Luxury Derry RiverFront Apartment

Apartment - Entire home/apt · Londonderry, BT48 7NR, United Kingdom

The Space

Luxury Riverfront Apartment, glorious views of the river Foyle and the Peace-Bridge. 5 minutes walk to everything in Derry city-centre!
Coffee shop downstairs, one of Derry's best restaurants is a 30 second walk from the front door of our apartment complex, upmarket hair-salons round the corner not to mention some boutique shoe and clothing stores.

2 bedrooms (master bedroom ensuite) & 2 bathrooms. WiFi, cable TV, indoor parking, gorgeous modern kitchen.
Apartment is in the very Centre of Derry in the city's most exclusive & private riverfront apartment development.

Most of the other apartments in our complex are the homes of Lawyers, Doctors, Teachers and other professionals. There are also one or two retired couples enjoying their retirement in this peaceful river-side oasis in our otherwise bustling and active city-centre
...…
Our Balcony-views are the BEST, overlooking the Peace Bridge and the river Foyle as it meanders to towards the Atlantic.
We are just off the Strand Road & beside the Derry City Council HQ.

We have private indoor, secure car-parking

CHECK-IN:
Occurs at Townhouse at 30 Lawrence Hill, BT48 7NJ.

Open 8am-10pm. The staff here or myself will bring you to the apartment and give you a warm welcome, instructions and assistance.
Or if previously arranged with apartment owner, myself Steve Mcphilemy, the staff-member can meet you in the splendid coffee-shop downstairs
from the apartment and get you checked-in on site.

The apartment is on the strand road, the main west-bank, city-centre road running north-south and parallel with the River Foyle.

We are behind carphone warehouse. (handy if you need phone-credit top-up or some cellphone roaming advice!) and a boutique shoe store and an upmarket hair-salon. Our apartment complex is also beside the main HQ/Office of Derry City Council.

The address of our apartment is 304 Atlantic Quay Apartments, 100-114 Strand Road Derry, BT48 7NR. We are right on the river-front.

Guest Access

Indoor car-parking, Free wifi, 2 bathrooms, modern Kitchen

Interaction with Guests

I rent out the entire apartment so only the guests will be in the property. Me or my team are always present at my townhouse at 30 Lawrence Hill or at my tourist hostel at 1 Woodleigh Terrace in the city-centre.

The Neighborhood

It is very peaceful and central and close to everything in the city-centre. Pls the view from my balcony is probably the best in Derry/Londonderry

Getting around

The apartment is right in the city centre, no public transport is necessary. But the apartment is a 5 minute walk from the main bus station and 10 minutes from the train station

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 5
Bedrooms: 2
Beds: 1
Extra people: $43 / night after 4 guests
Weekly Price: $1033 /week
Monthly Price: $3444 /month
Check In: 12:00 PM (noon)
Check Out: 1:00 PM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Stayed at the clipper quay riverfront apartment it was perfect! Excellent views over the river foyle and walking distance to city restaurants and bars! Very spacious apartment and also quiet when you want to relax would definitely recommend a stay!

    January 2014
  • Lovely apartment in a fantastic location! Perfect launching point for Derry!

    October 2013
    Stephen
    Response from Stephen:

    Thank you Stephanie, you and your group left both my apartments in an immaculately clean and tidy condition. glad you enjoyed your 2 nights down by the riverfront in my luxury apartments in the beautiful city-centre of Derry/Londonderry. Happy travels, Stephen McPhilemy

  • The reservation was canceled 19 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    October 2013
  • My family and I (a group of 4 adults and one child), stayed at Stephen's Londonderry flat for one night in September 2013, while on a trip around Ireland and Northern Ireland. Stephen's apartment is nice, spacious and in a great location, but up-keep of the apartment and preparation for new guests was very poor. There were many things either missing or not functioning in the apartment. Examples include:

    1. Multiple rooms had no functioning light bulbs.
    2. Neither bathroom had a towel rack.
    3. The TV and DVD player did not work, and there were no written instructions about how to get them to work in the event that the issue was user error.
    4. There were no dish towels provided. All other apartments we stayed at on this trip provided those.
    5. There were random parts of broken or disassembled furniture in drawers or even left out on counters or tables. There was a handful of brass plumbing washers left on a table in the entry way.

    Now, regarding the up-keep and preparation of the apartment:

    1. There were no clean towels in the apartment. Housekeeping had left the towels in the washing machine, but had not run them.
    2. There were dirty sheets from the previous guests left in the rooms.
    3. The beds were not made with adequate sheets, and was very sloppily done, leaving us to wonder if the sheets on the beds were actually clean. This feeling was amplified by the general disarray that the apartment was in when we arrived.
    4. Dirty dishes were left in the dishwasher.
    5. The previous guests trash bags were left in the kitchen.
    6. There was no toilet paper in the apartment.

    We called Stephen about these things, but he never responded personally. We were able to contact a very friendly woman from the hostel he runs to bring us towels and toilet paper, and to take away the trash. Thankfully, she was very friendly.

    As I mentioned, the location of the apartment is great for a visit to Derry, and the view from the apartment is very nice, but I would not recommend it due to the issues I noted. I am sure those could easily be addressed.

    September 2013
    Stephen
    Response from Stephen:

    Hi Charles,
    Thanks for the review.
    The two things you forgot to mention in your uber-detailed critical analysis of my apartment, is that you stayed in my other apartment and NOT the apartment in my listing as I told you the other was not available. Although the replacement is absolutely fine in my opinion.
    But most importantly you forgot to mention that you got your entire family into a luxury riverfront apartment with FREE indoor parking and FREE wifi for less than £75.
    A hotel would have meant you needed two hotel rooms and the cost there would have been £200. But hey, you wouldve got "towel racks in both bathrooms".
    I should add also the TV and DVD does work, Ive just watched a movie on it.
    And finally - you are simply wrong when you imply the sheets were not clean.I hire a professional and reputable housekeeping service.
    Anyway, its impossible to please all of the people, all of the time, and in my opinion you definitely wouldve been better off going to the nearby 4 star hotel, at £200 per night.
    happy travels
    Stephen

  • The apartment was lovely with great views of the river and Derry. The location was excellent, walking distance to everything!
    Thank you

    September 2013
    Stephen
    Response from Stephen:

    Thank you Sue, glad you enjoyed my luxury apartment. Always nice ot have guests who appreciate the unbeatable river-front location of my apartment. You'll always be welcome back to Derry. Le meas/with respect, Steve

  • Approach with caution. You may be stung with extra costs.

    On arrival, the flat was full of laundry drying and we were told to make up beds ourselves once the laundry was dry enough. There were also no bath towels. And we were given only one key.

    We contacted the owner who said he would bring round towels and give us a spare key.

    The towels were dropped round but the promised 2nd key never arrived.

    He messaged to say he was dropping round one evening with an electrician but that he would let himself in as we wouldn't be around.

    The week went well. Until.....

    There were no instructions about any specific check out procedure, so, on our final day we left the apartment in very good order with the key inside for the landlord/cleaners to collect. Pretty straightforward method on Airbnb.

    But then the nasty emails started to come. He would call the police and report us for leaving the key in the flat. He claimed it was the only key he had. And that we would have to pay for a locksmith and compensate him for loss of earnings.

    Of course, as I have an email from him saying he had a spare key, and also he had let himself in during the week.

    I don't want to believe there is a racket going on here but why is he trying it on? Don't get caught! Avoid or be very careful.

    September 2013
    Stephen
    Response from Stephen:

    This guest left me very disappointed and made me seriously consider withdrawing from the AirBnB community.
    I found his attitude shocking and arrogant, AirBnB have encouraged me to stay, which I have decided to do because 99% of the guests who have come to stay with me have appreciated my property and have enjoyed my genuine Irish hospitality.
    This guest asked for an extra key. I told him in good faith that I had one, but then I realised I did not have one, I did NOT access the apartment with my electrician actually because I misplaced the spare key.
    This guest then checked out and left the key inside my apartment, without contacting me. He did not answer my calls all day from 10 am until 6pm.
    I believe he did this to prove a petty point. It cost me a lot of money to hire a locksmith to get into my apartment, and because it was a Sunday I could not find a locksmith and so I had to cancel my Sunday night AirBnB guest at the last minute.
    It only takes 1 minute to call or email your host on checkout to clarify what to do with the key. I have a youth-hostel nearby which has staff and is open 24/7. This guest could have called there just to make sure.
    I provided him with a courteous welcome and a luxury, city-centre riverfront apartment at a fair price.
    He repaid me with hassle and considerable annoyance.
    In my opinion, that is not in the spirit of the AirBnB community.

  • Gorgeous apartment in a fantastic location with a stupendous view of the Foyle. Stephen was hospitable and was prompt to answer any questions or queries. Would definately stay again!

    August 2013
  • Wonderful apartment with fantastic views of Derry. We definitely recommend it!

    August 2013
  • Wonderful apartment with beautiful views over the Foyle. Well kitted out kitchen and great parking in a secure car park. Would stay again in a heart beat!

    August 2013
  • We booked the apartment at quite late notice last week, Stephen replied very promptly.
    It was easy to pick up the keys and park our car in the car park. The apartment was clean, well presented, stocked with fresh towels, and had a great balcony overlooking the river and city centre.
    A fantastic place, and we're already looking forward to coming back next year.

    August 2013
Per Month
From
$172
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 46 times
Languages
Français
School
Queens University, Belfast
Work
Rick Steves
About
I was born in Derry and have runsuccessful and award-winning tourist-accommmodation for over 10 years. I am lucky enough to own a luxury river-front Apartment and also a 7 bedroom Townhouse, both in the city-centre; which I rent out to couples, familes and vacationing professionals on short-term stays. Sometimes (website hidden) guests who are Students, Professors or Professionals come and stay for longer at my properties, one even booked for 3 months! The apartment is very high-end and and luxurious. It really has the 'wow-factor'. You pay more and you get more! I work as a professional tour-guide with US travel TV star, Rick Steves. This year I had the honour of being one of 4 judges in a very high-profile competition organised by our national newspaper, the Irish Times - my job was to use my expertise to decide "The Best Place to Holiday in Ireland!" To stay true to my backpacking roots, I decided to open up my 7 bedroom Townhouse in the exclusive 'Lawrence Hill' area (city-centre, 1 minute from the University) to budget-conscious visitors, who basically want a cheap room and a wee bit of basic breakfast. These rooms are £25-£50 depending on whether it is 2 or 6 people in the room, some of the rooms are HUGE, and ensuite. The Lawrence Hill property is quite lovely in my honest opinion, but several of the guests there have proved a little harder to please. Most think it is a great place and excellent value for money, i just need you to know that it is a room and some breakfast for a cheap price, it is not Buckingham Palace, nor does it have the wow-factor of my riverfront apartment, But for the price, most guests think its great, check out the pics on my airbnb.com listing. I will be happy welcome you to any of my lovely properties and to help introduce to you my beloved home region of Derry/Donegal. Needless to say, free Travel tips/advice is my speciality Le meas (with respect in Irish Gaelic) Steve McPhilemy
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
today

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings