Experience the Aloha - B&B

Bed & Breakfast - Private room · Loke Pl, Pāhoa, HI 96778, United States

The Space

Come and experience the greenest, most beautiful part of Big Island - the east side!

Near the lava flow ( when flowing - check online for updates)

10 min walk to Kehena Beach (Black Sand Beach - clothing optional) - where you can swim with dolphins, watch whales breach (seasonally)

10 min bike ride to Kalani Honua Ocean Retreat for Yoga, Spa, Dance classes, Ecstatic Dance, etc

Near great snorkel spots, lava pools & natural, volcanic thermally heated hot spring swimming pool.

5 min drive to the best Saturday Farmer's Market - Space Market.

10 min drive to the colorful Wednesday night farmer's market at Uncle Roberts Kava Bar - great local music scene and open air craft and food market.

If you are coming to Big Island and are looking for a way to experience the real Aloha Spirit, come to the east side. Here, we wake up to the sounds of birds and go to bed with the wonderful songs of the coqui frogs.

We live a simple life and we love sharing the beauty of Big Island with all who feel called. This Island is called "The Healing Island" - many yoginis, people in search for meditation, communion with nature and peace come here to find that and much more.

We are lovers of healthy eating ( mostly raw) , organic gardening, community, NVC ( or compassionate communication), MKP ( Men Kind Project) - Women Within - YOGA, Meditation and adventure.

We do not ask that you share our values. We are only sharing so that you know what to expect. We welcome and respect all people from all walks in life.

We offer a:

A Spacious room with independent entrance in a safe and peaceful neighborhood .
A double/full size bed (not a queen bed) super comfortable - great pillows, cozy.

Garden view
Closet space.
A big desk for two
High speed wireless internet

A big private bathroom.
Clean SHARED shower and/or Outdoor shower.
Washer / Dryer
An open clean shared kitchen with a gorgeous view of the lava field.

If you wish to have breakfast served, please let us know ahead of time. We serve a simple yet delicious-all-organic breakfast - fresh fruit/yogurt, granola, fresh coconut water, and your choice of tea for $10 per person

PLEASE READ the house rules TAB for more info.

Looking forward to share our home and the beautiful Aina ( land ) of Hawa'ii with you... :0)

Aloha & Mahalo

Maria & Daniel

Interaction with Guests

We are both artists and we both work from home.

The Aloha room is downstairs, our living space is upstairs. The shared kitchen and shower are located upstairs as well.

We respect your privacy but please note we are home most days.

We are a family renting a room in our home, not a hotel. We strive to make all our guest welcome and make them feel the Aloha and energy of the Aina (land of Hawaii) - but we are far from perfection so please communicate right away if you need anything. We will do our best to accommodate you.

Getting around

Plenty of parking space.
No public transportation. Renting a car is a must.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 0
Beds: 1
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Weekly Price: $400 /week
Monthly Price: $850 /month
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Cat(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • It was a welcoming stay at a beautiful hous with friendly, interested hosts. We felt at home and also our littel son does.
    The room is clean and big with a separate entance by the yard.
    The area in Puna and Hilo is marvelous and the best place on the island in our opinion.
    Maria and Daniel gave us a lot of suggestions and tips for the area.

    We will definitively stay again at Maria and Daniel's hous if we are in Puna againe.

    March 2014
  • A wonderful location; quiet and relaxing. Clean, large and private room with sounds of ocean, frogs and birds. Maria and Daniel were a pleasure to get to know. They shared their knowledge of the area openly and also took the time to share and explain their passion for their incredible glass works studio. Fun and interesting to have a private tour of Daniel's very talented work.
    I had an overall very pleasant stay and I would definitely return.

    March 2014
  • We loved this accommodation almost as much as we loved our hosts. Maria and Daniel are genuinely great people, sincere, super friendly, social and helpful, but respectful of our privacy when needed as well. Since they both work from home, they were always around when we had questions :) We consider them friends!

    The accommodation itself, the Aloha Room, is exactly as described and pictured. The room is huge, double bed is comfortable, big closet, large table, bathroom across the hall, everything very very clean. The shared shower (upstairs) was not an inconvenience at all.

    Location is also superb, off the beaten path, very private, lively with the sounds of birds and frogs at night, fresh, awesome! Located very close to the coast, easy access to nice meandering coastal road as well as main roads/highway - a car is a must! Little town of Pahoa nearby, and 30-45 minutes into Hilo, less than 2hrs to the north/west coast beaches. Highly recommend this accommodation !

    February 2014
  • We had a lovely stay here. Beautiful house, beautiful views, Maria and Daniel were very nice, welcoming and informative. The area is oh so pretty and we had a great time from simply driving around, visiting the volcanoes, swimming at black sand beaches, watching Daniel sculpt his glass, picking up hitch hikers and generally just being blown away by the formation of the landscape. Thank you again Maria and Daniel for a lovely stay.

