Close up of our Garage. Mural by NeverOur building
Waterbury House East Williamsburg Master Bedroom
Waterbury House East Williamsburg Master Bedroom


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed


Private room

2 Guests

1 Bedroom

1 Bed

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Instagram: @waterbury_house #waterbury_house
Our home is our passion! Welcome to Waterbury House! For the last 8 years we have been working on creating a gorgeous & serene handcrafted space in the heart of East Wiliamsburg Brooklyn. We hope our home inspires and relaxes you. We place a heavy emphasis on handmade American Craftsmanship. This room comfortably fits 2 in a full size bed with a private bathroom and shower. We are located 3 blocks from the subway.

The space

See why Time Out New York voted our place as one of the top 10 coolest places to stay in New York!

I am a chronic re arranger/decorator. I move things around constantly. If you want to follow the progress & changes of our home follow us on Instagram @waterbury_house

Please read through our entire listing so that you understand our home and there are no surprises!
Exposed wood beams and brick, fireplace, fantastic art, objects & roof deck. It almost doesn't seem like you’re in Brooklyn when you’re in our home.
We have a 6000 sq foot multi level roof with multiple seating areas and a gas/charcoal grill with smoker.

In the winter time enjoy sitting in front of our gorgeous mid century conical fireplace. Large kitchen with all the bells and whistles including a dishwasher. French press coffee maker. We always have plenty of gorgeous towels and linens as well as fresh soaps. There is always fabulous coffee.

We love kids - we have an eleven year old of our own. The roof is completely fenced off. There is a tree house, swing, see saw, tether ball and hop scotch as well as a bunch of toys. Kids love it over here as do adults :)

I hope you love staying in our home as much as we do!

Guest access

Roof Access
BBQ Access
Laundry Room Access
Living Room and Kitchen Access
Coffee & Tea
We will make room in the refrigerator to store food

Interaction with guests

This is our primary residence so we are around a lot! I work from home and our housekeeper is here almost daily. We would love it if our guests would come introduce themselves as we have a little boy in the house :)

In addition, we expect our guests to be mature and responsible and to treat our home with respect. Please keep your rooms tidy.

We also ask that you respect our schedules in regards to checking in. No one likes to sit around all day waiting - please be clear on when you see yourself arriving so that we can coordinate a plan that works for everyone.

Other things to note

Please note that one of our studios and a bar are connected to our house. Studio mates typically start working between 10 am and 12 pm on weekdays and end around 6 pm. Sunday is very quiet. The bar is open until 4 am. If you are a very light sleeper I recommend ear plugs - certain nights you can hear faint music.

Chances are you will be sharing the house with another airbnb guest - please be respectful.

We provide the following publications
New York Times Weekend Edition
New York Magazine
The New Yorker

We keep a fully stocked cabinet of everything you could need while travelling from toothpaste to allergy meds.

All bedding is 100% cotton and the comforters and pillows are hypo allergenic.

We use unscented organic vegetable based laundry detergent. If you know that you are allergic to vegetable based detergent please let me know and we will use something else.

We have one cat named pp (perfect pretty) she’s around 10ish. She’s a very low maintenance outdoor cat. She basically comes and goes at her leisure.

Our plumbing is very old - please no tampons in the toilet.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 4PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room
Self check-in: Lockbox

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: $40
Security Deposit: $100
Weekly Discount: 5%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
May not be safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 4PM

NUMBER 1 HOUSE RULE.

TOILET - The toilet and plumbing system is very effective; however, it will clog up if improper material is flushed. DO NOT FLUSH anything other than toilet paper. No feminine products should be flushed at anytime. If it is found that feminine products have been flushed and clog the plumbing / toilet system, Guest will be responsible for all plumbing call-out fees and repairs. Please do not flush tampons, pads, diapers tooth floss, paper towels, hair or condoms.

Do not remove the art or sculptures on the walls and do not move the furniture. If you break a piece of art the security deposit that we have held will not cover the cost of the piece. 2 pieces have been broken recently because someone decided to move them. If you are afraid that you or your child may break something please let us know and we will store them properly.

Simply put our home and everything in it is extremely nice. Please respect our house.

No smoking in the house.

No drug use.

Clear liquids only in the bedrooms. (white bedding)

No overnight guests or additional guests without pre authorization. We reserve the right to say yes or no to additional guests. As we have a small child in the house the additional guests has not been pre screened by us.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund plus service fees back.


Safety features
Safety card
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
The minimum night stay for this listing varies.
Add your travel dates to see more details.

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

184 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Erin User Profile
May 2017
Beautiful room, very gracious hosts, only 3 short blocks to the train. The shower is in the room itself - not a negative, but just something to be aware of if you're sharing the room with anyone. The bed was super comfy and you have your own AC unit, which is rare in NYC. Would definitely stay here again!

Ryan User Profile
May 2017
We had a wonderful experience staying with Elissa and her family. They were warm, welcoming, and provided great recommendations for various restaurants in the area which didn't disappoint. The room itself (upstairs loft room) was comfortable, with fresh linens, and had everything you'd expect. The built in bathroom was clean and functional. Amenities are close quarter and would suit couples and family members as opposed to friends and acquaintances. The location is superb, with so many amazing restaurants and cafes. The Montrose railway station is literally around the corner and the L train will get you into Manhattan quicker than you'd be able to drink a Manhattan cocktail. All in all a wonderfully pleasant experience thanks to Elissa, Jay and Cougar!

Erin User Profile
May 2017
We had a great stay in this lovely clean and cosy room. The location was great. Very central and in a cool and funky neighbourhood. We loved exploring Bushwick, Williamsburg and Manhattan. Easy to get everywhere :-)

Paweł User Profile
May 2017
The place is great. The room was very clean, bright and cosy including the private bathroom. Every morning we enjoyed fresh coffee and a small chat with the host. Elissa is a very outgoing and open-minded person. She looks carefully after your stay and the house. She is always ready to help with any issue. If the weather is nice you can also enjoy your breakfast on the roof. Their cat is very friendly. The nearest subway station is 10min on foot. The neighbourhood seems to be safe. I strongly recommend the place. Cheers.

Liz User Profile
April 2017
LOCATION, CHARM, EDGY - JUST ALTOGETHER PERFECT! This is the best AirBnb I've ever been to in the world - hands down. Not just because it's design is out of this world, or because it's in one of the hippest neighbourhoods in New York, but because the hosts were so welcoming and friendly. The house is all bespoke design with extraordinary attention to detail that you need when you are travelling - like phone ports and fresh water. We we made to feel right at home and truly enjoyed every minute - from breakfast atop the rooftop playground, to sharing a coffee at the handmade timber table. It's honestly that inspires you to want to quit your job and create art! Elissa and Jay have a son, who was delightful the whole time. Location is perfect - very gritty and edgy with lots of spunk. Highly recommended! Thanks Elissa for making our trip so perfect.

Jerick User Profile
April 2017
The house is exactly as described, very clean, and only a couple minute walk from a subway stop. I found myself appreciating the work Elissa and Jay have put into decorating the place multiple times. Would definitely stay there again!

Naomi User Profile
April 2017
Very comfy and convenient. Great host and cute kitty!

This host has 323 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

New York, New York, United States · Joined in June 2012
Elissa User ProfileElissa is a superhost.


My name is Elissa and I'm from Brooklyn NY. My husband Jay and I are enamelists and we travel the country exhibiting at museums and fine art and craft shows. We always mix in a lot of fun with our work. We love meeting new people, trying great food, and camping along the way.

I love being an airbnb host. It's actually one of the best things to ever happen to me. Almost everyone we host has turned into a friend. I think that's what I might like the most - friends that you don't know are your friends yet.

Jay and I are super polite and will make great guests and hosts. We are both non-smoking laid back people.

I love to collect american craft specifically but love all aspects of art, craft, design and architecture. When you stay at my house you will see how important craft and handmade things are to us. It's everywhere!

My favorite places to travel to are in Asia. I love Beijing. I seek out as authentic as possible asian food wherever we go. My husband Jay and I are very adventurous outdoors people. We camp 7 months out the year. We also have the most fab 11 year old son Cougar who inspires and delights us every second of the day. Doing things with him makes everything more fun.

Response rate: 100%
(past 30 days)
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Elissa’s place.
Elissa
Jean & Gabriel helps host.
Jean & Gabriel