Kostas

Pagrati Apartm. Athens BabyFriendly

Entire home/apt
3 Guests
1 Bedroom
2 Beds
$532
Per Night
Per Month
Subtotal Total
Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

This property is unavailable.

View Other Listings
Report this listing
You have reported this listing. Undo?
This host offers flexible cancellation: Full refund 1 day prior to arrival, except service fee.

About This Listing

Located in a very quiet neighbourhood and yet very close to the cosmopolitan side of the Pagrati region, as well as downtown Athens and the major attractions, this apartment is a great place to begin your exploration of the city life and monuments.

Contact Host

Pagrati Apartm. Athens BabyFriendly

The Space
Property type: Apartment
Accommodates: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 2

Amenities

Prices
Monthly Price: $532 /month
Cancellation: Strict

Description

House Rules

Availability
29 nights minimum stay
Pagrati Apartm. Athens BabyFriendly

46 Reviews

Summary
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
From San Francisco, CA · March 2015

From Volgograd, Russia · September 2014
Kostas
Response from Kostas:

I never respond to reviews. This is the 66th review here on airbnb and the first time I ever respond. This is because I believe you has been unfair. There are a lot of cultural and personal value judgements always involved in our perceptions, so I understand your point of view until a certain point.

However, unlike your other airbnb travels in central apartments of major European capitals (with prices 2 and 3 times higher let it be noted!), Athens is somewhat different indeed.

For example, the hot water heaters is a very common thing in all of Greece. Very few houses will have a 24hr boiler here, mostly high class dwellings, or some large and modern apartment buildings, but even these don't always have this facility.

Also, the 'noisy neighbours' or 'music playing outside' is hardly avoidable in the centre of Athens. I've lived for more than 16 years in Athens and I can assure you it is very difficult to find a place that is more quiet than this one and so close to the heart of the city. The fact that you don't hear cars from the bedroom because we are on a very small street is already a good hint (Athens centre has very high car noise pollution). Your comment that "You sometimes feel like you live in a personal cottage or something" already points in this direction. That being said, yes, it is a residential area, and maybe Greeks tend to be a little louder at times in relation to other (mostly western) European standards. It should be noted that I have never received a complaint about noise before.

The public 'transportation/location' you say is not very convenient, yet you don't provide any justification for this at all. The area is probably amongst the most well served by public transport. There are 3 trolleys and 4 buses nearby, one of them (the 11) being one of the few 24hr buses available in Athens. Specifically, the distance to trolley 4 which takes you to the Athens centre (passing by Syntagma, Omonoia, the National Archeological museum, etc) is 190m from the house in the direction towards centre and 240m direction from the centre (return). The 209 which takes you to Syntagma-Zappeio is 270m and 190m respectively. The buses 140 (Glyfada beach), (phone number hidden), (Athens centre, metro Evangelismos) and the trolley 11 are 290 m and 240m respectively. All these options are 3 minutes or less by foot!
This once again is the first time someone ever complained about it. I can only assume that part of your problem was that you didn't benefit from the neighbourhood tour I give my guests when I'm in Athens, and also you did not look at the detailed map I provided outlining this information. You never asked me for any specific directions/tips for visiting locations either. If that's not it, than could it be a cultural thing again? If that is the case, well it is one thing to say Athens transport is not as good as the one in Paris, Stockholm, Copenhagen or Helsinki, and quite another to say the house does not provide transport options..

Many guests have told me that the place is actually bigger than it appears in the photos. You also say the place is "spacy". And you say the place was the cleanest you had visited in Europe by far! At the same time though you say that the photos are too "artsy"! The photos of the house were taken by an airbnb appointed professional photographer. I did not take them myself. This is how airbnb can certify they are a true representation of the place.

I am really sorry about the bottle opener. We had one, but as we check now, we can confirm that it is missing. This is absolutely necessary to have of course. I thought I also had a pair of scissors as well, but the truth is I had not checked to see if they are still available to guests. But things such as these are usually handled in a very simple way: You contact the host and say "hey do you have a pair of scissors", the host brings you a pair and that's it. You never mentioned any of these before and you stayed quite a long time at the house. I really wonder why. Instead you just waited to write this in the review. Almost with a certain cryptic joy I sense.

Actually from this list of complaints, the only things that you mentioned was the noise from the neighbours and the wifi. And for the wifi I'm really sorry about the problems you had. I know from time to time there were some ip conflicts and the router had to be restarted. I've had other IT professionals (like you) stay and work from the house but nobody has ever complained about it at all. A couple of people have written really good words about the internet connection in their reviews. In your case it seemed very pronounced, and I did not doubt your word. I contacted the technical support and, as I told you back then, they said there was nothing that they could do directly. They said just wait and see if the problem persists. I was also unsatisfied by this, and - after a lot of talking with them- I will be changing internet provider (regardless of whether or not there is a severe a problem as you describe).

One last thing about the wifi, for the record. Before Eugene booked the place, I told him that we could upgrade the connection from a 24 Mbps download and 1Mbps upload ADSL connection to the new VDSL with up to 50Mbps download and 10 Mbps upload for a 20 euro fee per month. I figured that as an IT professional who will make heavy use of it (as he told me) he may very well desire the increased bandwidth (especially the upload increase). Eugene told me yesterday the bad connection hurt his business during his stay. Yet he never ever mentioned the upgrade as a possible solution. I don't know what he could be thinking, I am not Eugene. But I know that if I was having a horrible time with the internet and my business was affected, I would not think twice about doing the upgrade. Or at least I would discuss it as a possible solution. But guess what - and I see a pattern here- Eugene never mentioned this at all!!

I value feedback and try to improve things as much as I can. However, I have an (unprovable) hunch that there may also be some other sort of (unmentioned and unknown) dissatisfaction at play in this review. In any case however, Eugene you are extremely picky my friend. Like 5.4/5. If you ever come to Athens again, I hope you find a place that suits your needs. I really don't think this will be easy. Not with the same budget, that's for sure. Take care.

September 2014

From Samobor, Croatia · August 2014

From Boston, MA · July 2014

From Vancouver, Canada · June 2014

From Moscow, Russia · January 2014

From Greece · January 2014

This host has 15 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

About the Host, Kostas

Kostas
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Member since June 2011
Response rate: 100% (past 90 days)
Response time: within a few hours

Trust
  • Kostas
Listing Location

Similar Listings