Modern Escape, Russian River Sonoma

House - Entire home/apt · Wright Lane, Guerneville, CA 95446, United States
Nalini

A modern retreat close to the Russian River and wine country. Watch this video on Guerneville
(website hidden)(phone number hidden)-eye-on-the-bay-russian-river-gourmet-getaway-pt-1/

Your host, Nalini
11 Reviews
Response rate: 88%
Response time: within a day

A modern retreat close to the Russian River and wine country. Watch this video on Guerneville
(website hidden)(phone number hidden)-eye-on-the-bay-russian-river-gourmet-getaway-pt-1/

The Space

Pool / Luxury / Spa / WiFi ~ Modern Escape is a custom luxury home centrally located in the Russian River Valley. Modern Escape is a perfect choice for a couple visiting the redwood forests, Sonoma County wineries, and the Russian River. This home was designed and built under the direction of its owners and their superb taste and attention to detail shows in every room. From the Heath ceramic tile (hand-made in Sausalito) gas fireplace to the custom tile walk-in shower, Modern Escape is truly a work of art. Not only is Modern Escape superbly designed, it is also superbly comfortable. The gourmet kitchen is fully outfitted, the bed has a top-of-the line mattress and linens, the bathroom have heated slate floors, the electronics are state-of-the-art and the open floor plan and stylish furnishings are relaxed, yet elite. The same attention has been lovingly paid to the exterior spaces. The main deck is furnished for dining and relaxing. The private 3 person spa sits level with the deck. Below the main deck and next to the driveway, are the pool and pool decks, which are furnished with lounge chairs, tables and umbrellas. Around the side of the property, stone stairs lead up a landscaped path to an outdoor rain shower. Surrounding the property is a privacy fence, lush vegetation and tall redwood trees. Modern Escape is a world away, yet less than a ½ mile to the Russian River and less than a mile to downtown Guerneville.
Unit Notes:
Main Bedroom: En suite bath, Queen size bed
2nd Bedroom: Full size bed and separate bath
Heat Source: Gas Fireplace, Slate Floor Heating in the Bathrooms
LOCATION: In a Guerneville neighborhood, 0.3 mile from river access and 0.8 mile from downtown Guerneville (a 5-7 minute walk into downtown Guerneville over the historic bridge). There are neighboring homes, but the property is very private due to the natural slope of the hill and surrounding greenery. SOME NEARBY WINERIES: Korbel: 8 minute drive/3.7 miles; Gary Farrell: 15 minute drive/8 miles; Iron Horse: 20 minute drive/9.7 miles; Hartford Family Winery: 15 minute drive/7.6 mile. Porter-Bass (by appointment only): 9 minute drive/3.7 miles. Westside and Olivet Roads are a 15 minute and 20 minute drive, respectively.
POOL: The pool is available May through September.
Rental Restrictions: Seasonal Unit-Available May-September only. 2 night minimum October - most of May (excludes some holidays). 3 night minimum Memorial Day Weekend - September. Four Night Minimum July and August. Week Minimum the first week in July and the first week in August. All specials exclude holidays and must be mentioned at the time of reservation. Read our House Rules Info for more information on our policies, including rates and night minimums for holidays.
Please note that the main house is located on top of a short flight of stairs.

Check-In: after 4pm
Check-Out: 12:00pm

The Neighborhood

About the area on CBS news: eye-on-the-bay-russian-river-gourmet-getaway-pt-1/

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 2
Beds: 2
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $2400 /week
Monthly Price: $9000 /month
Security Deposit: $500
Cleaning Fee: $150
Check In: 4:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • The reservation was canceled 78 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    June 2014
  • This is a GORGEOUS place to stay! The house is lovely and so comfortable inside and out, the pool & hot tub are terrific, the landscaping and towering pines are beautiful and you really feel like you're miles from anyone else -- but it's a just quick walk to the tasty restaurants downtown or the river itself. Highly recommended.

    Note that the second bedroom has a full-sized bed, not a queen.

    May 2014
  • Definitely a hidden gem. Cool, modern, well-maintained, perfect for a getaway. Walking distance to downtown restaurants was definitely a plus.

    May 2014
  • Fantastic, just fantastic. Looks even better in person. The care, investment, attention to detail and eye for beauty are evident everywhere on this magnificent property.

    April 2014
    Nalini
    Response from Nalini:

    Adrian was a terrific guest. He respected our house rules and kept the place well. I would highly recommend him as a guest and would welcome him back anytime.

    April 2014
  • The house was simply amazing!! Gorgeous design, clean lines, high ceilings, tremendous light and a great Jacuzzi. There were great instructions that made everything easy to use, even labeled light switches. (I'm gonna steal that idea for my rentals) Both hosts were sweet and easy to deal with. This is a great vacation spot right next to the Russian river.

    April 2014
  • We had a great stay at Modern Escape over New Years. Everything was just as we had hoped to ensure a comfortable, cozy (but adventurous) New Years Eve under the stars!
    Nalini was available to assist with a couple of questions to ensure everything was enjoyable.

    We look forward to visiting again soon.
    Thank you!
    Jeremy

    January 2014
  • This home is stunning. It's modern with fluid indoor outdoor space. There is a wall of windows that just folds and opens up to the deck with a grill and hot tub. Even though there are other homes nearby, because of the elevation and positioning, all you see are trees. It feels very private and serene. There are beautiful finishes - heath tiles around fireplace and in bathrooms, grohe faucets and rain shower head, chefs kitchen with wine fridge. There is a great pool - large enough for laps. We didn't even have a chance to turn on the TV but there was a large flat screen and I'm sure anything you would need to stay entertained. I loved the memory foam mattress in the master. Both bedrooms have shades so it can stay quite dark for sleeping in. The house is 5 minutes to town (if even) where there is Safeway, gas and great spots to eat / get nice coffee - like boon, biscuits place (name escapes me...big bottom?). It is also less than 1 mile from Applewood Inn (Michelin star) and less than 5 minutes from Armstrong redwood forest.

    The only hiccups during our experience was before arrival, we were told the pool would not be available due to leak but she got it fixed prior to our arrival because that was one of the features that was important to us. We arrived at night so learned the entrance to the house is actually upstairs and the lock is quirky. She had an instruction sheet that once we found, everything made sense.

    Overall, we had a great experience and would return.

    October 2013
  • I'm not one to write a negative review, in fact I don't believe I ever have.

    My boyfriend and I decided to rent it for our anniversary weekend. Our first concern was raised when Nalini mentioned there would be a gardener coming at 9 in the morning on Sunday. This wasn't mentioned in the listing, and we found it to be quite disruptive. I would have assumed for the money spent we could expect complete privacy. The gardener also was an hour late, so we really had a couple hours in the morning where we postponed our activities to wait for the gardener to finish.
    The next weekend was Labor Day, so I decided to book the spot again. I asked her nicely if it was possible to not have the gardener come the next weekend. She not only insisted that he come, she started to question my intentions for staying. She reiterated her house rules and asked a few VERY odd questions, one being "will you be filming at my house?". I assured her that we weren't planning on breaking any house rules, and no, no filming (where this came from, or what this means, I have NO idea). This didn't make me feel welcome.

    We showed up the next weekend to find that the pool wasn't heated upon arrival (contrary to listing). There goes that idea. But perhaps a bigger shock was the grill that was there the previous weekend was now gone. We had grocery bags full of veggies - her house is Vegetarian. Pool out, grill out. We also found that the towels from the weekend before were still in the washer, and the dishes were still in the dishwasher. I had paid a cleaning fee. There were three of us there, less than the capacity the house states. We ended up leaving earlier than we planned, bummed out by the inaccuracy of the listing. Was going to chalk it up to a bitter experience and let it go, but it didn't stop there. I came to find out a few days later that one of the towels had a stain on it. She charged me $150 for the towel. I had stayed at her place twice, she hadn't provided us guests the experience she advertised and then keeps money for a dirty towel? When I explained $50 would be more than enough if she needs to replace a towel, she came back with a very nasty email. She said I had left jewelry at her place the previous weekend and was lucky she didn't "trash" it. She said it was clear we had a party (we had not). We had a very quiet evening.

    This experience left me wondering why she rents her house out. Her behavior really had an impact on my stay in a very negative way. I have had more interaction with her than I have with my own landlord of 2 years. It was a waste of a beautiful spot.

    August 2013
    Nalini
    Response from Nalini:

    This is one of those rare bad experiences in renting your private home to unknown guests when someone blatantly lies to you, breaks your trust and doesn't adhere to the house rules. Kim came in the 1st weekend with her boyfriend and I found out from our gardner/caretaker that she had brought a dog with her despite our no pet policy which she was clearly aware of. When she said she wanted to rent our place again the following weekend, I spoke to her to make sure this wouldn't happen again. She assured me it wouldn't. However, she then emailed me repeatedly to ask that our gardner/caretaker not come around during her second stay. Our gardner is extremely unobtrusive and spends just minutes on the property taking care of the plants and the fact that she was so insistent raised a red flag for me. Property management is part of any country home and not to have someone care for it for 3 days is out of the question. After her second stay, once she and her friends had left, our towels (not just one) were ruined with blood stains and one of the bedroom walls was stained with dirt/water marks. I really don't want to know what they did in the house but they
    clearly have no respect for house rules or maintaing any decorum. I found Kim to be demanding, unreasonable and disrespectful and would definitely not recommend her as a guest.

    August 2013
  • The home is basically brand new and absolutely beautiful. The hot tub and pool look like they have never been used and the location was ideal. Me, my wife, and our 8 month old daughter spent the weekend here and cannot wait to come back. The home is perfect for a small family or two couples. Nalini was easy to get a hold of when we had a question about the pool she answered us right away. Guernville has some great restaurants now (Boon and The Market) and the river was a lot of fun. Thanks for letting us stay in your home, Nalini! Hopefully you will have us back soon!

    August 2013
  • The reservation was canceled 19 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    August 2013
Per Month
From
$375
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 282 times
School
Carmel Convent, Sardar Patel Vidyalaya, Jesus And Mary College
Work
Route To India: Art Of Ayurveda & Vegetarian Cooking, The Art of Living
About
Please check my website RouteToInida ((website hidden))
View full profile
Response Rate
88%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
yesterday
Similar Listings