Skip to content
Day time or sunsets ~ ~ be prepared, you will be enchanted !You are a sweet walk to restaurants and shops ~ ~ so close, yet in lovely sequestered retreat. . . a wonder-full easy balance.
Private room in island

Peaks Isl Simple, Lovely Cottage Queen

Aaiyn User Profile
Aaiyn

Peaks Isl Simple, Lovely Cottage Queen

2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
2 shared baths
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
2 shared baths
HOME HIGHLIGHTS
Great location100% of recent guests gave this home’s location a 5-star rating.

This simple lovely Cottage Queen Bed Room is perfect for solo adventurers, business travelers, couples, friends looking for a great offer. It is a good find for those who are happy with a simple, lovely cottage sleep - or two people who are fine with sharing a very comfy Queen bed.

Just to notice, this room has been completely transformed this Summer 2018 ~ ~ now it is a solid, lovely Queen bed, with a mattress made in America and chosen as the #1 mattress in 2018 ! A dream sleep.

Amenities

Essentials
Indoor fireplace
Heating
Iron
Wifi
Free parking on premises

House Rules

Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events

Availability

32 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check-in
Value
Jingyi User Profile
Jingyi
October 2017
Good environment with very cozy living room.
Nancy User Profile
Nancy
September 2017
If you are looking for a bed & Bed & breakfast this place is not! The bed was an air mattress on the floor in same room as washer & dryer (which were hidden behind white curtains ). Both my husband and I had a horrible night sleep; I woke up with severe back pain. The breakfast…
Aaiyn User Profile
Response from Aaiyn:
Oh my ~ ~ two harsh reviews in 3 + years. You are the second challenged Guest in 3 + years,Nancy. Agh and I am so close to being labled as a 'Super Hostess' ~ ~ Indeed, a rude awakening. So sorry Nancy, clearly you had another vision for Airbnb. Let's go through your challenges together. 'There is only learning', is one of my personal mantras ~ ~ I. I am noting that you did not read my site, or read all the other reviews. I did state that the air mattresses are the state of the art and there are layers of several mattress covers, comforters, with a deluxe 3 1/2" thick mattress cover over-all. I can appreciate that to some the thought of air mattresses is off-putting, but actually the new air mattresses are such that many people are now sleeping on them everyday. I do hear that you most likely prefer a hard mattress. Probably wise to mention that from the start. . . . and wise for me, I note, to ask ahead. I believe I did ask you to please do read my site ! That it does matter !. That room which runs for less than the other two rooms is billed as a very simple, lovely twin or king, and I explain that I started offering it because Guests asked if I didn't have anything else for their friend to stay also. And once I let that person stay, it was uncanny how I just started getting more and more requests, and two friends, couples staying there became normal. I got from that start that I wanted to offer soloadventurers an opportunity to enjoy this unique home and location and thus the room essentially rents for $112, and has all the same lovely amenities available which go for $170 across the hall. Indeed with the added person in that room it runs $147. Yes, behind a whole row of rather poetic long draping cotton cottage drapes, are pristine washer and dryer and the linen closet. Cottages, actually probably most cottages on islands off the coast of Maine, especially those which are older, don't have the space which new construction and space affords. It is its own type of charm which either suits, or doesn't. Charming shaggy chic truly is not for everyone, I hear you. And I will add some copy to my site to mention this. I thought the photos were fairly clear. Will refine how I address this. Though I must say, I get couples coming back to that room because they love it so much. My . . ."very simple lovely" . . . was clearly not what you were imagining. I thought the photo captured the space. Will address that with fresh eyes. Thank you. 2. I hear that my exquisite - the largest, most plump raisins in a three type varieties; my exquisite apricots that are the most amazing I have ever tasted, sometimes figs, cashews, pistachios, pecans, walnuts - 3 types of chocolate, often fresh organic apples, grapes, watermelon, blueberries, raspberries, or strawberries - totally did not resonate with you. I would so appreciate hearing what you would have loved to have found when you walked in. The organic cow's milk, the organic half and half, the organic coconut milk, or the organic almond / coconut cream for your cereal with fruit - clearly not to your liking. Some of the most exquisite coffee and teas available on the planet, available whenever you wanted, along with the taste thrills.. .were not attractive to you. I hear you clearly. Many of the Airbnb's don't offer any breakfasts. I do mention on the site that the Peak's Cafe offers standard fare and is an island institution. I hear that you were far from delighted. It is totally helpful if you mention your being allergic to nuts, from the start. I just had no clue ~ I am so sorry. I totally hear that the porch, which is actually 97% totally solid - is ripening to be replaced, especially there by the french doors. Now Nancy, that is the thing. . . I have been waiting two months this year for my favorite carpenter to return from Florida to work on several projects. It is beyond a stretch in patience, to get and keep a maintenance rhythm in tow. The challenge is that it actually begins to feel so comedic that one just stays in line and keeps o (Website hidden by Airbnb) Peaks is such a treasure of an island ~ . . .the only island of the 364 Calendar Islands which one can ride a bike, a car, or walk all around the perimeter. There are so many charming walks. Some rarely leave my porch or living room ! Peaks Island is a charming, delicious 15 minute ferry ride. . . to Portland, which was name the "Foodiest Little City in America" for 3 years in a row. We say that the Old Port, to us, is an extension of our front yards - how poetic is that. My location is truly uniqu (Website hidden by Airbnb) minute walk to the ferry, but because of my landscaping, one feels removed from the activity and intimate with the Harbor. Sunset off that porch - has totally enchanted most of my Guests. I am very close to a SuperHostess rating - which really does say that for most people they are delighted with my home. Some have even said that their favorite memory of Peaks was of playing chess on the front porch, looking out over the harbor. I am so sorry Nancy. I am especially sorry that somehow I did not get your message of distress on Sunday morning ~ ~ truly. When you arrived and rang the bell - it felt stressful, because, as I explained, I do mention this several times on the site and was worried because I had just been about to run an errand at that time and as I explained I once had one other Guest (3 + years) who literally sat on my front stoop, for 3 hours, waiting for me. . . instead of "just walking right on in and getting their Welcome Letter with their name on it." So painful for a Hostess, besides the Guest. I believe I asked if there were a better way that I could have transmitted this. I apologize if it felt like scolding Nancy, rather than my sharing my shock and fear that anyone ever sit outside when they were just a door handle away from their own Welcome Letter, and lovely beginning of their stay ~ * I wish you the best Nancy. You have nonetheless allthemore given me food for thought and this is how one learns and grows. Thank you. Airbnb is a treasure of a global community. It is not the traditional Bed and Breakfast experience. Though, I can hear that you would be shocked to imagine that I have had some call us the Downton Abbey of Peaks Island ! Everyone is so different ~ ~ I do support you to read the site of any future Airbnb Hostess, several times until it feels truly clear what is being offered. And I do support you to please put your challenges and desires up front before you register. I enjoyed meeting you both and I wish you a great holiday on the coast of Maine yet - don't give up ! Warmly, Aaiyn
September 2017
Dan User Profile
Dan
September 2017
The room I had was one step above outdoor camping. My room had a mattress on the floor with no frame or furniture attached to it, A clothes hamper as a night stand with no lights or clock. There was no place to put clothes other than a table and chair and no closet to hang your c…
Elizabeth User Profile
Elizabeth
August 2017
This is a true hidden gem. Best place to stay on the whole island
Becky User Profile
Becky
August 2017
Aaiyn and Arthur's home is striking and welcoming. They take great care to make you feel at home with their gracious words and thoughtful touches such as coffee, tea, afternoon snacks and lemon water. While the kitchen is a private area, they have set up the livingroom with a gue…
Damon User Profile
Damon
August 2017
Very clean and comfortable stay a short walk from the Ferry
Vanessa User Profile
Vanessa
August 2017
Spectacular. Aaiyn's home is beautiful, and she is a warm and generous hostess. Gorgeous porch for sitting and looking out over the water. Take a long soak in the extra long clawfoot tub and enjoy the feeling of actually being able to stretch out your legs like you haven't been a…
Aaiyn User Profile
Response from Aaiyn:
Hmm ~ ~ THE coffee. . . from a Chinese Chef. . .great blend and he adds Maitake mushrooms ~ ~ ~ can't resist sharing this gem !
August 2017

Hosted by Aaiyn

Portland, Maine, United StatesJoined in July 2012
Aaiyn User Profile
181 Reviews
Verified
I live on a small island off the coast of maine. we are a 20 minute ferry ride from portland. with my background in Traditional Chinese Medicine and a wide range of Western Physical Therapies as well as Nutrition, I offer 3, 4, and 10 day Jumpstart Cleanses for people 50…
Languages: English, Français, Italiano, 中文
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighborhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Similar listings