    February 2014
  • The reservation was canceled 6 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    February 2014
  • We spent there 3 nights.the location of the house is amazing,so quiet !the house itself is beautiful and big.maria and Daniel are friendly and quiet.the room you get is huge but..(website hidden) toaster or fridge.the queen bed was unfortunately uncomfortable and small for us so we didn't sleep a (website hidden)'s true you can share the kitchen but due to many rules we always felt like watched and it was uncomfortable.everything is clean though.there is a beautiful garden but no chairs outside to enjoy laying in the sun.the general impression is:everything is perfectly nice so please don't touch.such a room with an indipendent shower and a little kitchen would have been perfect.

    January 2014
    Maria
    Response from Maria:

    Aloha Cinzia,

    Thanks for your feedback.

    I'll address it as follows:

    1) Your statement about the room being empty.

    In the listing, we disclosed this very clearly: The room has a DOUBLE bed. Nowhere we offered a queen bed. It also says it has a big desk, a big closet and a couple of shelves. Nowhere we offered a fridge or toaster IN the room.THAT is what the pictures show as well. All these facts were disclosed to you before you came. Expecting other than what we clearly offered, it's unrealistic.

    2) Your statement about using the kitchen but not being comfortable because there were too many rules and you always fell watched:

    The only house rules for the kitchen were: a) Use of the kitchen is from 7:30am - 9:30pm (with some exceptions). You had 14 hours a day to use the kitchen on any given day. These are our house rules to make sure that our privacy is respected and to avoid too much noise during our sleep hours. b) Guests need to wash and dry their dishes: this is basic courtesy. We are sharing the space but our time is precious. We do not wash dishes for guests.

    In the listing, we also disclosed that we are artists that work from home, meaning we are home most of the time. If you felt watched because we were around, you should have read the listing better. Maybe what you needed was an apartment, not a room in a HOME.

    We are used to living in close community and sharing space with others, it's our pleasure. This is actually what most guests enjoy the most - talking story - sharing the ALOHA - meeting others.

    We share our HOME with guests at a reasonable rate - We are not NOT a Hotel. We offer a clean, safe, peaceful & very comfortable bed and space to come home to, after adventuring such a beautiful island.

    3) Your statement about - No chairs outside in the garden.

    Again, expecting other than what we clearly offered/described in the listing, it's unrealistic.

    There is BIG grassy area right at the guest front door. Normally people put towels on the grass and sit to enjoy snacks, etc. picnic style. Simple island lifestyle.

    4) You said: Everything is perfectly so nice so please do not touch:

    We are sorry you judged that. Our home is far from perfection. We are very open to sharing with others. This is one of the reasons we rent a space in our home. We love sharing and we love community.

    Overall, we understand that you expected much more than what is described in the listing and pictures. Our suggestion is that you READ very WELL the listings and see the pictures BEFORE you make a reservation. Expect what you READ, not more than that.

    Blessings on your next journeys and Mahalo Nui Loa for your visit.

    Maria & Daniel

  • Maria and Daniel are very congenial hosts. Bernie and I really enjoyed the location, the ease of access, the large room, comfortable bed, and most of all the sharing of experiences and time with Maria and Daniel. Maria was kind enough to share her culinary skills, gave samples, and share her sources of inspiration with us. She also is a talented photographer, and gardener.
    Daniel shared his knowledge and skills of glass crafting. I really felt the power of nature was captured in his sculptures. Daniel was also kind enough to share with us a few beautiful spots we had never been to.
    The peace and tranquility of the B&B was enhanced by the holistic nature of how Maria and Daniel live. It was our pleasure to have shared two nights with them.
    Thank-you for the wonderful stay and the new knowledge, and new experiences.
    Gail and Bernie

    November 2012
  • Room was clean and looked exactly like the photo. The garden was beautiful. Maria and Daniel were super friendly hosts who had great recommendations for us in terms of hidden gems to visit. We had a wonderful time and think that this area of Big Island is the most beautiful and least touristy.

    August 2012
  • Gorgeous cedar-scented house in a very special corner of the Big Island.

    April 2012
  • This is an amazing place in a beautiful home. Very spacious, clean, and lots of natural materials. It is very close to lots of great places like a lovely black sand beach with clear water and dolphins. Maria is also an excellent massage therapist. I got a massage from her that helped me tremendously. She was able to feel exactly what I needed in the massage.

    April 2012
Per Month
From
$65
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 150 times
Languages
English, Español
About
Aloha there! Thanks for checking us out! Our names are Maria & Daniel and we live in the best part of Hawaii, the lush, alive, peaceful and awesome EAST side of the island! Maria is from Venezuela. She is Massage Therapist, she is crazy about nutrition (knows a lot! ), a photographer, painter, dancer, web site designer, gardener and much more. Daniel is one of the most talented glass artist on the island. Super creative, super warm kind of a guy. Together we make the best team! We have 2 very independent cats at home. We love animals. Please read our listing - if you feel inspired, make your reservation. We look forward to welcoming you ! :) If you have any questions, please let us know.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
3 weeks ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings