Copper Beech House near Newcastle

Bed & Breakfast - Private room · Claragh Road, Clough, BT30 8RS, United Kingdom

The Space

I live in a large country house which used to be a farm. It is 25 miles from Belfast and about 90 from Dublin. The bus to Belfast passes the end of my road.The beautiful mountains of Mourne are a few minutes drive away.The area I live in is surrounded by fields and is rural and serenely peaceful but still only 10 minutes from the lively seaside town of Newcastle.I love to have visitors and meet people from across the world. I have a good knowledge of all amenities as I work in the local library. I am also an amateur genealogist so if you are researching your Irish ancestors this is the place to stay. I can also take visitors on trips to local historic houses, castles and other ancient archaeological sites. I can do initial research for any family coming to research ancestors. Local amenities are nearly too many to mention. Mountain walking, horse riding, shooting are all available locally. Golfers should note that there are five courses nearby with The Royal County Down a championship course played regularly by Tiger Woods and Michael Douglas only minutes away, Kayaking, abseiling, archery, orienteering and wet water bouldering, sea swimming and mountain boarding are all available locally also. This is a family home not a regular bed and breakfast establishment so we like to treat our visitors like family.
I have two bedrooms for hire. They are newly decorated in a Victorian style and have a Victorian style bathroom on the same floor they are not ensuite. A cooked breakfast can be ordered for £3.00 per person, guests can cook their own or can partake of cereals, juice and toast free of charge. The area is full of beautiful walks and has a wide array of restaurants nearby. One serves excellent fish dishes. There are numerous pubs and clubs within a 15 minutes drive away. Saint Patricks grave and other local antiquities are 10 minutes away by car. I am willing to act as a local guide and to take visitors on a local tour of all the archaeological remains nearby for a small fee.

Guest Access

I have a separate sitting room which contains a tv with sky and a dining table so guests can have their own space or join in with the family if they wish to.

Interaction with Guests

I like to treat visitors as I would my own family when they visit but I would respect the wishes of guests if they want a more formal arrangment.

The Neighborhood

The peace and quiet, the green fields, the animals in them, all the local amenities within a 10 minute drive. I walk my dogs nearly every day to a small river nearby. on the way i pass ducks, geese dogs and donkeys. I have horses right next door in the neighbouring property.

Getting around

You would need to have a car to stay at my home though the bus to Belfast is only minutes away.

Other Things to Note

I have two dogs which are penned outside the house. I also have a cat so this house would not be suitable for those with a cat allergy. I also have a cockatiel. He is usually very quiet though sometimes can squak loudly especially if he smells toast he wants his share!

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 2.5
Beds: 2
Extra people: No Charge
Weekly Price: $172 /week
Monthly Price: $517 /month
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict
Pet Owner: Dog(s), Cat(s), and Other pet(s)
  • Of the six hosts on our trip throughout Ireland and Northern Ireland, Dee was by far the best. Outstandingly kind, thoughtful and generous with her beautiful home nestled amid a countryside full of blackberries. Ask for a meeting with Murphy.

    September 2013
  • Deirdre is a wonderfully generous and kind hostess. She was happy to share her (infinite) wisdom with us about the history of Ireland and our family history. She is very knowledgeable about the Newcastle area (where we could have easily spent 2 weeks instead of 2 days!)

    Her home, though not particularly accessible by transit, was perfect for us as we rented a car. The rooms were stunning; her presentation of food and home was so welcoming and caring... we felt like there was not a thing to do but relax and enjoy.

    I would highly recommend staying with Deirdre and spending a chunk of time in Newcastle!

    August 2013
Per Month
From
$52
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 14 times
Work
Library Assistant
About
I work in the local library and have knowledge of local historical sites, ancient antiquities, and genealogical sources and information.If you are researching your family tree perhaps I have the resources to help.
View full profile
Response Rate
83%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
2 weeks ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings