The living room is adjacent to the entry and stairway leading to bedrooms. Sunny and bright during most of the calendar year, the dining room is adjacent to the living room. Wireless Internet is throughout the home.
Private Room, Central Location near Lake Merritt
Private Room, Central Location near Lake Merritt

Private room

3 guests

1 bedroom

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Private & comfy, our craftsman home offers close proximity to many amenities. Steps from Lake Merritt, subway, restaurants, theatre, cafes, and a major freeway. 20 minutes on the bus to San Francisco.

Please note that this is a SHARED home rental with a private room. Feel like home when you're away. Welcome!

The space

No need for a pesky alarm, the sun peaking through the curtains will wake you in this beautiful Craftsman home built in 1910. The house is 1 block from Lake Merritt and central to restaurants, shopping, transportation and more! The room is spacious, about the size of a small apartment. There are 2 large closets which are both available to you. A large window allows fresh air, sun and a street view. A TV with cable is in the room for your convenience, and wireless Internet is available throughout the home. There is a queen bed plus a futon in the room. There is also an Aerobed twin-sized air mattress available for a 3rd guest. Please note that this is a SHARED home by the owner only - no other guests will be here during your stay.

The home is 2 stories, and the private room is on the 2nd floor. Please note that if you have mobility concerns, there are 1.5 flights of stairs.

There is one bathroom which is SHARED, and a water closet (bathroom with toilet) on the main floor. You are welcome to share the other parts of the home including a living room with fireplace, a full kitchen, a dining room, den with cable TV and back yard. The house is about 2600 square feet providing plenty of room for privacy, as well as casual conversation. The home is shared by myself and my brother who lives in a separate basement apartment on the ground floor.

There is also a backyard but at this time we are doing work so it is not available. Since we are about a block from Lake Merritt, you will most likely enjoy hanging out there.

This location doesn't require transportation. I walk to pretty much everything including work. Bus stops and casual carpool are a block or two away. BART, our subway, is a about a 25 minute leisurely walk along the Lake, and there are both Zip and City Car Share lots 1-2 blocks away.

There are also Hertz and Enterprise car rentals about 8 blocks away.

In addition there is a coffee shop a block down the street with ATM and wifi. There are grocery stores, gym and exercise studios, a lovely theatre with the latest movie releases, the Lake itself, and many other restaurants, performance venues and a museum a walk or bike ride away. Every Saturday there is a wonderful Farmers Market that has been recognized nationally, providing not only food, but great music and hand-made gifts.

If driving, the 580 freeway, a major artery, is a couple blocks away, and there is parking on the street.


If you are driving, parking near the home is difficult. Please review detailed notes under Guest Access.

Oakland also provides numerous parks with hiking and incredible views that would require a short drive or a good bike ride. There is much to explore in this city and as a native, I am happy to provide you some great ideas! Oh, and Oakland is a bike-friendly city including bike lanes on major streets. Bike rentals are within walking distance.

I work at home alot, so there is usually someone around the home. I am happy to engage in conversation or leave you to your own devices.

Coffee and tea, seasonal fruit, towels, sheets, soap, and such are provided.

Guest access

You will have access to the entire home, specifically the living and dining areas, the kitchen, your private room and both bathrooms.

The home is NOT child proof so is best for children 12+ or so in age.

If you prefer to cook and actually have cooked before (we have had guests that have not) you are welcome to cook at any time before 8pmPT.

NOTE: PARKING IS DIFFICULT IN THIS NEIGHBORHOOD. THERE IS LIMITED DRIVEWAY ACCESS (e.g., load, unload, and some nights when leaving very early in the morning). This is a metro area that has grown in popularity due to its walkability. Please read some of the reviews from guests regarding parking as I believe they are fair and accurate. Some guests have had much difficulty. Most guests have not. If you anticipate regularly coming in after 9pm at night, you may have difficulty. If your intent is to drive during the day, or leave your car some days and catch public transit, taxis, Uber, Lyft, ride with friends/family, or walk or bike, you will be fine. I hope this is helpful to the drivers.

Interaction with guests

I live in the home and am happy to help with your plans or answer any questions.

