Living roomLiving room...


Entire home/apt

7 guests

3 bedrooms

3 beds

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
7 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Artwork by my family covers the walls of this house in Half Moon Bay, a town that still has rural charm, yet is only half an hour away from San Francisco. A five minute walk will give you the visual treat of the sun setting over the Pacific Ocean. Located in the Casa Del Mar neighborhood, the house is a 5 minute walk to the beach and the coastal bike trail, and a 15 minute walk to historic downtown Half Moon Bay, a 5 minute drive to Princeton Harbor, and close to great restaurants.

The space

Three bedroom, well loved and lived in artist's home a five minute walk from the beach. Each of the three bedrooms have a comfy queen bed. The large living room has couch with bedding if needed. There is a spacious front and back yard, perfect for barbecuing or sitting around the fire pit, and Buddha patio. Spacious kitchen is fully stocked and ready for meal creating. Cable TV, wifi, laundry facilities, and street parking This unique home is filled with art in every room. Sudan, the resident cat, will keep you company.

One of the best things about the house is that it is only a five minute walk to the beach, and a half an hour drive from San Francisco. Less than a mile away from the quaint historic downtown of Half Moon Bay... There are many fantastic restaurants in the area, including fresh fish down at Princeton Harbor where you can also go kayaking or try stand up paddle boarding in the breakwater. Hiking is bountiful, Montara Mountain, only seven miles away, has views at the top from San Francisco, East Bay, and the south coast. For surfers or fisherman, this is the place to come, we have plenty of both. The coastal trail is great for bike riding... feel free to use the bikes in the garage.

Guest access

The entire house is accessible for your pleasure, including the laundry room. Tenants occupy the detached garage studio on premises.

Interaction with guests

Although I am not always available to greet you, please feel free to call or text me with any questions, concerns, or tips to enjoy your stay in Half Moon Bay,

Other things to note

WiFi code is laslunas. It's ok to to put the cat out if she bothers you. (Mine is the pink and gray cat, the black and white ones live next door!)

There are tenants living in the detached garage. Please be mindful of them when you use the laundry room or are in the driveway.


The space
Bathrooms: 2
Bedrooms: 3
Beds: 3
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt
Self check-in: Doorman

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: 150
Security Deposit: 100
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules

Please do not go into dressers and closets as they are full of personal belongings... ok to use food in kitchen except booze.

Please leave the place as you found it. If you move something, put it back where you found it.

Please pile used sheets and towels on the washer when you leave, run the dishwasher and take out your trash. It would be much appreciated.

This is NOT a house for parties!


Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

Availability
1 night minimum stay

106 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Roisin User Profile
July 2017
Chris's place was beautiful, and exactly as described. A really unique house with beautiful art - my 4 y/o niece loved the trinkets and we all loved the artistic feel in the house. Chris was very responsive and a wonderful host. We enjoyed sitting out in the garden and had a lovely stay while in town for a wedding.

Amanda User Profile
July 2017
We were disappointed with our stay at Chris's place. It's our first negative experience in an AirBnb and we usually have nothing but good things to say about our host and their residence. To make it easier for those considering a stay at Chris's place, here is where things went wrong: On the cats: The listing and initial communication with Chris did not adequately convey the expectation that you take care of her cat (and the "neighborhood" cat) while she is gone. The cats are pushy, needy, whiny, cry all night outside of the bedroom doors, and twice pooped in the middle of the hallway. In addition, the place was not cleaned well and my allergies were awful. Heads up if you're considering staying here -- you'll essentially be petsitting. Usually people pay YOU to take care of their animals, not the other way around. It was weird. Basically, MUST LOVE CATS. On cleanliness: There were cobwebs and daddy long-leg spiders everywhere. The rugs were dusty and dirty, some were stained. Her recently-used towels are still hanging up, all her stuff is in the shower, everything is very much lived-in and it's as if she just left five minutes ago. It left us feeling uncomfortable. Outside, the sun chairs were broken, dirty, old, and in awful shape. There were new ones waiting to be assembled so we assembled them so we'd have some place to sit. The fire pit was nice and we appreciate that she had wood available for us to use. On the space: The large living room is nice and the paintings/eclectic decor are fun. Excellent book collection. There were lots of nude paintings and photographs everywhere, but that didn't bother me. Just an FYI if you aren't into that kind of art. Also, there is no place to hang your clothes. We were there for a wedding and had no place to hang our dresses or suits, so they were a bit wrinkled from having to stay in the suitcase. Maybe pack a steamer. On the beds: The master bedroom bed was very comfortable and soft, which was good for my bad shoulders. Our friends stayed in one of the other bedrooms and the mattress seemed to just be some foam in a low frame on the floor, but they didn't complain to me about it. Overall, I think we seriously over-payed for the space and we all agreed it would have been better to stay at a local hotel. It was disappointing. Hopefully this honest review will help others know what to expect.
Chris User Profile
Response from Chris:
Amanda, I am so sorry and surprised at your review. I rent the space a lot, and no one else has said such things! My house is cleaned professionally before each and every guest comes. Although you might be able to find a spider, saying there are "daddy long-legs everywhere" is just not true. I am sorry you didn't enjoy my cats, most people say they do. I have never heard of them crying all night long, they usually just sleep. If one of them pooped in the house they must have been under duress, and I'm sorry about that. This IS my house, and I do live here, but I don't leave any used towels, all are freshly washed for my guests. I'm sorry if you were uncomfortable. There are not "lots of nude paintings" but maybe 2 or 3 out of my hundreds, I'm sorry if that offended you. The other mattress is not foam, but it is a low frame from Ikea. (They could have stayed in the other bedroom if they don't like low beds). I know my adirondacks needed replacing, and I had bought the new ones but didn't have time to assemble them before I left for my daughter's wedding, and I thought it was so nice you did it for me! Yes, it sounds as if you would be more suited to a hotel, rather than a home This review was very hurtful to me, as I take pride in my house, and open it up to people to enjoy it. I hope most people read all my other excellent reviews and take yours with a grain of salt.
July 2017

Todd User Profile
June 2017
Chris was a great host. Great communication. Generous & Flexible. The house is eclectic & spacious. Lots of natural light. Friendly cats. What's not to like.

Michael User Profile
June 2017
Beautiful place, well-equipped and comfortable. Plenty of space, and clearly well-maintained and cleaned. The cats are sweethearts. The place has tons of character and is conveniently located with plenty of parking. Chris was super responsive. Highly recommended!

Rosemary User Profile
June 2017
We had a lovely stay during a beautiful weekend in Half Moon Bay. My son and I especially enjoyed taking the bikes out for a beautiful ride on the bike trail. Chris was very responsive to our questions. Loved all the artwork throughout the house.

Brooks User Profile
May 2017
Such a fun and unique home! Love all the artwork and very homey. Nice of Chris to share it with us!

Sheri User Profile
May 2017
We rode the bikes that are available up and down the beach trail for a few hours. The house is colorful, clean and unique.

This host has 11 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Half Moon Bay, California, United StatesJoined in June 2012
Chris User Profile

I'm an artist, writer and teacher from Half Moon Bay.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings