Large bedroom, near UN, TimesSquare

Apartment - Private room · East 35th Street, New York, NY 10016, United States

The Space

Midtown East of Manhattan; large and sunny room with two windows. There is one kitchen and one bathroom (shared with two hosts or possibly two other guests who will stay in the other room);

*** There are two rooms in the apartment -
this room is for up to 3 people,
and the other room is for up to 2 people,
so if you have 4 or 5 people you would have to book both rooms, and you will have the entire apartment to yourselves.***

Apartment is centrally located - steps from the subway and bus, about 10-15 minute walk to Grand Central, Times Square or Madison Square, and about 5 minutes to the United Nations (email hidden)rtan's Park is steps away.
There are tons of restaurants, bars, shopping, and tourist attractions in walking distance.

It's a 4th floor walk-up - no elevator. There is a full kitchen with new appliances, stocked with supplies.

Your bedroom is fully furnished and has a large bed and a sleeper sofa. The apartment has TV (in the room), free WiFi, and just about everything a normal household has. Fresh linens and towels will be provided.
There is another room in the apartment, for up to 2 people, which means you might have two roommates if the room is booked.

The size of the room is 170 square feet, or 15.8 square meters, that includes the closet in the room.

Guest Access

Private locked bedroom, shared kitchen, shared bathroom;
free wi-fi, AC/heat, hot water, electricity, antenna TV, everything in kitchen, coffee/etc., shampoos/etc.

Interaction with Guests

Emails normally,
and phone calls in an emergency

The Neighborhood

The apartment is located in Midtown East of Manhattan, between a major hospital and the United Nations. Because of the location there is a 24/7 police presence in the area and many businesses are opened until very late. Guests can walk almost everywhere, or take a conveniently located nearby public transport.

Getting around

Busses going to Uptown, Downtown, crosstown are next to the building, and a subway stop is nearby, too.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Extra people: $10 / night after 2 guests
Weekly Price: $670 /week
Monthly Price: $2000 /month
Security Deposit: $200
Cleaning Fee: $35
Check In: 1:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Our stay was very comfortable and the house was completely equipped. Thank you for allow us to be alone changing the room and also for the late check out, that was really useful.

    January 2014
  • It was in a different position and not in the address describe in a map.
    We were near a pub, fastfood and a good shop to buy something to drink and eat.
    The apartament was dirty and the sheets was not clean. In the bathroom there is a mold. The wi-fi didnt't work.
    She saw Lia just for the check in and for the check out so we were freedom to do what we want (in the respect of course).
    Anyway she was helpful and kind.
    In front the street there was a metro stop and it's really close to the subway.
    It's close to times square and empire state building...about 15/20 min by walk.

    January 2014
    Michael
    Response from Michael:

    Guests were instructed to email the host about any possible problems and call in an emergency. THe host never heard about wi-fi problems. Had the guest emailed about it,the host would've come to fix it. This is an extremely unfair feedback. Also, guests made a serious damage to a wall right next to the bed, but we didn't go after the guests and refunded deposit in full, however, it was not appreciated by the guests. They obviously have some anger issues, but we did not see it until a few days after their check-out.
    The sheets are washed with disinfecting and bleaching solution every single time, and no, there is no mold in bathroom. And we never heard about any wifi problems - we pay a lot for a really good internet connection.

  • The reservation process was great. The location was amazing. We were able to walk everywhere except to Financial District which was a bit far. We were very thankful that it was right on the bus and the tour line so we were able to use the tour to get us home from almost everywhere. The problem was, we were great as long as we were not in the room. The heat was blaring with no thermostat. It was 90 degrees in the hallway so that we had to disrobe outside before entering the building so we wouldn't overheat. The apartment luckily had 2 air conditioners which were on 24/7 while we were there. Even at that it was still well over 75 degrees in there at all times. There was a very hot pipe in the bathroom which had a whistling thing at the top which whistled the entire time we were there, very loudly. Both my son and i burned ourselves on it when using the bathroom as it was right next to the toilet. I tried to close the bathroom door to keep the noise down, but then the bathroom temp increased beyond 95 degrees according to my phone. I mentioned this in multiple emails to the owners wife and she ignored my questions about regulating the heat. The kitchen was small and barely adequate to cook even a very small meal. We brought food in instead. The bedroom we rented stated that it was good for 3. NOT, the couch that is supposed to be the third persons bed was full of crumbs and very dirty and uncomfortable. Plus there was so much furniture in the room that you couldnt lay the bed out well. There is a great little diner right next door and it is really reasonable. There were great things to do and the weather was awesome at 55 in December. We skated at Bryant Park, toured with City Sights, who is the only tour company i would recommend. We went to see the statue of liberty but instead of paying for the tour you simply could take the FREE staton island ferry. Taking taxi is a mistake because it cost us more to travel in the city than to go to the airport. Walking is great for sightseeing as well as cost effectiveness. We had a great time, depsite the extremely small room. The apartment would have been unbearable if there was another renter there. Overall our trip was great regardless. Would only recommend this room for a single person or a couple, not with another renter in their, and dont wear many clothes

    December 2013
    Michael
    Response from Michael:

    This guest booked one bedroom, and then threw a tantrum because the other bedroom (that she didn't book) wan't ready. We asked her to move out with a full refund, she then apologized.
    Again, guys, all future guests - the room size is provided in the room description: IF YOU DON'T LIKE THE ROOM SIZE, DON'T BOOK THE ROOM!!!
    After reading the above feedback I immediately wanted to download the temperature app, but every single review advised against it as being highly inaccurate. So, I didn't.
    Again, PLEASE - the room size is provided in the room description: IF YOU DON'T LIKE THE ROOM SIZE, DON'T BOOK THE ROOM!!!

  • We stayed in the large bedroom with shared bathroom and everything went very smoothly. The apartment was clean and all amenities were provided. To those who are light sleepers, beware-- there were clanging pipes in the bathroom going off very loudly at all hours of the night, but that's just the nature of the building/plumbing.

    The location is great for those with plans on the East Side, bus stops are super close, but the subway is a bit further out. Clover Deli a few blocks away was delicious.

    December 2013
  • I had a great stay at Lia's and Michael's apartment. The room is comfy, clean and spacious, and the apartment was perfectly located for my short trip to NY. A great place to stay!

    December 2013
  • My stay was perfect and went off without a hitch. I was to arrive at JFK at 5 AM and so Michael mailed me the keys with perfect instructions and all went according to plan. I would definitely stay at Michael's place again. The room was great.
    Paul J

    October 2013
  • The room/bathroom an kitchen were clean and have a good size. The apartment has a very good Location, to start our tours. The exact adress doesn´t correspond with the Airbnb Adress.
    The communication between Michael/Lia and us was perfect.

    October 2013
  • Michael and Lia is very friendly and helpful. And the apt is comfortable and clean, the location is also convenient, walking about 10mins to the Grand Center station. There is a nice restaurant beside the apt where we have our breakfast everyday. If you are looking for a nice and quiet place to stay at NY, it is a good choice.

    October 2013
  • Perfect location in Manhattan with access to the main attractions, good size room, clean apartment. High recommended

    October 2013
  • I had a great stay - the location was just perfect for what I needed. I felt safe and secure at all times and Lia and Michael were always just an email/phone call away if I had a question. I slept like a log every night and the place was surprisingly quiet - it was great having wifi and kitchen access included.

    October 2013
Per Month
From
$100
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 112 times
School
365, University of Michigan
About
Hi! We are Michael and Lia. We are new hosts on here, and we are very excited! We love meeting people from all over the world!
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
a week ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings