Skip to content
The Boat on the Hill has a sun deck.
This comfy cabin can accommodate four people.  There is a double bed and two single day beds, which can be converted to single beds.  It is not suitable for a travel cot.
Save this listing.

The Boat on the Hill

Emma User Profile

The Boat on the Hill

4 guests1 bedroom3 beds1 bath
4 guests
1 bedroom
3 beds
1 bath

Imagine a tree house, for pirates... but without a tree... on top of a hill.

This 1939 wooden sailing boat has been ruggedly converted into an adventurous escape for a couple or a family. If you like, you can pop up a tent or two next to it too (+£).


Free parking on premises

Sleeping arrangements

Bedroom 1
1 double bed, 2 single beds

House Rules

No smoking
Pets are allowed
Parties and events are allowed
Check-in time is 4PM - 8PM and check out out by 11AM


6 Reviews

Jules User Profile
August 2018
A fun, quirky, fabulously fun place, with everything you could want for a glamping time.
Katherine User Profile
July 2018
Myself and two friends stayed in the boat on the hill. It caught our eye because of its quirky nature, and it turned out to be the best girly holiday we’ve had together! The boat has real character, and suited us well. The beds were comfy and spacious, although it would also make…
Emma User Profile
Response from Emma:
What a fantastic group of girls. Thank you for your kind words and for truly "getting" the Boat. You rock! Come back again.
July 2018
Sam User Profile
September 2017
The host canceled this reservation the day before arrival. This is an automated posting.
Emma User Profile
August 2017
Beautiful location lots to do around the local area.
Juls User Profile
June 2017
Such lovely people who give you privacy and space but also open to whatever you need. Fantastic location and really beautiful job on the boat .
Emma User Profile
Response from Emma:
It is a great relief to us that you enjoyed your stay, we had been really anxious after our first AirBnB Boat on the Hill experience so we just want to say a big thank you for being such lovely people and renewing our faith!
June 2017
Bamber User Profile
August 2016
The host was very friendly and welcoming. The views and the setting are both very special. The accommodation felt unfinished and very poorly converted, there's nothing good quality about it. The interior of the boat was dirty and quite uncomfortable. It's a great idea but not ve…
Emma User Profile
Response from Emma:
Such a shame that you had such a terrible time and never mentioned a single issue about the catalogue of disasters that was your stay. If you had brought up one or any of these issues we would have leapt into action to improve things for you, to relocate you within the property or perhaps even found you somewhere locally. However, you did not. You said nothing. This is particularly strange given the length of your stay and the number of times we checked in with you. So when we showed you round, or perhaps when you passed us in the yard. Or when you came in for breakfast. Any or all of these times would have been appropriate. I also gave you my mobile number on arrival and said if you needed anything you must not hesitate and let us know.... you said nothing. Tim even said you must come and tell us immediately if the group noise disturbed you. You did not say a word. As you can see from our reviews we go to great lengths to ensure that people enjoy their stay with us and we will make sure that your feedback is turned into actions for the continual improving of our offering. This is not a travel lodge, this is our lives. We are dedicated to showing people the best of Devon and do our very best to make this happen. As we told you at check in, we lost Tim's Mum the week before your arrival and as I am sure the majority of people would understand, meant we were not on top form as hosts. This does not excuse us from controlling our dogs or our failures in boat vision, design and conversion, but it perhaps explains the broken communication in advance of your stay. If we had sent you photographs then would have seen the setup was not to your taste and gone elsewhere, to somewhere more in keeping with your preferences and expectations. So I hold my hands up and apologise for that. In all honestly, we have had 9 families staying in the boat over the summer and several have re-booked for longer stays next summer. It has been really popular so we thought the design and construction was working well. We didn't think it needed the wood-burner in August and are installing it this week. Once again thank you for your feedback. We will take it on board and make sure the dogs are kept under closer control. We will look at the boat layout and level of cleanliness. We will update our images and description to more accurately reflect the offering. Sorry that your family holiday was a hideous nightmare from start to finish. That is not what we set out achieve and not what is reflected in our reviews. All the best with your future holidays.
August 2016

This host has 61 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Hosted by Emma

Joined in July 2014
Emma User Profile
68 Reviews
I love living in North Devon. It is full of kind-hearted folk and wonderful scenery. I moved back here from the Big Smoke - London four years ago. One day, Maggie my dog looked at me as if to say the city just felt too small, so we jumped in my little red car and the rest is h…
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighborhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Things to do near this home