Mediterranean Villa in Ojai

House - Entire home/apt · Tico Rd, Ojai, CA 93023, United States

The Space

The Mediterranean Villa

Old World Historic country estate house nestled among century old oaks. Designed by world class architect George Washington Smith and built in 1923 by Edward Libby himself to capture the essence of Ojai. The Villa was designated as a Ojai Historic Landmark.

Built in Spanish Colonial Revival style, with white-washed plaster walls, red Spanish tiled roofs, balconies, courtyards and fountains. This gated private estate offers, orchards and rose gardens in a rustic 1 ½ acre romantic paradise. The old world 2B/2B European Landmark Estate offers serenity and privacy.

Enjoy the fresh fruit from the garden, which include in-season, figs, apricots, plums, cherries, apples, nectarines, persimmons and many hard to find gourmet citrus varieties. Dine outdoors in the shade on teak garden furniture in the bougainvillea lined courtyard overlooking the pond and one of the fountains within the estate. Friendly hens run freely on the property and will provide you with fresh eggs in the morning. Swiss Oberhasli and Nubian Dairy goats may also be enjoying their corral.

Someone will come in the morning and release the chickens from the coop so they will wander the property; and also let the goats out of the barn so they can enjoy their corral. If one of the goats is producing milk, we or one of our friends will come and milk once or twice a day. They will need access into the kitchen for about 3 minutes so they can filter and bottle the milk and wash the bucket. No one needs to be home.

Unwind and watch the milky way at night in the salt water hot tub. When it's blossoming, the Night Blooming Jasmine is unforgettable.

The Mediterranean villa is located within the serene tree-lined roads of Libby’s Arbolada, a short walk to town, restaurants, and the bike and horse path.

Master Bedroom

French doors, hardwood floor, white plaster walls and fireplace overlooking the garden and one of the fountains create the ambiance of this old world crafted bedroom. Decorated with an Italian walnut queen sized bed and antique furniture.

Second Bedroom

This corner bedroom also has a private entrance, antique furniture, queen sized bed and hardwood floors. The windows open up to a garden shaded with century old oak trees.

Living room

The classic George Washington Smith designed living room features wide beams, thick plaster walls, a massive central fire place and Spanish tile floor. It is appointed with an 18th century French carved cabinet, a 100 year old rosewood Steinway piano and Tibetan antique furniture. Four French doors draped with colorful bougainvillea lead to a courtyard, pond and fountain.

Dining room

The formal dining room has French doors opening to the balcony with wrought iron balustrades overlooking a serene shaded garden. It is decorated with French country furniture and a hardwood floor.

Kitchen

Enjoy the fully equipped classic gourmet kitchen with 6 burner Professional Viking stove, and built in hood. The corner breakfast nook features built-in walnut benches and table and views of the courtyard and rear gardens and orchard.

Additional Information

Pricing is $395 per night.
A weekly stay may be available at $2370.
Special Rate for Summer 2014 for $5900 per month.

Amenities

Take your own country fresh eggs from the chicken coop daily, and possibly feed the friendly Swiss and Nubian goats. Listen to the resident owl family and see the milky way at night. Amenities also include:

Outdoor shower
over-sized hammock
trampoline and climbing structure
air conditioning
gas grill outdoors
whole house water filtration system
salt water hot tub

Please, No smoking or parties in the Villa or on the property. Please remove shoes when using the trampoline. The ponds on the property are unfenced, so please be careful for your children.

The property is shared with farm animals which may include goats, and chickens. For the health of the animals, please do not feed them unless we specifically give you instructions in advance.

Please be aware that the estate also includes a private detached guesthouse that is leased with a long term tenant. The guesthouse is located on a different part of the estate from the main house. Please respect the privacy of the tenant in the guesthouse and their private garden areas.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 5
Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 2
Beds: 2
Extra people: $50 / night after 4 guests
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $2699 /week
Monthly Price: $5900 /month
Security Deposit: $500
Cleaning Fee: $100
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict
Pet Owner: Other pet(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Randy and Kasia’s home is comfortable, clean, and beautifully appointed. It has everything you need to unwind and escape. The house is set on a large, gated property with a view of the mountains in the distance behind the palm trees. It is conveniently located, as downtown Ojai with all its shops and restaurants is a very short drive away.