Other things to note

Wifi access is throughout the home. There are also several coffee shops and restaurants that provide wifi access that are a block or 2 away.


The space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1.5
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: 4PM - 11PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 35 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee: 50
Security Deposit: 100
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed, 1 single bed, 1 air mattress

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 4PM - 11PM

REMINDER: This is a SHARED home. I live here also.

WIFI Use: Please do not download copyrighted material. It is illegal to download/stream movies, tv shows that are copyrighted are not purchased for use. The cable company I use will cut off my account so that is why I add this warning. If you choose to do that I will pass on any fines or fees to you. Please use Netflix or Hulu or any other accounts that you pay for access.

Please let me know the number of guests, and how the other guests relate to you i.e. friends, family, etc. The room can accommodate up to 3 adults, or 2 adults and older child comfortably for a short timeframe (week or so). There is a queen bed + futon. However I have an Aerobed that I set up for the 3rd guest that many have said is more comfortable than the futon. There is an additional charge of $35 per night for a third person (child or adult) in the room. Please, no overnight guests except those included in the reservation.

We request that you treat our home as if it were your own. The neighborhood is quiet and generally friendly and we look for visitors to be the same. We are a drug-free, pet-free, smoking-free home. We also don't host parties. If you have need to host a dinner or party, please let me know and I can make some suggestions. We will respect your privacy and property and request the same.

PARKING IS DIFFICULT IN THIS NEIGHBORHOOD. Because of it's popularity and walkability, it can be extremely had to find parking after say 9pm or so.

Also, please note that there is street sweeping in the area. There are signs that mark days and timeframes for street sweeping. If you are parked in a spot at the wrong day and time, you will most likely get a parking ticket. Take notice of these signs so that you don't receive an unexpected souvenir from your trip!

If you further questions about parking or anything else, please ask.

That's pretty much it!


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

109 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Bryce User Profile
August 2017
Cynthia went above and beyond in every regard of my stay. The home felt as if it were my own. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom refreshing. She even provided a breakfast with snacks and coffee in her kitchen. I'll definitely plan to stay at Cynthia's next time I'm in Oakland!

Torsten User Profile
August 2017
Cynthia's home is so nice and her kindnesses overwhelming! We loved to stay in her house!

Felipe User Profile
August 2017
I spent three nights at Cynthia's home with two friends. The house looked the same as on the photos. It was super clean and tidy. Also, Cynthia was such a great host, she made us feel very welcome and gave us many valuable advices and information. Surely I will come back.

Martin User Profile
July 2017
Very nice! Cynthia is great, her house is perfect.
Cynthia User ProfileCynthia is a superhost.
Response from Cynthia:
Martin you and Glory were wonderful guests. I really enjoyed meeting and chatting with you both. Thanks again for booking with me. Fun adventures and safe travels for wherever is next on your agenda!
July 2017

Daniel User Profile
July 2017
I'd definitely stay here again. Cynthia was very nice and welcoming. The bed was comfy. I appreciated her "airbnb" stand with coffee and snacks in one place. Lake Merritt is now my favorite neighborhood in Oakland.

Federico User Profile
July 2017
Excellent host. Cynthia's house is warm and welcoming, the room is tidy and comfortable, in a lovely quiet street near the lake. Highly recommended.

Karen User Profile
July 2017
This is a comfortable, clean, and friendly place to stay. Cynthia was a gracious hostess. Kitchen and bath were easily excessable. I could walk to the places I wanted to go. The house is a lovely updated Arts & Crafts. Safe neighborhood.

Oakland, California, United StatesJoined in July 2013
Cynthia User ProfileCynthia is a superhost.

So a little about your host, ME! I am a digital marketing consultant, elearning instructor, world traveller, casual gym visitor, writer, and lover of food and good times. I'm the rare California native so I know a lot about both parts of our lovely state. While I am not only an AirBnB host, but also a guest. I enjoy meeting people and hope to meet you when you arrive!

My general philosophy and practice is to enjoy each day that we have. I'm pretty laid back, and comfortable with exploring on my own or with friends. So no worries if you want your privacy, or want to share a laugh or a meal.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings