Pagrati - Vironas Athens Apartment
Pagrati - Vironas Athens Apartment


Entire home/apt

3 Guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Located in a very quiet neighbourhood and yet very close to the cosmopolitan side of the Pagrati region, as well as downtown Athens and the major attractions, this apartment is a great place to begin your exploration of the city life and monuments.

The space

A cozy apartment located on the border of Virona and Pagrati (Athens centre) that has been fully renovated in 2010. The place comfortably sleeps 3 people, in an optimal 'best of both worlds' location (read on about the neighborhood).

Guest access

You have full access to the whole apartment and it's amenities. A well equipped kitchen is available for you as well as a beautiful bathroom with a washer and a small (private) back yard. The place has a big double sized bed (queen size) with a new comfortable mattress and a couch in the bedroom. In the living room there is another couch that opens up into a single bed. There is also a cot (pliable bed) available in the closet. A baby crib is available upon request as well. A high speed ADSL internet (LAN and wifi) connection is included of course.


The space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Weekly Discount: 11%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules

--Please do not smoke in the house. There is a small terrace/yard you can smoke in.

--Please DO NOT dispose of toilet paper or any other garbage down the toilet bowl. There is a garbage disposal in the bathroom for this. This is something which is often practised in Greece, as pipe systems are relatively small and tend to clog up and create a mess.

--Please DO NOT leave the hot water switch turned on for more than 25 minutes.

Unlike many countries, hot water in Greece is often not instantly available 24/7. This means you have to open the switch on the electric board that heats the water. There is a small 20 litre tank which needs no more than 20 minutes to reach maximum heat temperature. For a one person quick shower 5-10 minutes will be enough.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.


Availability
28 nights minimum stay

51 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Yi-Ting User Profile
November 2016
The house is enough for two. Shower is nice. The kitchen has everything you need. You can find nice cafes, food stores and super markets easily. Kostas is a very friendly person. Very helpful. Was a nice experience for me. Thank you!

Carlos User Profile
September 2016
This is the second time I stay at Kostas' apartment, and everything is like I said on my last review. The house is just as it looks in the pictures: spacious, comfortable, clean... The neighbourhood is also great: it's close to the center and has many things to do and places to go, although it is a little dirty here and there. As for Kostas, he is an awesome host, really helpful and friendly. In short, I would totally recommend it, and I'm sure I'll come back someday.

Karin User Profile
July 2016
I really enjoyed my stay there as the flat is very comfortable to live at for a longer period of time. It is located near city center (about 20 minutes to the the national garden), but also in a very quiet and nice street. Bus and trolley stops, shops and supermarkets were very near the place and easy to reach. The flat is really huge for one person and the yard is perfect to relax or dry cloths. The rooftop is accessible for everyone and you can enjoy an amazing view over the city and the mountains surrounding the greater area of Athens. Everything needed (towels, linen etc.) is provided. WIFI connection was really good - I never had any problems with the internet. I did not meet Kostas in person, but he always helped out in case I had a question.

Kazumasa User Profile
August 2015
Very clean, spacious, comfortable flat! Especially, the yard is very good. You can enjoy eating breakfast, reading books in that spacious, light yard. The internet access is without any problem. There are some nice Greece restaurant nearby the flat. some Big supermarket is near too. Kostas is very kind, he informed us some good information to enjoy our trip in Greece. Thank you Kostas! We could enjoy our trip thanks to you.

Carlos User Profile
July 2015
Staying at Kostas' was great. I had to stay in Athens for over a month, and even for such a long stay, the apartment was a great choice: it was spacious (well, I was on my own, maybe with two or more people...), clean, comfortable... Natural light as depicted in the pictures was good for most of the day, although in winter it might be a little less luminous; oh, and the temperature was great at night, even when it was hot outside –I didn't even had to use the fan. The neighborhood was also great. There was a variety of cafés and shops around the house, the supermarket had everything you could possibly need, and the market (which was organizrd right down the street every... Wednesday? Tuesday?) was cheap and had some really great pieces of fruit and vegetables. Oh, and if you don't mind walking for a while (35-45 min) you can get pretty much everywhere from here: the Parthenon, Syntagma Square, Monastiraki, the Ancient Agora and Hadrian's Library, etc. This way you get to actually know the city, and you might stumble upon a few things that aren't always mentioned in the guides. And by the way, despite all the crisis and referendum thing I had no trouble at all, not even with the demonstrations. As for Kostas, what can I say? He had to leave two days after my arrival, and hadn't come back when I left. However, he was always really friendly and helpful, and contacted me every now and then to make sure everything was going fine. Also, he showed me around the apartment, and gave me some good references and advices. I look forward to come back some day!

Rafael User Profile
March 2015
Athens for a month? Where do we start...This flat is nestled in a very quiet "blue-collar" neighborhood on the border of Vyronas and Pangrati. Food and living essentials are a block away. Great bakeries, butchers and wine shops are less than a 5min walk. For a 10min walk on certain days of the week there is a large open market for produce and goods which we frequented often. The bus is easily accessible as described and we used it often. The flat itself is on the first floor of a 3 story building, and some noise could be heard occasionally but noticeably. For those used to an upstairs neighbor its no different. It is very spacious and includes an outside terrace (however being in Athens in March it was a bit cold/rainy for the terrace to be of use) Being there for a month we cooked at the flat often and the kitchen had all basic needs covered. Our only wish would be that the hot water would last just a bit longer than 5mins when we showered. Our host Kostas was more than helpful when looking for things to do and see in Athens. He could easily be reached at anytime and actively checked in with us to ask about our stay. We went out for drinks and sightseeing more than once and wish we could have hung out more. This flat had everything that we were looking for, such as easy transportation and close enough to nightlife, markets and good eats. Yamas!

Evgeny User Profile
September 2014
It's a bit hard to write the review about the property as Kostas was so nice and I enjoyed my stay in Athens quite a lot. But I feel that I was misguided by other reviewers and I have to balance things slightly. In short the district itself is rather cool 4.2/5. Transportation/location is not very convenient: 3.2/5. The amenities including WiFi are somewhat poor: 2.9/5. The communication/check-in/check-out experience is outstanding: 5/5. Cleanliness is superb (let's not be picky): 5/5. More details. Kostas is extremely cheerful and nice person to talk to (I only communicated with him online though). Upon checkin I met Georgia, Kostas' mother. Who was the most nice and friendly person in the world! If there is a contest for the best AirBnb host mother, she should win, in my opinion. The apartment was the cleanest I've seen in Europe by far. And it is spacious! But it was dark. Let's say: the photographs shown are a bit too artsy. They represent your feelings when you are in love with the place and with Athens! :) But not the reality. In fact, there is a lack of sunlight (artificial lighting could be better, too). Another problem was poor sound-isolation. When you sit in the living room, you hear people walking by behind the entrance door. You even see the silhouettes as the door made of (opaque) glass. If you try to sleep with bedroom windows open (which you will want in summer as there is no AC) you'll hear all sorts of sounds: people talking and yelling (noisy neighbors), music playing, dog barking and so on. For me it was a bit uncomfortable. The apartment was supposed to be "fully renovated in 2010". Well the bathroom indeed looks very new. Though some things are a wee cumbersome (the toilet is too close to washing machine, for example). The hot water. Yeah, you have to turn on the heater for 15 min, then turn off and so on. Outside the bathroom some power outlets are shaky, some door handles do not work. There were lots of amenities, all essentials in abundant quantities. But I was unable to find scissors (who needs them when you are traveling, right?:)) and bottle opener (scratched my hand while trying workaround). But there is a pizza knife which is awesome! Then you have a backyard. Not that it's picturesque (you get me? ;)) but it adds some fun. You sometimes feel like you live in a personal cottage or something. You can dry your clothes outside and so on. WiFi was infuriating. Connection losses, speed drops, etc. No predictable availability, no (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) video calls. Had to reboot the router 1-2 times a day. It could not break just the day before my arrival. So the problem was there and was not addressed. Some things could use some care from time to time.
Kostas User Profile
Response from Kostas:
I never respond to reviews. This is the 66th review here on airbnb and the first time I ever respond. This is because I believe you has been unfair. There are a lot of cultural and personal value judgements always involved in our perceptions, so I understand your point of view until a certain point. However, unlike your other airbnb travels in central apartments of major European capitals (with prices 2 and 3 times higher let it be noted!), Athens is somewhat different indeed. For example, the hot water heaters is a very common thing in all of Greece. Very few houses will have a 24hr boiler here, mostly high class dwellings, or some large and modern apartment buildings, but even these don't always have this facility. Also, the 'noisy neighbours' or 'music playing outside' is hardly avoidable in the centre of Athens. I've lived for more than 16 years in Athens and I can assure you it is very difficult to find a place that is more quiet than this one and so close to the heart of the city. The fact that you don't hear cars from the bedroom because we are on a very small street is already a good hint (Athens centre has very high car noise pollution). Your comment that "You sometimes feel like you live in a personal cottage or something" already points in this direction. That being said, yes, it is a residential area, and maybe Greeks tend to be a little louder at times in relation to other (mostly western) European standards. It should be noted that I have never received a complaint about noise before. The public 'transportation/location' you say is not very convenient, yet you don't provide any justification for this