The sea view from the balcony of the double roomThe main living room, with Argo's cushion by the window and front door
User Profile Image

great location for morning swims

ItalyApúliaBari
Private room
4 Guests
4 Beds
$46
Per Night
Your credit card won’t be charged
214 travelers saved this place

About this listing

A comfortable family home with a warm welcome just a few minutes from sparkling waters at a lovely clean beach, superb restaurants (some cheap and traditional, others with top quality seafood) and a brief bus ride to the treasures of Bari vecchia. Italian lessons can make a huge difference to your stay in this wonderful part of Italy

The sea view from the balcony of the double room

The sea view from the balcony of the double room


The Space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1.5
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 4
Check In: 4PM - 11PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $12 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: $8
Weekly discount: 16%
Cancellation: Flexible

Description

The Space

This quiet sunny apartment is four minutes walk from the sea, two minutes drive from the main road, 10-15 minutes from Bari.
Swimming - walk through an archaeological area (the Louvre is full of artefacts from here), see the remains of a Roman road and some saltpans, and dive into the crystal clear water from a wonderful natural platform. Head back for a shower and off to work or sightseeing or whatever you have planned.
House - incredibly quiet for a seafront house close to the main highway, built on three floors, it has two bathrooms and three bedrooms (one occupied by the house-owners, who are Buddhists).
Shops - right across the road you can find 1) a small very friendly supermarket where they will probably ask you if you are staying at my house (Donato speaks quite good English and enjoys inviting guests for coffee!), 2) an ice-cream or gelato shop famous throughout the Bari area 3) an excellent butcher's and 4) a great new fresh fish shop.
Guests have full use of kitchen facilities and small garden (no nicking my daughter's strawberries, though!). Very friendly dog.


Transport from the airport: since July 2013 there is a great light railway connection from the airport to Bari Centrale station which takes just 15 minutes (price 5 euros)

At times it may be quicker to take the blue airport bus direct to Bari Centrale station (price 4.15).
Then from the station either take a train to Torre a Mare where I will pick you up, or a number 12 or 12/ ("dodici barrato" in Italian or "twelve bar") (for the timetable search (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) for "torre a mare" amtab 12), which both stop at via Colonna, 16 (see timetable and ask driver) which is about 200 metres from my house, and if you let me know what bus you are on I'll wait for you there.
I hope that's all clear, but let me know if you need any further help!

Guest Access

Fully-equipped kitchen, lounge with sofa, small garden with sun lounger, dining table and bench for the long warm summer evenings, roof terrace

Interaction with Guests

I live with my teenage daughter at the house where you will be staying, and I very much enjoy exchanging points of views and experiences with my guests, many of whom I would be proud to call my friends.

The Neighborhood

What I love about my area is it is generally very quiet and close to the sea, as well as being close enough to the centre of Bari if you are looking for nightlife. I love the seafront here as it is an archaeological area and so has not been built up, which means there can be lots of spring flowers, seabirds and other wildlife. And if you come at the right time of year, the juiciest mulberries I have ever tasted

Getting Around

Parking is right outside the house and there are never really any problems. The bus stop is in the parallel street and the number 12 bus is pretty punctual and takes 15-20 minutes to get to the centre of Bari.

Other Things to Note

When you make your enquiry it would be really nice if you would tell me something about you. We are going to share a house together, so the first thing I need to know is that my daughter will be safe


House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check-in time is 4PM - 11PM.

close the gate, otherwise Argo goes to see his best friend the butcher and he gets too fat!


Availability
1 night minimum stay
The main living room, with Argo's cushion by the window and front door

The main living room, with Argo's cushion by the window and front door

Verified Photo

80 Reviews


Summary
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value

This host has 33 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

Your Host


Anthony

Anthony

Bari, Italy · Member since June 2011

I work with languages as a freelancer and at the University of Bari, I have two kids of school age. I love meeting new people, exchanging views, laughing together and making people feel welcome in our house. All of the people who have come to stay have been lovely and I look forward to many more positive experiences.

I love spoiling my guests with a meal cooked by two of my very best friends, which you can read about in many of the reviews:
Emma Kitching: We also had a delicious meal cooked for us and served on our balcony by Anthony's friends - would definitely recommend!
Camille Balduyck: Il nous a aussi fait profiter du bon repas italien cuisiné par ses amis Giacinto et Cynthia.
Ruth Parfitt: We had an amazing meal cooked for us by friends of his which was served on our balcony, I would highly recommended anyone else staying there to do the same. The food was incredible, and a lot of it! One of the best meals we had on our holiday.
Jannik Rodenwaldt: I will never forget the wonderful evening in his garden where we had a great time with a even better meal
Antoine Berwart: we had an amazing dinner, cooked by two of his friends.
Francis White: Also, on our private balcony, Anthony's friend cooked us amazing mussels and seafood pasta, with lovely local wine. Quite a treat!
Catherine David: We arrived late because of our plane, yet he welcomed us very warmly, and with a delicious home-made meal (pasta alle vongole and a very pleasant primitivo wine) prepared by his Italian friends for a very reasonable price.

Response rate: 100%(last 10 contacts)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections

Additional Hosts

    Explore other options in and around Bari