The spectacular view from the windowsThe apartment' street
Pantheon view apt with frescoes
Hosted by Paolo
Paolo is the host.
6 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath
6 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

The space

This unique apartment is set into the XVI century Palazzo where Thomas Mann used to live. It is called Palazzo dell'Annunziata and was designed by a famous architect. In the master bedroom there is an antique indian king size painted bed, contemporary art, a queen size sofa bed and original renaissance frescoes, marbles and precious wooden ceilings. An original XVI century cotto pavement covers all the surface of the master bedroom. In the second room there is a table with chairs and a queen size sofa bed. The apartment has all amenities: air conditioning, wifi, washing machine, heating system. It is set on the second floor and two of the windows overlook the Pantheon. This perfect location and the old roman charming atmosphere will make your vacation in the city unforgettable.
Important notice: Double glazed windows have now been installed, in order to reduce considerably the noise from the street.


Amenities
Internet
Elevator

Prices
Extra people $12 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee $36
Security Deposit $364
Weekly Discount: 8%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed, 1 sofa bed
Bedroom 2
1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events

Cancellations

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

107 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Allston User Profile
August 2017
Location, location, location! Wow. Leaning out the bedroom window, look left, and BAM, there's the Pantheon! A short walk over to the Trevi Fountain, then up to the Spanish Steps, or down to the Forum to explore the ruins. Great restaurants right on the Pantheon square, with rotating live musicians. Taxi stand right next to the Pantheon (very convenient). The apartment is even bigger than the photos let on, with towering ceilings-- incredibly spacious, with real historic character. I will agree with other reviewers that the kitchen and bathroom are small, outdated, and secondary (the main rooms really steal the show and make the rental totally worth it). We didn't come to Rome to spend our time in the kitchen or the bathroom anyway. We came to explore. The only downside to the location is that the proximity to the Pantheon square means that street life can be a bit noisy up until midnight (music, laughing, shouting, conversations of people walking by), but with the windows and shutters closed, we slept fine. There was also early morning street noise (garbage trucks or perhaps some kind of construction in a nearby building), but again, that's common for being in the heart of such an active city, and my son slept through it all. We had one moment of panic when our key would not open the apartment door, but we figured out that the trick is to lift up on the door handle, and it opened smoothly. This is really an amazing space. I would heartily recommend it. The wood-beamed ceilings, terra cotta herringbone floor, Italian frescoes in the bedroom, spaciousness, and proximity to the Pantheon, made us very happy. At night, we grabbed gelato on the corner and watched an opera tenor perform in the square. Magical. Thank you for such an offering, Paolo!

Ben User Profile
July 2017
This place is amazing. Pictures do not do it justice.

Katherine User Profile
July 2017
AMAZING place! We stayed for 2 nights, and it was the perfect location and size for our group. The apartment has extremely high ceilings and frescos on the walls as described, which really made this a unique experience. It was very clean for us when we arrived, and we had no issues while we were there. You can open the large windows of the apartment, and see the Pantheon. I would highly recommend this apartment for a short stay in Rome, and given the opportunity I would definitely stay at the apartment again!

Scott User Profile
June 2017
Paolo's place was great, location can't be beat. This was the first time some of my family members had left the USA and they like amenities, Paolo's place suited them very well. I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Laura User Profile
June 2017
I lived in this place for a month while working in Rome and have a strong sense of its good and not so good qualities. Good: (1) Paolo (and the other contact Carmine) were pleasant and attentive. (2) They supplied me with beautifully laundered sheets and towels each week, which was a welcome treat. (3) The main fresco room is spectacular and the other main room also has impressively high ceilings. (4) The apartment shares its ancient building with a major tourist restaurant--the good consequence of this is that all the systems work well--hot water, water pressure, strong electricity. (5) The location is central and thus convenient (although a 15 minutes walk to the nearest metro stop). (6) The place contains really interesting art and some lovely, impressive antiques. Not so Good: (1) The bathroom is accurately depicted in the pictures. It is very small, with few amenities. (The toilet/sink room is a typical wet room--entire room gets wet when someone takes a shower). It is also poorly maintained. Curtains were dirty. The soil pipe from the bidet was completely corroded. (2) The kitchen is accurately depicted as well, as it is truly a closet with a hotplate and fridge. The only counter space is an extremely warped butcher block. (3) True to his word, Paolo made special efforts to put double glazed glass into those windows facing the Pantheon. I very much appreciated that. But the windows are old and the sound still came in around the window frames. This interrupts sleep--crowds, buskers, and several crashing bottle dumps in the morning. (The upside of this is that some of the buskers are generally good and provide free entertainment). It is an honor to stay in an ancient place in Rome. This place ranks along with the many glorious apartments available. In fact, this particular apartment was once used by the world famous architect Zahav Hadid, as an office. I think her architectural sense of space accurately perceived that this is best an office and not an optimum place to call home. But if one is visiting for a short time, it can provide some good experiences and certainly some bragging rights. Proceed with caution, however.

Oswald User Profile
May 2017
Host Paolo accused us of all kinds of things: breaking furniture, having additional people over, smoking in the apartment and wanted to charge extra 255 Euros after we departed. All of that wasn't true. He is rude in communicating with guests and he did not inform us that there was a construction site right in front of the apartment starting everyday at 6am which was terrible. No surprise that there is no picture of the bathroom since the shower and the toilet are almost the same - gross. Good location, nice main space but not worth all the problems! BE AWARE OF THIS PLACE!
Paolo User Profile
Response from Paolo:
Beware of this young guy! He and his friends seriously damaged a piece of furniture trying to open closed drawers, smoked in the apartment and now this guy says I made up everything. Why should I? I have been an host for ten years now and I never ask to be refunded for a damage without a good reason. This kind of people should not be allowed to rent apartments on Airbnb! To respond to this review I have to say that I cannot stop construction works in the street and I cannot be held responsible for them. If I didn't advise it was because I was not aware of them. The bathroom is exactly as shown in the pictures and everyone can see it's not big.
May 2017

Joan User Profile
May 2017
Definitely book if available! Paolo's place is in the heart of the city and you can walk to all the must-see spots in Rome from the apartment in 5-30 mins. Restaurants, money exchange, souvenir shops, and convenience stores also close by. Furthermore, you can view the Pantheon from your window and hear the lovely live music played outside throughout the day if you leave the windows open. The space is huge and easily fits 6 people. Kitchen had the basic amenities and bathroom included soap and shampoos/conditioners as well. Washing machine is also available for laundry. The only thing is the bathroom is small and the toilet and shower share the same space so the floor and toilet both get wet when you shower, so definitey prepare bathroom slippers when you go. Overall, I would highly recommend the apartment! (And there's a great gelato spot right across that's open late!)

This host has 1060 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Rome, ItalyJoined in December 2011
Paolo User Profile

Hi I'm Paolo, I work as a vacation rentals manager and I deal with art occasionally

Languages: English, Español, Français, Italiano
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings