Close up of our Garage. Mural by NeverOur building
Waterbury House East Williamsburg Master Bedroom
Waterbury House East Williamsburg Master Bedroom

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Instagram: @waterbury_house #waterbury_house
Our home is our passion! Welcome to Waterbury House! For the last 8 years we have been working on creating a gorgeous & serene handcrafted space in the heart of East Wiliamsburg Brooklyn. We hope our home inspires and relaxes you. We place a heavy emphasis on handmade American Craftsmanship. This room comfortably fits 2 in a full size bed with a private bathroom and shower. We are located 3 blocks from the subway.

The space

See why Time Out New York voted our place as one of the top 10 coolest places to stay in New York!

I am a chronic re arranger/decorator. I move things around constantly. If you want to follow the progress & changes of our home follow us on Instagram @waterbury_house

Please read through our entire listing so that you understand our home and there are no surprises!
Exposed wood beams and brick, fireplace, fantastic art, objects & roof deck. It almost doesn't seem like you’re in Brooklyn when you’re in our home.
We have a 6000 sq foot multi level roof with multiple seating areas and a gas/charcoal grill with smoker.

In the winter time enjoy sitting in front of our gorgeous mid century conical fireplace. Large kitchen with all the bells and whistles including a dishwasher. French press coffee maker. We always have plenty of gorgeous towels and linens as well as fresh soaps. There is always fabulous coffee.

We love kids - we have an twelve year old of our own. The roof is completely fenced off. There is a tree house, swing, see saw, tether ball and hop scotch as well as a bunch of toys. Kids love it over here as do adults :)

I hope you love staying in our home as much as we do!

Guest access

Roof Access
Laundry Room Access
Living Room and Kitchen Access
Coffee & Tea
We will make room in the refrigerator to store food

Interaction with guests

This is our primary residence so we are around a lot! I work from home and our housekeeper is here almost daily. We would love it if our guests would come introduce themselves as we have a little boy in the house :)

In addition, we expect our guests to be mature and responsible and to treat our home with respect. Please keep your rooms tidy.

We also ask that you respect our schedules in regards to checking in. No one likes to sit around all day waiting - please be clear on when you see yourself arriving so that we can coordinate a plan that works for everyone.

Other things to note

Please note that one of our studios and a bar are connected to our house. Studio mates typically start working between 10 am and 12 pm on weekdays and end around 6 pm. Sunday is very quiet. The bar is open until 4 am. If you are a very light sleeper I recommend ear plugs - certain nights you can hear faint music.

Chances are you will be sharing the house with another airbnb guest - please be respectful.

Hot and cold water in the bathroom are reversed.

Quiet hours in our home is 10 pm.

Please be fully clothed when in our home outside of the bedrooms.

We provide the following publication

New York Times Weekend Edition


We keep a fully stocked cabinet of everything you could need while travelling from toothpaste to allergy meds.

All bedding is 100% cotton and the comforters and pillows are hypo allergenic.

We use unscented organic vegetable based laundry detergent. If you know that you are allergic to vegetable based detergent please let me know and we will use something else.

We have one cat named pp (perfect pretty) she is 16 yrs old. She’s a very low maintenance outdoor cat. She basically comes and goes at her leisure.

Our plumbing is very old - please no tampons in the toilet.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Private bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 4PM
Check Out: 11AM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: 40
Security Deposit: 100
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 4PM

NUMBER 1 HOUSE RULE.

TOILET - The toilet and plumbing system is very effective; however, it will clog up if improper material is flushed. DO NOT FLUSH anything other than toilet paper. No feminine products should be flushed at anytime. If it is found that feminine products have been flushed and clog the plumbing / toilet system, Guest will be responsible for all plumbing call-out fees and repairs. Please do not flush tampons, pads, diapers tooth floss, paper towels, hair or condoms.

Do not remove the art or sculptures on the walls and do not move the furniture. If you break a piece of art the security deposit that we have held will not cover the cost of the piece. 2 pieces have been broken recently because someone decided to move them. If you are afraid that you or your child may break something please let us know and we will store them properly.

Simply put our home and everything in it is extremely nice. Please respect our house.

No smoking in the house.

No smoking on the roof

Quiet Hours 10 PM

No drug use.

Clear liquids only in the bedrooms. (white bedding)

No overnight guests or additional guests without pre authorization. We reserve the right to say yes or no to additional guests. As we have a small child in the house the additional guests has not been pre screened by us.

You must also acknowledge
Potential for noise - Our home is located in a neighborhood with street noise and nightlife.
Pet(s) live on property
Some spaces are shared - Guests will share the kitchen, living room and laundry room with our family and additional houseguests.

Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
The minimum night stay for this listing varies.
Add your travel dates to see more details.

202 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Star And Sam User ProfileStar And Sam is a superhost.
July 2017
Elissa's place is awesome , it is so close to grab coffee at Jessie's right on bushwick while you head to the subway around the corner to head to Manhattan . Elissa's area is very hip , artsy , and safe . You will find the " graffiti " on the buildings is art /murals and the people are very friendly . There are restaurants and bars all within walking distance as well . We didn't use the kitchen but it's well equipped if you need one , bed was very comfortable and we did have privacy . If you love cats PP is. Very friendly too !

Star And Sam User ProfileStar And Sam is a superhost.
July 2017
Elissa's place is fabulous , a. Very easy walk to Jessie's on bushwick for coffee on your way to the subway just a couple blocks away you'll find the L train to go anywhere you need to . Nightlife , eateries all within walking distance , uber is easy and cheap . We loved our room at Elissa's : our bed was really comfy. There was A/C right in the room if we needed it . A nice shared kitchen although we were on the run to our favorite places and didn't use it , great rooftop views if you have time to sit and enjoy . We really loved the cat PP as well. She is SOO lovable but yet doesn't intrude at all if you re not a cat lover . Elissa is super nice and prompt in answering any questions too .I would most DEFINATELY stay here again , thanks for a great stay Elissa !

Cathy User Profile
July 2017
Elissa's place is almost like staying in a hotel...but better. You get a beautiful, private space AND lovely hosts who are there to help you with anything you need. I would happily stay at Elissa's place again. Quick 5-minute walk to the subway and about a 25-30 minute ride into Manhattan. Easy peasy and a great deal!

Bethany User Profile
July 2017
Everything about Elissa's place was very thoughtful & just a delight! The location is perfect- walking distance to restaurants & close by to the L train. Elissa was wonderful with communication & we couldn't have had a better trip. We wish we could've stayed longer! Thanks for everything Elissa!

Marco User Profile
July 2017
Great place to stay, the house was clean, nice neighborhood, close to the metro station and interesting graffiti. Although we havent met face-to-face, Elissa was very quick in replying my messages. I definitely recommend this place.

Casey User Profile
June 2017
This is the kind of family you hope for when you book an airbnb. Warm, inviting, communicative, flexible with our schedule. Their home is cozy and beautifully decorated, but doesn't feel like you can't relax in it. We happened to share the house with them when we stayed, but it didn't feel weird at all. The guest room has AC and great window light. The toilet & shower connected to the room. Wish we would've had time to stay and drink coffee with them in the morning, but they were delightful all the same. Neighborhood isn't super noisy even though next to a restaurant; 10 min walk from shops and great food. A+ trip

Sophie User Profile
June 2017
Very nicely decorated comfortable bedroom with good private shower and restroom. Elissa and Jay are very welcoming and helpful.

This host has 350 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
New York, New York, United StatesJoined in June 2012
Elissa User ProfileElissa is a superhost.

My name is Elissa and I'm from Brooklyn NY. My husband Jay and I are enamelists and we travel the country exhibiting at museums and fine art and craft shows. We always mix in a lot of fun with our work. We love meeting new people, trying great food, and camping along the way.

I love being an airbnb host. It's actually one of the best things to ever happen to me. Almost everyone we host has turned into a friend. I think that's what I might like the most - friends that you don't know are your friends yet.

Jay and I are super polite and will make great guests and hosts. We are both non-smoking laid back people.

I love to collect american craft specifically but love all aspects of art, craft, design and architecture. When you stay at my house you will see how important craft and handmade things are to us. It's everywhere!

My favorite places to travel to are in Asia. I love Beijing. I seek out as authentic as possible asian food wherever we go. My husband Jay and I are very adventurous outdoors people. We camp 7 months out the year. We also have the most fab 11 year old son Cougar who inspires and delights us every second of the day. Doing things with him makes everything more fun.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.


This is Elissa’s place.
Elissa
Shelley helps host.
Shelley
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings