shower attachment. Plenty of shelving, shower caddy and towel rails space.

There is also a toilet and sink downstairs.

For Cyclists, we have space for your bikes in an lockable covered alleyway with a solid door so bikes can not be viewed from the road. However, please let us know if you wish to use the alleyway, as it will involve us moving things around! Also available with notice, is a water hose and bucket!

For Dog Owners, although we will not allow dogs in the house due to allergies, a friend 2 miles away does Dog Boarding. Please enquire for contact details.

Guest Access

You will have have access to the lounge, dining end of kitchen, one shelf of fridge space, conservatory, gardens and bathroom.

The kitchen is quite small and therefore we would appreciate that it is not available to use. However if you require a picnic or an evening meal (same as what I am cooking for the kids and me, diet is quite varied from pizza to salmon, veg and cous cous), we could come to arrangement with suitable notice!

However, considering a suggestion from a guest whom stayed recently, for a trial period, we will allow use of kitchen after 7pm approx but can not guarantee everything available, ie items in the dishwasher. After your use, we expect it to be left in a clean and tidy state. If this option is abused, the kitchen will be not available for future guests.

The washing machine is available with suitable notice!

Interaction with Guests

We had foreign students for the first time ever for 3 weeks in July 2013 and we really enjoyed their company. We would like to hope that you would fit into the family home as well as the students did.

We have good knowledge of the local area and have a local OS map to borrow.

Getting around

There is a bus stop within 100 metres of the house, but we are in a rural area and therefore public transport is not ideal. A car would be the best option which would give you the option to go anywhere. Otherwise depending on commitments, we may be able to drop you off somewhere to give you the option of doing a long walk back, etc.

Please be aware that the room is normally in use and not a spare room already set up, therefore we will need some notice to get it ready for your use. We would appreciate at least 24 hours notice after confirmed booking.

PLEASE NOTE THAT I ONLY CHECK MY COMPUTER IN THE EVENING. SO YOU WILL NOT GET AN INSTANT REPLY.

I have just bought a new smart phone so still getting used to it. Please bear with me, until the evening, when I can get on the computer and look at full details after kids in bed! Approx 8pm.

Hope you stay with us, otherwise have a great time in Swanage anyway.

Other Things to Note

Have got a Gas Safety certificate on cooker and combination boiler.
Smoke detectors on ground and first floors.
Carbon detectors next to gas boiler and gas cooker.
Fire Extinguisher is located at bottom of stairs.
Fire blanket in kitchen.
Also recently purchased a 4.5m safety ladder which hooks over a first floor window to let down to the ground, with toddler harness.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1.5
Beds: 1
Extra people: $26 / night after 2 guests
Check In: 4:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Moderate

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Melanie was a very kind and friendly host helping where she can. There were no wishes left open. It was a comfortable stay, thank you!

    June 2014
  • WE had a lovely stay at Melanie's. It was clean and very comfortable. Her children who were extremely quiet and well behaved, were delightful. Lovely garden to sit and have breakfast in, when the weather is good, which is was for our stay.

    Thank you Melanie for helping us with local area amenities and for walking with me to the local shop so I didn't get lost.

    June 2014
  • Melanie (email hidden)e was really welcoming and went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed for our stay. The room was spacious and clean with all the facilities we needed. We were offered tea and coffee upon our arrival and there was plenty of choice laid out for breakfast. The location was good for our visit to a friends wedding but had we stayed longer there were lots of things to do a short drive away and the local village itself looked very pretty with small shops and amenities. At the time of my visit I had a broken ankle and was in a cast. Melanie went above and beyond her host duties to ensure I was comfortable and had access to all facilities for which I am very grateful.

    June 2014
    Melanie
    Response from Melanie:

    Jen and friend were perfect guests and would love to have them stay again.

    June 2014
  • Melanie was very kind and took good care for anything we needed. Thank you very much Melanie.

    June 2014
    Melanie
    Response from Melanie:

    Constance and friend were perfect guests and would love to have them stay again.

    June 2014
  • Lots of contact before we arrived, and we were made to feel very welcome. Very warm, clean accommodation and very generous host. Strongly recommend.

    May 2014
  • It was real nice stay. The place well located, very clean & bed room has plenty of leg space around. Beach is nearby with just 2-3 minutes drive & approx 15 mins walk. We were well informed about arrival procedure and got prompt response of our queries (over Airbnb messaging).
    Also, Melanie (email hidden) and made us feel very comfortable through-out our stay.

    April 2014
  • We had a really good stay at Melanie's in Swanage -- everything was extremely clean and perfectly organized. We really appreciated the family home feel together with the many-stars-hotel quality of the large room and bathroom, and felt really welcome and comfortable.
    Breakfast was amazing! There were all sorts of things in her fridge, and we were welcome to have any (we really loved the whipped cream!) :D Overall, we highly recommend it!

    April 2014
  • I had a really nice stay here! Good, quiet location, all very clean, comfortable and friendly, I felt very at home.

    March 2014
  • Melanie, Adam and Alex were super hosts.Plenty of hot water, food and drink. Lovely big room, cosy and warm house which was easy to find. A short walk from the house and you are out on the Purbecks. A thoroughly enjoyable weekend. Recommended.

    March 2014
  • melanie was an excellent host, nice large room, clean, good location for walking and great value.

    January 2014
Per Month
From
$71
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 16 times
School
The Purbeck School, Wareham, Dorset.
About
More info to be added in Sept. When less busy. But basically, I am well travelled from cycling and camping around France to hiking to top of Mount Kilimanjaro in Africa. (6000m) Hence why the bedroom has lots of African stuff in. I enjoy hosting as I get to meet people who also like traveling. Also the hosting money goes into my future travelling saving pot. My life motto is 'Enjoy life to the full.' and 'Why stop at 2 lots of gap years.'
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
4 days ago
Similar Listings