Cosy sitting room with open fire.
Warm, friendly home-away-from-home/Erasmus welcome
Warm, friendly home-away-from-home/Erasmus welcome

Private room

1 guest

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
1 guest maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

GAEILGE AGUS FÁILTE! Leafy, quiet area on the doorway to Conamara. Regarding value for money, this clean and comfortable single room is less expensive than a dorm in a hostel! "A real home with real people!" Free parking. Buses run until midnight.

The space

This price is for one person in a single bedroom in our bright, comfortable house. You will share a bathroom/shower with max two other people, but you have priority over it in the morning. There is an extra WC. The price includes breakfast (cereal/juice/tea/coffee/toast). We also have a double room with ensuite WC/shower for two people in another listing. (Children are welcome for free)

***Please email at least 24 hours before your intended arrival date. Thank you!***

Potential guests who have no references on this site are asked to give me some information about themselves like surname/university/town before I can accept a booking, for safety reasons. Thank you.

The house is a 10-minute drive (with no traffic) into Galway city. Or a 20-minute bus journey. A taxi costs €10. There are buses every 20 minutes (€1.90). It is a 35-minute walk to the centre.

The price is comparable to sharing a dorm in a youth hostel. It is perfect for people with a car as there is free parking, or for people who don't mind taking buses or walking.

Check-in (to your bedroom) is from 2pm (but you can check in to the house before that and leave your luggage/use bathroom etc, by prior arrangement). Check-out of bedroom 12 noon, and check-out of house is flexible.

Real coffee and real olive oil! :-)

We are a musical and artistic family who love hosting people and making your stay in Galway and Connemara as local an experience as possible. We can show you lots of cultural insider treats you would not find in guide books. We have one young child who is very visitor-friendly (very considerate and well house-trained :-)

We are located within a 15-minute walk of Salthill, with its lovely promenade and little beaches, fine restaurants, pubs and even some good music. We are a 10-minute bus ride to the "city" centre (town is more like it). Tell us what your interests are and we'll point you in the right direction. The house is on a quiet street tucked away from the main roads. No stunning scenery from the windows though!

We are on 4 bus lines which will bring you to the town centre, via the university. You can get to Galway city by train or by bus. There are buses/day trips from Galway to different parts of Conamara and the Islands. More details of best fares etc. by email.

What makes our place unique is that we love to host people, and we love to share our culture with people. If we are free we will bring you to see some cultural gems. Apart from Galway city, we have also lived in Conamara, and can give you invaluable hints if you plan to tour Conamara and/or the islands.

And we have no TV! But we do have an open fireplace and some stories to share around it!

If I am free while you're here, I can act as your personal tour guide, bringing you on a hiking trip to Conamara National Park or other destinations. All you need to pay are the expenses.

We have hosted guests from more than 8 countries using another service provider, and have positive feedback from all of them. We have rented rooms to long-term guests from 5 different countries, again all happy campers! This is our first time renting a room to short-term guests. We would prefer bookings of more than one night. Children are welcome at no extra cost.

We can also recommend accommodation in a unique, rustic environment in the heart of Conamara, in an area perfect for swimming, hiking, fishing, kayaking, cycling. Kayaks available.

Check-in (to your bedroom) is from 2pm (but you can check in to the house before that and leave your luggage/use bathroom etc, by prior arrangement). Check-out of bedroom 12 noon, and check-out of house is flexible.

***Please email at least 24 hours before your arrival date. Thank you!***

Guest access

Guests have access to the whole house, excepting private bedrooms. The house is not pristine, but rather has the "lived-in" look. Your bedroom and bathroom are spotless.

Interaction with guests

Very much or little, depending on the circumstances.

Other things to note

This is not the place to stay if you want to be out late and walk home. It is a 40-minute walk from the "city" centre, and a taxi costs around €10. Cladagh cabs have set prices. It is an excellent place to stay if you want a very good night's sleep, in a (according to my guests) 'very' comfortable bed. PLEASE consider this BEFORE you book, and BEFORE you leave a review. I cannot move my house (wouldn't want to), - I can only describe where it is.

The space
Accommodates: 1
Bathrooms: 1.5
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 2PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Private room

Free parking on premises
Wireless Internet

Weekly Discount: 5%
Weekend Price $31 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 2PM

Respect other guests and the owners, take off your shoes, clean up after yourself. Please no mobile phones or tablets/laptops during shared meals in the kitchen/dining area. Please remove your shoes when entering the house. This keeps the house clean, but also lets us know who is in and who's out. (I love to play loud music when no-one is trying to sleep or relax :-) ). Guests who are staying more than 2 nights may use cooking facilities for a fee of €3, at *pre-arranged* times, and laundry facilities, at *pre-arranged* times for a fee of €5 (washer and dryer). I will take a photocopy of your passport on check-in. Visitors are free to use our sitting room and dining area. No smoking in the house (not even through an open window). Thank you for respecting our haven and our other guests. :-)


14 nights minimum stay

50 Reviews

Check In
Denisa User Profile
February 2017
Bríd's house is very friendly and cozy, you have everything you need there. Bríd makes you feel welcomed and she'll always tell you where you can find various places of interest (shops, restaurants, walking areas, bus stops, etc.). The house is close to a bus stop which takes you to the city centre (I've also taken a walk to city centre during sunny days, it took me about 20-25 minutes to get there), very close (10 minute walk) to the ocean promenade, 5 minute walk to a shopping centre.

Jack User Profile
August 2016
I really enjoyed my stay at Bríd's house. It's clean, tidy & has a great vibe about it. The breakfast has everything you need & if you're lucky Bríd will put on some music from her collection for you, thanks again for that. The house is a short walk to various bus stops and you can be in the town within 15 minutes. Thanks again for everything!

Carly User Profile
July 2016
Brid is basically the best host you can ask for. She was always available for advice about getting around in Ireland or just for good conversation, but she was great about letting me do my own thing as well. Brid speaks Irish, as does her son Oisin, which is a real treat for someone looking to dive into the culture. The house is well situated to walk to the gorgeous Salthill beach (10 minutes) on one side and into town (about 45 minutes, depending on which route you take) on the other. The area is full of families and bus service is very close. I stayed here for 2 and a half months and don't have one complaint! Thank you Brid and Oisin!

Camilla User Profile
January 2016
Staying at Brid was just lovely. The house has such a cozy, family feel. Brid is interesting, well travelled, kind and open person that welcomed my into her home, shared much great music, even helped us make a hitch hiking sign to get out to (URL HIDDEN) was a perfect start to my time in Ireland. The room is great, and the house is very close to the bus stop and on a nice day, a nice walk into the the center.
Bríd User Profile
Response from Bríd:
Thanks so much Camilla. I really enjoyed your stay with us. Bon voyage and let me know how your project turns out!
January 2016

Rachel User Profile
January 2016
Bríd is an amazing host. I arrived in the midst of a storm and she fed me and put me in front of the fire - it was so cosy. She has a lovely home and sweet kid - the whole experience was so warm and homely. The room itself was very comfortable and warm (she provided two blankets, and there's a heater as well). Breakfast was provided - I was so impressed. I loved the area - it's close to town but quiet and safe. Close to the sea and great for walks. Highly recommend, and I really hope to stay with Bríd the next time I visit Galway.

Beth User Profile
December 2015

Dan User Profile
December 2015
Very warm and welcoming, easy going and fun stay.

This host has 54 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Galway, IrelandJoined in July 2013
Bríd User Profile

I am a translator and language teacher and also a musician. I love music, dancing and sharing stories. I have traveled widely and lived in 6 countries. I love to get the local experience when I travel, and that's what is special about staying in my home - you will get to meet the locals when you stay with us!

Languages: Deutsch, English, Español, Français
Response rate: 50%
Response time: within a day

The neighborhood

Similar listings