Main building and view double roomTerrace
Surf Meli Melo 1min walk to the beach and surf
4 guests
2 bedrooms
5 beds
2 baths
4 guests
2 bedrooms
5 beds
2 baths
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Surf Hotel Meli Melo is centrally located in Santa Teresa Costa Rica, 1 min walk to the main beach and best surf spot but also close to groceries, shops restaurants...Rooms are very private and comfortable, all with air con and private bathroom, free Wifi, in room safe and private terrace. Also you will have access to our shared and equiped kitchen.

The space

We are centrally located in Santa Teresa Costa Rica, a 1 minute walk from the main beach and world class surf break, and also close to groceries, restaurants, shops..
We have 6 comfortable private rooms all with A/C, Free Wifi, in-room safe, private bathrooms, hot water, private terrace and garden with hammock.
Fully equipped shared kitchen, and free bicycles are availables for your use.
On site we have surfboard rentals, surf lessons from beginner to advanced and a tour desk.
This is the ideal place for surf, beach and jungle enthusiasts to enjoy all that Santa Teresa has to offer and the Pura Vida lifestyle with affordable rates.

Guest access

Free coffee
Free bycicles
Use of our fully equipped kitchen
Surfboard rentals
Surf lessons from beginner to advanced

Interaction with guests

Concierge service 7D/7D, 24h/24h
We will be very happy to organise our guest tours, excursions or make restaurants, car..reservations !

Family/kid friendly
Wireless Internet
Free parking on premises

Extra people $15 / night after 2 guests
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed, 2 single beds
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 11AM

calm tranquility and relaxation

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) and cat(s) live in the house


Safety features
Fire extinguisher

1 night minimum stay

22 Reviews

Check In
Brad User Profile
January 2017
Room was clean, bed was comfortable, and the shower pressure was great. The owners are nice enough but the place needs work. First, the individual rooms are guarded only by sliding patio doors, with chintzy locks that are literally falling apart. I'm pretty sure I could've broken into my room with one hand and a rusty screwdriver. Second, the air conditioning is very weak. Every hostel, AirBnB, and hotel in Costa Rica has the same A/C unit, so you come to expect a certain flow. I don’t know about the other rooms, but mine was definitely struggling. Finally, the internet. It’s so slow it’s not even worth getting online. I tried to do some minimal email / travel planning stuff on two different days, in different locations around the hostel, but even sitting directly under the router I got nothing. If you don’t care about the above, you’ll be fine. But if you like security, decent A/C, and getting online- look elsewhere.
Melanie User Profile
Response from Melanie:
Thank you for your review. We do have sliding doors in order to have a lot of lights in the room and we never had any issued with it as we always show our guest how to lock them well during check in, the hotel also have a locked front gate and cameras for security. Regarding A/C unit, we always recommend our guests to close the bathroom door and the main sliding door in order to get the room cold, otherwise all the flow cold air is going outside (by the mosquito net opened bathroom window) and you feel that A/C is not working. And finally regarding the internet I never had any complaint before, I know some people are doing some streaming and are happy with it. But I know also if all my guests are connected in the same time yes internet can be slow. But I will check again with my technician in case we have some other technical issues to make sure it s working well for the next guests. Thank you for taking time to write the review and we hope to see you again in Santa Teresa. Cheers, Melanie
January 2017

Ashton User Profile
December 2016
Perfection! Melanie's rooms are clean and cozy; hands down the BEST shower I had during my travels on the Nicoya Peninsula. The kitchen and garden are relaxing spots to enjoy morning coffee. Walking distance from all shops, restaurants and beaches. Melanie also arranged a taxi to the Tambor Airport for me on my final day, such a helpful and gracious host! Thank you Melanie!

Dave User Profile
August 2016
Meli Melo was a great place with a good location close to the beach and restaurants/shops. The room was clean, nice, and comfortable. Melanie is very friendly and personable. She knows each person staying there and takes the time to talk with each guest.

John User Profile
May 2016
The Meli Melo hotel is a perfect spot to stay in Santa Teresa. It is just as pictured, with hammocks and everything. The communal kitchen is nice, the a/c in the rooms is great, and the showers always ran hot. There are challenges with water and power in that area, but the Melanie always made sure things were sorted quickly. She was a very good host, greeting us on arrival and seeing us off. The place is just as promised, and a great value to be so close to the beach. There was coffee every morning too. We really also enjoyed meeting and hanging out with other travelers in the communal kitchen. We would stay here again, easily.

Hilary User Profile
March 2016
Great spot. We met some wonderful people and Melanie is so sweet and helpful. The bathrooms are open to sleeping space (with a curtain), so maybe not for the first trip away with a new love :-). Great food near by and a huge community party every Sunday with in walking on the beach.

Derek User Profile
June 2015
Very nice place, great location if you are looking to surf, both hosts were super friendly and helped me with directions when we decided to take a ride on our ATV around the area. Clean room with AC and ample kitchen space. Air Con worked very nice! Also close enough to Santa Teresa to enjoy everything with the free bicycles provided and far enough to be quiet and away from the hustle and bustle. What's even better is that I chatted with a local woman by the beach who let me know everything that they do for community in Santa Teresa as well which made me feel even better about our stay!
Melanie User Profile
Response from Melanie:
Thank you so much for your nice review Derek :) Hope to see you back again Pura Vida
June 2015

Jessica User Profile
April 2015
The best! We came here for our low key honeymoon and could not have asked for more! Melanie, Fredrico, the fam, Angela were awesome! So friendly, ready to help with anything. Beautiful spirits. The location is amazing! Like it says used to be a restaurant so the kitchen is above par. She helped correlate a massage, right out front the hotel, as well as a scuba diving experience and so much more! Very hands on and helpful. Thank you for an amazing time! Not to mention all the amazing restaurants a walk or bike ride away. Bikes were key for going a bit farther. Thank you!!!
Melanie User Profile
Response from Melanie:
Thank you very much Jessica, you are the best !!! :)
April 2015

This host has 79 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Puntarenas Province, Costa RicaJoined in February 2012
Melanie User Profile

We are french but living in Costa Rica for 14 years in our little paradise named Santa Teresa...We fall in love of this amazing beach and surf spot and we decide to move here. We love meeting guests from every where in the world and share our culture, difference, experience...Hope to welcome you in our home, our paradise !!

Languages: English, Español, Français
Response rate: 80%
Response time: within a day

The neighborhood

Similar listings