Large bedroom, walk to UN,Times Sq.

Apartment - Private room · East 35th Street, New York, NY 10016, United States

The Space

Midtown East of Manhattan; large and sunny room. There is one kitchen and one bathroom (shared with two hosts or possibly two other guests who will stay in the other room);

*** There are two rooms in the apartment -
this room is for up to 3 people,
and the other room is for up to 2 people,
so if you have 4 or 5 people you would have to book both rooms, and you will have the entire apartment to yourselves.***

Apartment is centrally located - steps from the subway and bus, about 10-15 minute walk to Grand Central, Times Square or Madison Square, and about 5 minutes to the United Nations (email hidden)rtan's Park is steps away.
There are tons of restaurants, bars, shopping, and tourist attractions in walking distance.

It's a 3rd floor walk-up - no elevator. There is a full kitchen with new appliances, stocked with supplies.

Your bedroom is fully furnished and has a very large bed and another twin bed. The apartment has TV (in the room), free WiFi, and just about everything a normal household has. Fresh linens and towels will be provided.
The size of this room is 175 square feet.
There is another room in the apartment, for up to 2 people, which means you might have two roommates if the room is booked.

Guest Access

Private locked bedroom, shared kitchen, shared bathroom;
free wi-fi, AC/heat, hot water, electricity, antenna TV, everything in kitchen, coffee/etc., shampoos/etc.

Interaction with Guests

Emails normally,
and phone calls in an emergency

The Neighborhood

The apartment is located in Midtown East of Manhattan, between a major hospital and the United Nations. Because of the location there is a 24/7 police presence in the area and many businesses are opened until very late. Guests can walk almost everywhere, or take a conveniently located nearby public transport.

Getting around

Busses going to Uptown, Downtown, crosstown are next to the building, and a subway stop is nearby, too.

Room type: Private room
Accommodates: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Extra people: $10 / night after 2 guests
Weekly Price: $670 /week
Monthly Price: $2000 /month
Security Deposit: $200
Cleaning Fee: $35
Check In: 1:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Michael and Lia were great hosts! I didn't get to meet Michael but he was very helpful when answering my questions prior to our stay. Lia gave us great advice when we arrived. I highly recommend this place. It was very easy to get around the city from the location and I felt very safe! The place was also very clean and tidy. I will definitely be booking it again eventually!

    April 2014
  • We had a great experience with this place. Huge bed and very close to where we needed to go.

    March 2014
  • Lia ins very kind!. the place was very clean and is located in a very central place!

    March 2014
  • In general we are satisfied with this room. You have everything you need basically to stay for a couple of weeks (bathroon, well equipped kitchen, bedroom, desk, fridge, wifi, tv, etc). When I arrived Lia was so helpful that she told me some tips about the neighborhood, the city in general, public transport and she reccomended places to eat and shop. I was in the room with two other friends, and although the beds were sooooo comfortable it gets a little packed in there with all the luggage. Besides, as we were in freezing winter, the room was not warm enough in our opinion. The bathroom was fine, but at times a tube in there made very strong and strange noises that at night it makes it difficult to sleep. The cleaning day Lia did everything except the bathroom, because "she couldn't find her gloves", so it was quite dirty for over a week. As regards location... you can come and go on foot to Times Square but in winter you think it twice.. you want to take the public transport although it's only 15 blocks away. And the apartment is 4 long blocks away from the metro. You can take the bus but in weekdays there are so many cars in the street that it takes you 15 minutes to make 2 blocks. In spite of this, the neighborhood is nice, you have 24/7 places to eat next to the apartment, and you can come and go at any time.

    March 2014
    Michael
    Response from Michael:

    The guest forgot to inform about out rules his other party that arrived later, and that person broke our MAIN rule. Nahuel then lied to us that they didn't. The guest was instructed to contact us about any issues and we never heard about the room not being warm enough, yet he still companied about t in his feedback about us. The guest was offered 2 complimentary (=FREE!!!) cleanings even though we didn't have to do it, and he complained about it not being done to his satisfaction. The guests had gum stuck to our new fluffy throw (impossible to remove). We STILL did't say anything and refunded his deposit in full.

    We are really thinking to make our guest selection process much stricter, with age range that rules out immature crowd.

    March 2014
  • Great location, hosts were helpful!

    December 2013
  • Chambre bien pour 3 personnes pour une semaine. Bien situé, à environ 10 minutes de marche du métro, et une quinzaine de minutes de la 5ème avenue. La chambre donnant sur la première avenue, elle était peut être un peu bruyante, mais supportable (sûrement le cas dans tout manhattan).
    Seul point à regretter, le chauffage ne fonctionnait pas alors qu'il y avait une grosse chute des températures...

    Michael et Lia ont toujours été disponibles, par mail et par téléphone et nous ont donné toutes les informations utiles à savoir.

    Idéal pour jeunes touristes !

    December 2013
  • Michael and Lia were very friendly and communicative, we received a warm welcome when we arrived but the room we stayed in was not the one shown in the picture. It was a lot older, and definitely not as nice as the picture. Quite disappointing and in my opinion, dishonest. When asked about it he said "We know about this problem and will resolve it as soon as we can". Other than that the location is convenient (close to a main bus route) but very noisy (construction site across the road) and not the prettiest part of town.

    October 2013
  • Pre-Stay: Not only was Michael prompt but was very helpful suggesting ways for me to reach his place from the airport and ensuring that the place is available when I reach. The email that I got 2 days before was very direct and mentioned how we should be quiet in the hall way, which was understandable. Maybe the tone could be changed a little to make it more polite and less intimidating.

    Post-Stay: I got to stay in the room which had 2 beds and a big enough desk with enough storage place. The pictures were nothing like it though. Location is good.

    October 2013
  • A fantastic stay! We shared the 2 bedroom/1 bathroom apartment with two other couples over a 4 day period. The address was not the same as the one we had booked previously but we were informed of change of address before arrival. The room we had was spacious and had a TV, Wifi, a huge bed that was very comfortable, desk and chair and sofa. The apartment was tidy and had everything we needed. The kitchen was fully equipped. Due to arriving around midnight Michael was kind enough to send us the keys to the apartment a week before arrival.Each time I called Michaels number his partner was very helpful in tending to my questions. The location was good and about a 10min walk to nearest subway station. I would highly recommend staying here as it is great value for money and a tidy, comfortable stay.

    September 2013
  • Michael and his wife were very helpful getting everything set up. No complaints at all. The room was spacious and had a big bed, couch, fan, and A/C. We had full use of the kitchen and shower and Michael's wife was very helpful. Great location! I would highly recommend this listing to anyone wishing to say in a great location at a reasonable price.

    September 2013
Per Month
From
$100
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 109 times
School
365, University of Michigan
About
Hi! We are Michael and Lia. We are new hosts on here, and we are very excited! We love meeting people from all over the world!
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
yesterday

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings