Skip to content
The interior of the apartment Fresh lemonade from our lemon tree
Hector - Simplicity & Sensitivity
Hector - Simplicity & Sensitivity
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Traveler that values the beauty of simplicity and the airbnb's premise of living with locals may experience the uplifting magic of our home. "Hector" is a private small apartment, part of a bigger house and has all the amenities to ensure you a comfort stay. Illuminated by the bright Greek summer sun and roasted by the saltiness of the Aegean, the house was decorated over the years with all our beloved belongings and crafts. Just 150m away from the sea it is ideal for couples or friends.

The space

"Hector" is a private small apartment of 50sq.m., part of a bigger house. It has all the amenities to ensure you a comfort stay. This apartment consists of a spacious living room with a large sofa that can serve as an additional bed, a cozy bedroom with a double bed, a bathroom with shower/toilet and a kitchen that is fully equipped with all the electronic facilities (fridge, oven, coffeemaker and a water kettle) necessary for your convenience. Additionally, there is a super comfortable folding guest bed as well as two ceiling fans (one located in the living room and the other in the bedroom) and we provide free WIFI access. The apartment has a private balcony with a breathtaking view where you can relax by drinking an aperitif. It has also direct access to the main veranda where you can interact with the rest of the guests since there is one more private apartment for rent in this floor. The apartment is bright, airy, and decorated minimalistic over the years with all our beloved belongings and crafts according to our “Simplicity and Sensitivity" motto. "Hector" is ideal for a small family or couples who seek an alternative choice close to the beach. Last but not least, for the adventurous we provide a surfboard if the weather is suitable.

Guest access

The house is consisted of three floors, two of which are occupied. In the main floor there are two private apartments ("Hector" & "Iris") for rent that share a spacious veranda (40sq.m). Above them there is another private apartment that is occupied by us, therefore we will be available for your requests 24/7. Guests will have access anywhere the wish in the house expect our apartment in the first floor.

Interaction with guests

Although my professional work is based in Athens, I have managed to be in Syros for the summer months. Therefore, I will be at your services 24/7. Furthermore, as it was aforementioned we are trying to create a relax vibe according to the airbnb's premise. Thus, I will always be available for a nice chat or to guide you in the island. Unfortunately, there are rare cases where I won't be in person to assist you but there will always be someone in the family for your requests.

Other things to note

Since the house is our resort house, booking will be available for every year's summer months starting from May until September.

Wireless Internet
Family/kid friendly
Smoking allowed
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee $30
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Common spaces
1 single bed, 1 couch
House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in time is 1PM - 2AM (next day)
Check out by 11AM

My only wish is to take good care of our family house, which is designed and maintained with a lot of effort and love.

Respect quiet hours 2.30pm - 5.30pm & 11pm - 7.30am

Safety features
First aid kit
3 nights minimum stay

12 Reviews

Check In
Sara User Profile
August 2016
Ector was extremely welcoming and responded very quickly to all communication. The house is beautiful and, obviously, so is the view. We're so glad we stayed at Ector's place for our trip to Syros.
Ector User Profile
Response from Ector:
Thank u Sara!! Hope the next time you and Eric have more time!!
August 2016

Hunter User Profile
July 2016
My family had a great week-long stay at Ector and his family's home in Kini. We rented both units and were hosted elegantly. I have stayed in many AirBnbs in many places, but this was the most enjoyable accommodation. The location is great. Close to the tranquility of Lotos and the excitement of Kini, and the apartment is well-kept and beautiful.
Ector User Profile
Response from Ector:
Thank you Hunter I am hoping to see u soon!
July 2016

David User Profile
August 2017
Ector's place was very clean. It had a great space, a private balcony and a shared terrace. Him and his parents were very nice and friendly. The location was great. The view of the sunset was amazing. The homemade jam was delicious and the welcome bowl of fruit was delicious and a nice way to learn about the fruits offered in the area. We were minutes to 2 different beaches, which was fantastic. Heads up it gets pretty windy! Great place. We would stay here again. Thanks Ector!

Paolo User Profile
August 2017
The place is superb and Ector's family is wonderful, still we had one major and two ninor issues that spoiled our vacation. The major: there was a construction site 50 meters away from the house, just above the beach. This meant jackhammer noise going on between 8 am and 3 pm monday to saturday. Of course the property knew about the site, I am aware this is not his fault. Still, objectively, for us this has undermined the peace and quietness we were looking for in our 15 days holidays in Ector's house. 10 of which ruined by unwanted noise, especially in the morning. The other two minor issues were: first, during quiet hours as described on the announcement there has been continuous noise in the house and/or surrounding houses by people chatting at night, sometimes up until 6 am. We told the owner's family once, but nothing happened. Lastly, be aware that in august there may be strong wind (Meltemi) and the Kini beach is right exposed towards north, so I do recommend to take this into account, as we had almost 14 days of strong wind and rough see for most of the time. Positive notes are: the location, particularly the terrace. And a special thanks to the owner's mother, who delighted us with delicious greek dishes at any time of the day. I have asked for a partial refund because of the construction site: I spent 1454 euros for a quiet holiday, and had noise in return. I am aware it is not the owner's fault, and Airbnb's policies are clear on this. But I believe that if I am damaged, the owner should feel the same, and should at least consider to share the damage together with the host - even a small amount as a symbolic gesture would have been just fine. Instead, I got my vacation spoiled, and the owner got away with it. So, as a result, here is my full report.
Ector User Profile
Response from Ector:
Paolo thank you for your feedback in general. The construction side is public and I have no authority to intervene although I went there and ask them how many days it was going to last. They told me 4 days and now the noise is over. Again, if many of the residents in my house complained I would try to address the problem somehow but nobody else complained regarding the noise in general even in the night which in the next houses people might chat. Now regarding the refund, you asked me to provide you a full refund for one day that you would not stay due to the conflicts of the tickets and I accept it although I have a strict policy on returns since it is the high season of the summer, but at the end you chose to stayed the full time that you have booked the place. Also I did not like the fact that you gave me 2 options on the feedback. Either to give you a a reasonable refund so you could write a positive feedback or not to give you a refund and write the feedback you liked including the noise element. Unfortunately, it is not in my character to negotiate like this. I am sorry that you did not had the vacation you wished again I inform you that nobody has ever complained regarding the noise. My family and I tried to provide you the best time here in my house (you had your arrangements in the furniture inside/outside the house as you wished and we provide you with greek dished whenever we could). Thank you Paolo and again sorry for the temporary noise.
August 2017

Eva User Profile
August 2017
Ector's place was perfect for us (family of 4 with 2 young kids) and even better than what you can see on the pictures. This paradise on earth has a nice wild and quiet beach at the step of the house and everything within walking reach (kini village, with mini-market, restaurants, car renting, local fisherman market, bus stop). We were warmly welcomed by Ector and his parents, they made sure our stay was as perfect as possible (and even more than perfect with Maria's amazing desserts!). They were always available to help us and to recommend nice places. We are used to travel with airbnb and we can say that this experience was by far the best we had (this is the true airbnb spirit, not only renting a place, but sharing and discovering a culture). We definitely recommend this place, especially for families (even with young kids) and we are sure we will come back!

Ana Pilar User Profile
July 2017
Beautifully view

Dmytro User Profile
September 2016
This place is amazing, even better than on photos. Our little vacation here was lovely. The house has everything you will ever need. Also, it's right near a small, clean beach with one of the clearest waters I've seen. Kini is a quiet little village here on Syros. It has great tavernas, amazing spots to watch beautiful sunsets. People are very friendly too! Thank you Ector for the great time here, we will definitely be back :)
Ector User Profile
Response from Ector:
Thank you Dmytro!! I hope to see you soon next time
September 2016

Athens, GreeceJoined in May 2016
Ector User Profile

Syros is the Sovereign of Cyclades - the "Paris" of Aegean sea. As a host I will always be available for a chat or provide you with any information you might need.

Languages: English, Ελληνικά
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighborhood

Similar listings