Looking out your French doors...Interior from the bed...
Topa View Garden Cottage
Hosted by Gay
Gay is the host.
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
Half-bath
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
Half-bath
You won’t be charged yet

Cozy space with an inspiring view within walking distance of the village, perfect for a personal or creative retreat. Enjoy delicious meals at our Marche Gourmet Deli, too!

The space

Our charming garden room has amazing views of the beautiful Topa Topa Mountains across the field and orange groves. It has served as a writer's studio and a home for four years to two successive individuals. This is surprising as the space is very small, only 8' x 10'. It has a twin bed, upper loft for storage, tiny dresser, desk, internet, French doors and windows on three sides and a tiny deck to take in the views.

Bathroom access is in the house a few steps away. There are only one and a half baths in the house. The half bath is dedicated to our guests and the full bath is available for showering. After 8:30 a.m. works best for us, but if your event schedule starts earlier, we are flexible.

Our guests must be prepared to be smothered in love from our extended family of dogs. They live in the yard during the day and are crated at night in the house. The front garden is a "pet free" zone and can be enjoyed as a place for relaxation and dining.

The neighborhood is quiet and within walking distance of the village, our Marche' Gourmet Deli, Libbey Park and Libbey Bowl, Sunday farmer's market, art, movie theatre, bars and restaurants. There is a trolley stop a block and a half away.

Our place is unique because we are two unique women; an artist/chef and a musician/ spiritualist who run a gourmet deli and catering business. Come prepared to enjoy excellent food at Marche' Gourmet Deli!

Guest access

No kitchen access is included in this space, but there is a small fridge and electric tea pot in the room. Bathroom access is in the house a few steps away.

Interaction with guests

Most guests are in town for a retreat of some kind and seem to be up and out early and return late. So often, we don't see them much, but sometimes we share a meal if it's convenient for everyone.

Other things to note

Please note that we cannot accept guests with dogs as we have several that inhabit the yard where the room is located. They are friendly with people but are territorial with other dogs. It detracts from the peaceful atmosphere that is a hallmark of our location.


Amenities
Internet
Heating

Prices
Cleaning Fee $20
Weekend Price $40 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 single bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 1PM - 6PM
Check out by 9AM

We expect friendly courtesy and respect of our home. Because our guests will be using the bathrooms in the house, we appreciate a consciousness of our schedule. Guests are welcome to use of the half bath at any hour and the full bath for showering between 8:30 am and 9:30 pm. (If your event schedule starts earlier, allowances can be made.) The dogs alert us when the house is accessed, so we appreciate our guests turning in by 11 pm and respecting the quiet, natural setting here. Please note that smoking is not allowed on the premises at any time. The front garden can be enjoyed as a place for relaxation and dining away from the pets.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Availability
31 nights minimum stay

46 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Alex User Profile
July 2016
Gay was very friendly and a joy to be around! The house was very nice and met all expectations. I'd recommend to anyone who loves dogs, especially chihuahuas as there are 7 of them. Everyday you feel greeted with love and they treat you like a part of the family!
Gay User Profile
Response from Gay:
Thank you, Alex, for your kind review. It was a real pleasure meeting you and getting to know you a little. Keep in touch and let us know how your summer project is doing. :) Gay
July 2016

Lindsey User Profile
June 2016
The host canceled this reservation 7 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.
Gay User Profile
Response from Gay:
We were so sorry to have to cancel this reservation, but our City has decided to enforce it's "transient rental ordinance" which prohibits rentals less than 30 days.
June 2016

Lindsay User Profile
May 2016
A sweet space to put my head at night. Nice hosts and lovable puppies!

Laine User Profile
May 2016
Gay was a welcoming and friendly host! She did not adhere to the listing's check-in/check-out timing and there was a freedom to come and go as we pleased. Gay and Pat live in the main house where you can use the bathroom and shower. The cottage is very, very sweet, cozy and comfy. The beds are both twin but have soft mattresses. If you are two singles, one can climb the ladder and stay in the top bunk, which we did. I had some allergy issues since cottage is dusty at the moment. The 9 puppies outside make for a lot of puppy energy as well. Overall, we enjoyed our experience and our stay! Thank you, Gay, for your warm hospitality!

David User Profile
December 2015
Coordinating my stay at Gay's place was effortless. She went above and beyond to answer all my questions and be patient with me. My circumstances chanaged and I could not make the trip and it pained me not to have the experience of the garden house. I hope to make the trip soon.

Adriana User Profile
October 2015
Cute sweet quiet space. Small but suitable for one person. Gay and Pat were both very kind and welcoming, though I didn't spend much time in the house as I was out most of the time at a conference. They do have 9 small dogs, who are very cute. I would have really liked kitchen access--that would have made this a perfect spot (of course I knew I wasn't going to have access ahead of time, as described in the listing).

Jamie User Profile
August 2015
What a perfect little weekend trip to Ojai! Loved the little fairy cottage, tucked away in the back garden which is itself nestled in a natural setting, so quiet and peaceful. At night, such a great view of the stars (if you're from L.A., like me, where you can hardly see any stars, the difference is striking). Even though it was the weekend of the heat wave, the temperature stayed reasonable inside the cottage, and the provided fan kept it cool & comfortable at night. Super close to the shops and restaurants; if you like walking, you can totally walk down to everything. Just a few quaint, tree-lined residential streets and you're at one end of the main drag. But if you drive, parking is pretty easy to find everywhere, even though all the shops had a steady flow of traffic. Back to the cottage... how much do I love the tiny-pup clan? What sweethearts! Got in my fair share of snuggles, which helped me not miss own my pups too much. ;) Gay was a great host--warm and friendly and fun to chat with. It feels like you're staying with an old friend or your favorite Aunt. I definitely recommend her fairy cottage as a comfortable, cozy, relaxing place to enjoy your time in Ojai. And definitely check out her restaurant, more than once, because you won't be able to taste everything in one visit. From paninis with homemade pesto and fine cured meats and cheeses to sweets and pastries and quiches and condiments they make themselves... your tastebuds will be in heaven! Kind of like a little portal to Europe, and not just in style, and not like the ones you usually visit where everything was made somewhere else and delivered. They make all their own food, and everything I tried was *so good*!
Gay User Profile
Response from Gay:
Thanks, Jaime, for your kind review. We appreciate it! Thanks for the thumbs up on our Marche Gourmet Deli, too! :)
August 2015

Ojai, California, United StatesJoined in July 2013
Gay User Profile

We are both native Californians and have been in Ojai for over 20 years operating first the Garden Terrace restaurant and now Marche' Gourmet Deli right in the middle of town. Pat is a painter, hence her title as "The Painting Chef", and spends most free time in that pursuit. I am a singer/songwriter/spiritualist. We love Ojai for its quiet, beauty and sense of community.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings