Skip to content
Ash Living Room
Ash - a great estate cottage
Hosted by Cardross
Cardross User Profile
4 guests
2 bedrooms
4 beds
1 bath
4 guests
2 bedrooms
4 beds
1 bath

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Ash Cottage is one of a pair of cottages as part of a barn conversion, adjacent to Arnvicar. Apart from minor layout differences and decoration Ash and Hawthorn Cottages are almost mirror images of each other.

Ash and Hawthorn self catering cottages can be combined for larger parties of up to eight persons or could be combined with the adjacent Arnvicar Farmhouse for a large family group.

Amenities
Pets allowed
Free parking on premises
Wireless Internet
Kitchen
House Rules
No smoking
Check-in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 10AM
Cancellations

5 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Laurel User Profile
August 2014
Our host made us feel very welcome and was concerned with every detail. The cottage is lovely, comfortable and perfectly located. We had a wonderful time in Scotland. We would recommend this cottage to anyone. Absolutely lovely!

Gerald User Profile
August 2016
For a start I don't believe this property really conforms to what most would consider a typical Airbnb property. Rather than being a private home it is a commercial holiday house. It's not the cute, cosey cottage we were expecting it was a coldly decorated, impersonal, poorly fit…
Cardross User Profile
Response from Cardross:
We are SO sorry that you have had issues with the cottage, which is a traditional estate cottage that we let out to holiday makers. I am sorry that you did not like the decor but many of our guests do, so I expect that is pretty subjective. We are usually complimented on how well our cottages are equipped, if there is anything that guests require then we are more than happy to try & accommodate their request. Prior to your arrival we emailed our brochure to you for directions, it also lists our phone number (using Cardross email address to which you replied so you should have had our email address, the footer on all our emails includes our phone number). In each cottage we leave an information folder that has full instructions about the cottage, it includes our contact telephone number, information about how to operate the heating and where to find fuel. Unfortunately the weather was unseasonably cold that weekend. In winter we put on the heating before our guests arrive, however, in mid-summer we do not, this has never previously been a problem & our guests have generally managed to operate the heating / fire with out any trouble. There was coal in the bucket in the house & hoppers outside for guests to refill when they need it and we check do that there is a supply of wood for our guests. I am sorry you did not find the time to locate our phone number in the brochure or the information folder as we would have popped down as soon as you called, we did come down and see you as soon as we received your message. It was, however, rather alarming to be met in such an aggressive manner by a guest who had been at the cottage for less than an hour.....I suspect Bear Grylls would have given it a bit longer ! The cottage was fully cleaned prior to yours arrival so I am sorry that it did not meet your requirements which understandably are high with your new born baby, our cottages do take pets which is stated on the listing so I must apologise if there was any residual dog hair that we missed under the sofa. The bedding was freshly laundered and the beds were made that morning so I am at a loss to understand how there could have been several dog hairs in the bed (actually when you originally complained you said "the bed is covered in pubic hairs") It is possibly not a wise idea to book a cottage that takes pets if you suffer from pet hair allergies. The bath was also cleaned that morning so I do not understand how it had pubic hair in it. We are really surprised and disappointed to receive such a damning review from a guest who did not even stay in the cottage, we did not review our guest as we did not think, in all fairness we could make an accurate judgement when the guest was only with us for about an hour. With the benefit of hindsight, perhaps we should have done as we no longer feel we could recommend this guest to anyone else.
August 2016

Sandra User Profile
March 2016
We stayed in Ash and Hawthorn cottages great place for a family break. Cosy warm cottages very well equipped. Loved the stove. Lots of information about what to do locally. Would love to go back and would recommend it to friends.

Rachel User Profile
August 2015
All in all our experience was a mixed bag. The setting of the cottage was sublime, so peaceful and beautiful. The cottage itself was nice, quite clean, however it has obviously not been dusted in a while and there were cobwebs everywhere. The living room furniture was quite dated…
Cardross User Profile
Response from Cardross:
Dear Rachel, we are so sorry to hear that your visit was a disappointment. Apologies for the cobwebs, it is a spidery time of year but we will endeavour to be more vigilant in the future. Sorry you didn't like our living room furniture especially as our sofa was new last year ! We have had a number of residents who have stayed here with their dogs & do not seem to have a problem accommodating their dogs as the property is fenced & gated. Many apologies for the action of the game keeper, Cardross Estate is NOT in anyway involved in shooting or hunting holidays (hence it is not mentioned on the web site), the adjoining cottage was let out as a holiday let and we were not aware it was a shooting party. We can only apologise for the disruption caused by the next door incumbents and we are willing to speak to the local keeper on your behalf to ensure that this does not happen again. In an area like this it is wise to keep your dog on a lead whilst out on the road but it is by no means NOT allowed. Although wi-fi is available in the cottage we remain at the mercy of BT who provide the broadband service, as with many rural areas our service does not meet our expectations but unfortunately there is nothing we can do other than hope that superfast broadband will make its way to us in the not too distant future. We did actually pop down to see you during your stay but you were not in, so we are very sorry we missed you. Yes, a car is a bit of an essential out in the sticks unless, of course, you are a cycling enthusiast or good on a pony !! Many thanks for your booking & we hope that you might stay with us again but maybe in one of our other cottages next time !
August 2015

René User Profile
August 2016
Nous avons passé un agréable séjour à la découverte de la nature Écossaise dans un endroit retiré. Le logement mérite cependant un nettoyage de fond car la propreté laisse vraiment à désirer.

This host has 62 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Port of Menteith, United KingdomJoined in June 2013
Cardross User Profile
Welcome to the Cardross Estate, where you can enjoy a holiday in our self catering cottages or a short bed & breakfast stay in Cardross House. The Estate is situated on the fringe of the Scottish Highlands and border of the Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park. Just to th…
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighborhood

Similar listings