at all. The area is probably amongst the most well served by public transport. There are 3 trolleys and 4 buses nearby, one of them (the 11) being one of the few 24hr buses available in Athens. Specifically, the distance to trolley 4 which takes you to the Athens centre (passing by Syntagma, Omonoia, the National Archeological museum, etc) is 190m from the house in the direction towards centre and 240m direction from the centre (return). The 209 which takes you to Syntagma-Zappeio is 270m and 190m respectively. The buses 140 (Glyfada beach), (PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN), (Athens centre, metro Evangelismos) and the trolley 11 are 290 m and 240m respectively. All these options are 3 minutes or less by foot! This once again is the first time someone ever complained about it. I can only assume that part of your problem was that you didn't benefit from the neighbourhood tour I give my guests when I'm in Athens, and also you did not look at the detailed map I provided outlining this information. You never asked me for any specific directions/tips for visiting locations either. If that's not it, than could it be a cultural thing again? If that is the case, well it is one thing to say Athens transport is not as good as the one in Paris, Stockholm, Copenhagen or Helsinki, and quite another to say the house does not provide transport options.. Many guests have told me that the place is actually bigger than it appears in the photos. You also say the place is "spacy". And you say the place was the cleanest you had visited in Europe by far! At the same time though you say that the photos are too "artsy"! The photos of the house were taken by an airbnb appointed professional photographer. I did not take them myself. This is how airbnb can certify they are a true representation of the place. I am really sorry about the bottle opener. We had one, but as we check now, we can confirm that it is missing. This is absolutely necessary to have of course. I thought I also had a pair of scissors as well, but the truth is I had not checked to see if they are still available to guests. But things such as these are usually handled in a very simple way: You contact the host and say "hey do you have a pair of scissors", the host brings you a pair and that's it. You never mentioned any of these before and you stayed quite a long time at the house. I really wonder why. Instead you just waited to write this in the review. Almost with a certain cryptic joy I sense. Actually from this list of complaints, the only things that you mentioned was the noise from the neighbours and the wifi. And for the wifi I'm really sorry about the problems you had. I know from time to time there were some ip conflicts and the router had to be restarted. I've had other IT professionals (like you) stay and work from the house but nobody has ever complained about it at all. A couple of people have written really good words about the internet connection in their reviews. In your case it seemed very pronounced, and I did not doubt your word. I contacted the technical support and, as I told you back then, they said there was nothing that they could do directly. They said just wait and see if the problem persists. I was also unsatisfied by this, and - after a lot of talking with them- I will be changing internet provider (regardless of whether or not there is a severe a problem as you describe). One last thing about the wifi, for the record. Before Eugene booked the place, I told him that we could upgrade the connection from a 24 Mbps download and 1Mbps upload ADSL connection to the new VDSL with up to 50Mbps download and 10 Mbps upload for a 20 euro fee per month. I figured that as an IT professional who will make heavy use of it (as he told me) he may very well desire the increased bandwidth (especially the upload increase). Eugene told me yesterday the bad connection hurt his business during his stay. Yet he never ever mentioned the upgrade as a possible solution. I don't know what he could be thinking, I am not Eugene. But I know that if I was having a horrible time with the internet and my business was affected, I would not think twice about doing the upgrade. Or at least I would discuss it as a possible solution. But guess what - and I see a pattern here- Eugene never mentioned this at all!! I value feedback and try to improve things as much as I can. However, I have an (unprovable) hunch that there may also be some other sort of (unmentioned and unknown) dissatisfaction at play in this review. In any case however, Eugene you are extremely picky my friend. Like 5.4/5. If you ever come to Athens again, I hope you find a place that suits your needs. I really don't think this will be easy. Not with the same budget, that's for sure. Take care.
September 2014

This host has 82 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Montreal, Canada · Joined in June 2011
Kostas User Profile

Hi I'm Kostas, a Greek-Canadian who grew up in Montréal but have also lived 14 years in Athens. I currently live in Montréal for the biggest part of the year.

I am a web developer and somewhat of a geek who is often caught evangelizing about the potential of the internet age, open source and information technology in general. I have studied Sociology, Philosophy and some Environmental Science. I play the guitar, like to write, mumble and sing your blues/folk/pop/rock thing, although I pretty much enjoy listening to most musical genres.

Having grown up in the multicultural environment of Montréal I really enjoy meeting folks from all over the world. I have had a blast here on Airbnb, have met some amazing people and look forward to meeting you too!

I try my best to be a model host and cater to the different needs of my guests, so don't hesitate to contact me!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.