Private room 1min walk to the beach

Bed & Breakfast - Private room · Malpais, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Melanie
Your host, Melanie
5 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

We are centrally located in Santa Teresa Costa Rica, a 1 minute walk from the main beach and world class surf break, and also close to groceries, restaurants, shops..
We have 6 comfortable private rooms all with A/C, Free Wifi, in-room safe, private bathrooms, hot water, private terrace and garden with hammock.
Fully equipped shared kitchen and BBQ, and free bicycles are available for your use.
On site we have surfboard rental, snorkeling and fishing gear, surf lessons from beginner to advanced and a tour desk.
This is the ideal place for surf, beach and jungle enthusiasts to enjoy all that Santa Teresa has to offer and the Pura Vida lifestyle with affordable rates.

Guest Access

Free WIFI
Free coffee
Free bycicles
Use of our fully equipped kitchen
Surfboard rentals
Surf lessons from beginner to advanced

Interaction with Guests

Concierge service 7D/7D, 24h/24h
We will be very happy to organise our guest tours, excursions or make restaurants, car..reservations !

The Neighborhood

We are centrally located in Santa Teresa, you do not need any transportation and everything is walking distance : beach, groceries, restaurants, shops...

Getting around

We are located only 50 meters before the last stop of the bus coming from San Jose. You can also take a bus just in fron of the hotel to go to Cobano / Montezuma.

Room type: Private room
Accommodates: 16+
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 6
Beds: 11
Extra people: $10 / night after the first guest
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Check In: 1:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and Cat(s)
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Make sure you research directions if driving here! There is only one way into Santa Teresa and it's from the south. My gf and I were heading from the north and weren't aware of this so we were lost for 9 hours trying to find a drivable route! We were late understandably and arrived at 3am. Luckily Melanie's husband was there to let us in at such a late hour. The next morning however he was very rude and began to lecture / reprimand us for not leaving early in the morning. It was not a pleasant experience. To add insult to injury, later that day Melanie did the same. The most frustrating part of this encounter was that I had written Melanie prior to setting out on our drive with our itinerary and questions (where we were coming from, what time we expected to arrive, and asking for DIRECTIONS). I realize that it's not their responsibility to ensure we find our way to their place but please don't lecture me on what I should of done after the fact especially since I asked for guidance before departing. Out of my whole time in Costa Rica these two were the only people who were rude and unpleasant that I encountered.

    That being said it is fair to say the place itself is nice and in a good location next to the beach and easy access to nearby shops and food. I just wouldn't want to deal with the people who run it.

    May 2014
    Melanie
    Response from Melanie:

    I m sorry Gordon if you felt we were rude to you !
    North Costa Rica to Santa Teresa is a 6 hours driving trip DAY TIME, but unfortunately the mistake of Gordon was to leave at 3pm, 2 hours before sunset, so due to the lake of lights, signs and difficult roads, he get lost and arrived at 3am ! Thanks fully he arrived safe !
    The next morning I explain to him how can be dangerous to drive at night in Costa Rica to avoid any other problem for the rest of his trip but it seems he could not accept my advices.
    Anyway, I hope you had a safe trip in costa rica and I m very happy that you like our hotel :)
    Melanie

    May 2014
  • Mélanie et son mari vous accueillent très chaleureusement dans la très attachante ville de Santa Teresa. À vraiment deux minutes de la plage sublime. Mais aussi à proximité de nombreux restaurants, bars et mini-markets. Sans oublier l'excellente boulangerie française à deux pas. L'hôtel Meli Melo met à votre disposition une cuisine équipée avec un réfrigérateur, et une grande table. Et juste devant la chambre - d'ailleurs fort joliment aménagée - un hamac et un petit salon de jardin privé.
    Les conseils de Mélanie sont précieux. Il faut les suivre en toute confiance !

    February 2014
  • Great comfortable room. Quiet, relaxing, private room with shared kitchen. Great place to stay. Safe, no hidden charges that you encounter sometime at bnbs. Perfect for couples and families that don't want a backpacker hostel feel. Super safe, local knowledge you won't find at other places. Thanks again!

    January 2014
  • Meli Melo was such a great find. Melanie and Fred were very welcoming and made our stay very enjoyable. Santa Teresa was our favourite spot in Costa Rica. We met some incredible people at Meli Melo and the food around there is amazing. We can't wait to go back!

    January 2014
  • Superb place to stay!

    It is relaxed and calm with a familial feel.
    The rooms are very well kept, got both Wifi and AC, and it's located close to the beach. There is also grocery stores and restaurants well within walking distance.
    I had a great stay at Meli Melo, it's really perfect for a surf vacation!

    December 2013
Per Month
From
$50
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 48 times
Languages
English, Español, Français
Work
Surf Hotel Meli Melo
About
We are french but living in Costa Rica for 11 years in our little paradise named Santa Teresa...We fall in love of this amazing beach and surf spot and we decide to move here.. We love meeting guests from every where in the world and share our culture, difference, experience...Hope to welcome you in our home, our paradise !! PURA VIDA.....
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
1 week ago
Similar Listings