    We enjoyed the piano, CDs/stereo (yes, those still exist!), fireplace, hot tub, patio, hammock and badminton set. They thoughtfully left fancy mint chip ice cream in the freezer for us, among other goodies. We also enjoyed fresh eggs from the chickens and sweet oranges from the citrus trees on the property. Our children (2 and 6 years-old) absolutely loved the trampoline, tire swing, “taking care” of the chickens, and keeping an eye on the goats. We were so fortunate that an adorable baby goat was born during our stay!

    Our toddler proclaimed “I love this house!” more than once during our stay. This sums up our experience and we really hope a return visit is in our future.

    March 2014
  • We had the most pleasant of stays at the Mediterranean Villa! Randy and his family provided us and our two-year-old with an experience to remember. My son got to pull (truly, the most delicious) eggs out of the chicken coop every morning before we took them inside to cook. We took naps in hammocks, cooked in the beautiful kitchen, utilized the grounds, and just enjoyed ourselves overall. Thanks for the experience, Randy! We hope to return soon.....

    February 2014
  • this was truly perfect for our family in every way…the home and grounds are beautiful and welcoming…the hosts provided the most delicious homemade cookies and granola and fresh goat milk...the chickens and goats added such a special quality to the trip. we loved collecting fresh eggs every morning and helping milk the goat:) the trampoline added such fun for my three year old son. my husband truly enjoyed his time in the hammock and the hot tub...the kitchen was a dream kitchen and we loved preparing meals there. the living room, with its lovely fireplace, was another space that was very special for us. my son loved to bring in the firewood from the grounds. i could go on:) thank you for such a special experience for all of us…we really can't wait to return!

    December 2013
  • We loved our time we spent in Ojai. The villa really is a special place. It is a wonderful house, if you like to cook the kitchen is one of the most comfortable kitchens to cook in. The grounds are great. Our kids loved that there are goats and chickens, and collecting the fresh eggs was a wonderful way to start the day. We loved that the house is a short walk to town, but you feel like you are in the middle of the country. Randy was wonderful host, easy, accommodating, he welcomed us and left some wonderful home made goodies, made our stay one of our favorite holidays. We would love to go back again for another stay and highly recommended a visit.

    December 2013
  • Our experience with this property was mixed. Although it is a lovely property with the charm of a little farm surrounding it, it is a strange set up. FIrst of all, the property has another little family that rents a space from the owner so there is not a deep sense of privacy--one of the main reasons one might leave the comfort of their home to go to another's. Also, because of the animals, there is someone that shows up early in the morning for the chickens and in the evening to milk the goats with the milk needing to be strained in the sink located inside the house. In fact the owners showed up at 8 am on Monday morning to care for their animals when our check out time was NOON. It felt as though they were there to spy on us--it made us feel awkward. The privacy at this house is questionable.

    Also, I think these owners are reluctant airbnb'ers. While they did have a hot tub and a piano, they were displeased that either had really been used during the stay. We had to pay an extra fee of $160 for the cleaning of the hot tub as if we were excessively dirty people. The piano was enjoyed by our friend who has been playing for several decades, obviously a master and very respectful of the instrument. In any case, Randy and Kasia seemed displeased that it had been played during the stay. They should have clearly indicated that the piano was off limits--although in the case of our friend, it would have been a sad and misguided policy.

    Many of the reviewers stated that they had entertained at the house but these owners do not prefer it. We had a few friends come up from LA to visit at various meals. The response from the owners expressed that too many dishes had been used during the visit. Do not plan to entertain at this home--god forbid you use too many dishes! We spent nearly 2 hours cleaning the house and all the disher before we left, including washing the towels that had been used.

    We had been planning to make this an annual trip but we will likely plan to stay at the Ojai Valley Inn, which is more luxurious and far less hassled.

    November 2013
    Randy
    Response from Randy:

    We feel sad that you needed to retaliate in your review because your deposit was withheld. We’ve never had to withhold a deposit in the past. We work so hard making everything special for our guests and feel taken advantage of. You booked our property for 4 people and arrived instead with over 10 people, never alerting us of the occupancy change, which you knew would not have been allowed.

    You said it was a problem that we came before the check out time, yet you knew we had to return home because of the neighbor’s complaints about your group. Our Turkish towels were taken, kitchenware put back with food on them, the DRU enamel pan destroyed yet hung as if nothing had happened – the wooden handle actually charred down to the metal. The hot tub was opaque, scummy, with a dirt ring around it from all the extra people using it. It had to be drained, cleaned and re-filled. Should I mention the feces in the bedroom? We don’t understand your comments about the piano. We’re happy it was enjoyed. That’s what it’s for. We even leave music books for guest’s use

  • Randy and Kasia's home is truly an oasis. We were greeting with a kind note, and homemade delectables. It was the perfect place for our family to disconnect from the grid and reconnect with one another. Our 3.5 year old son was in love with the 19 chickens and by the end of our stay had names and stories for all of them. Farm fresh eggs each morning, followed by a little gardening, trampolining, piano playing or a wander into Ojai's quaint town made for long, easy days. Randy was accessible and quickly responsive to any questions or needs during the trip. On top of it all, lovers of architecture will appreciate that this is an original George Washington Smith construction. . . an incredible bonus.

    August 2013
  • We loved our time at this house! Randy and Kasia have created a rich environment where folks can live simply, mindfully, and beautifully, immersed in nature and in all that Ojai has to offer--We picked ripe nectarines, awaited the figs in the front yard, fried eggs from the chicken coop, made homemade goat ice cream, and spent every evening on the patio in time for the famous sunset "Pink Moment." The kitchen is clearly a "cook's kitchen,", which delighted us--sharp knives, cast iron pans, and even a juicer. The house is great for kids--especially if you bring a blow up mattress (there's only one bed in the guest room, so we added a futon for one of our kids on the floor of that room...) It's perfect for grown ups too, looking to escape hectic city life. We were there for a month, and so we also picked up a few boxes of fresh produce from the local CSA...we are dreaming of our next visit already...

    August 2013
  • Traveling with a young child is a whole new world so when we look for places to stay there are a lot of new requirements that in our single years didn't matter as much :) The Mediterranean Villa in Ojai has it all and so much more. The property is in a beautiful setting under gorgeous oak trees with tons to explore (tire swing, trampoline, play house, climbing dome, and wildlife!) We loved all the outdoor space and the open feel to the interior of the house. Tons of windows and interesting spaces to relax and have some quiet time. Randy and Kasha were fantastic hosts, and were gracious enough to let us watch while they milked the resident goat and also let us gather fresh chicken eggs from the coop which we had for breakfast. This was such a special experience for our little one to be fully engaged with the animals and we all took a piece of this home with us. We'd highly recommend the Villa for families but also for a quiet getaway retreat. There is something for everyone here!

    May 2013
  • The villa was beautiful and we had a wonderful stay. The house is immaculate and the hosts were very thoughtful -- providing us with coffee, cookies and delicious homemade granola! My daughter loved the goats and chickens, and my parents loved the setting.

    February 2012
  • What a special place! We had a wonderful long weekend at the Mediterranean Villa with our 17 month old daughter and extended family. The home and property has so much to offer - and between the chickens, goats, and trampolines, it is truly toddler heaven! And not only did my little one love every minute, but the four adults in the group also made some great memories. The home itself is beautiful - impeccably clean and thoughtfully decorated with an inspiringly well-organized kitchen (which made for great group cooking opportunities). The grounds are peaceful and the view of the mountains from the small pond took my breath away every morning. Especially for a group of city dwellers, it was a privilege to walk in this life even for a bit. This is the kind of place that makes one fall in love with Ojai - whether for the first or hundredth time. We definitely plan to be back and highly recommend the Mediterranean Villa.

    January 2012
Per Month
From
$475
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 83 times
Languages
English, Polski, Русский
School
National College of Naturopathic Medicine, Stanford Graduate School of Business
About
Kasia is a Naturopathic Doctor licensed in California. She specializes in using herbs for health, nutrition and woman's issues. Randy is trying to be a blueberry farmer and cheese maker!
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
today

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings