Open plan dinning room area,Spacious kitchen with large, american style fridge freezer, gas cooker, oven, microwave, dishwasher and washing machine.
Riverside relaxation, great location.
Riverside relaxation, great location.


Entire home/apt

6 guests

3 bedrooms

3 beds

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Beautiful home on River Dodder, prefect for a family vacation in Ireland. Kid friendly with rockers, cribs, playmats etc. if needed. Great location, close to the city (20 min cycle / 15 min bus) but with easy access to the beach, mountains and main motorways to all other Irish cities. Stylish, peaceful & easily accessible!

The space

The house is just over 1700 square feet, around 160 square meters. It has a very large, open plan living room, dinning room and kitchen, prefect for your family to relax in and make yourselves at home.

There's also another living room downstairs with open fireplace and a home office setup (with WiFi throughout the house) that you can use if you want some time to yourself.

The garden is large, south-facing and tranquil. It's a great place to sit and enjoy the sun, read a book or enjoy a drink or two. We have apple and plum trees and grow strawberries, blackberries, blueberries, gooseberries and rhubarb so you're welcome to pick from the garden and bake a nice crumble if you want.

The front of the house looks out over the river Dodder and a bank of trees which stretch the length of the road on the far side of the river. At each end of the road are large parks with beautiful walks, Bushy park in particular has great amenities with tennis courts, football pitches, woodlands and lakes. If you want to borrow tennis rackets for a game that's no problem.

Again at either end of the road are bus routes that take you straight into town or indeed to the airport. Taking a bus to the city centre outside of rush hour takes around 20 minutes (up to 45 in rush hour). It would take between 40 mins to 1 hour to walk. For cyclists Dublin city centre is a 15 - 20 minute cycle away, the Dublin mountains are around a 40 minute cycle or you could head east to Sandymount beach in around 15 minutes.

If you're driving there's great access out to the M50 and on to all the main motorway routes and we have off street parking for three cars.

Dundrum shopping centre (Europe's largest) is close by too, 15 mins by bike or 10 mins by bus.

We'll have hair dryers and fresh towels and linen ready for when you arrive. You can also use the washer, iron, cooker etc. so you can travel light and not stress about the little things.

One firm rule is to please smoke outside.

Guest access

* 3 bathrooms including 1 ensuite, 1 large main bathroom and one downstairs toilet
* Large open plan living room, dinning room & kitchen
* Second living room

Other things to note

Please look at the map of our other listing where you'll find all our recommendations for local restaurants, pubs, walks etc...


The space
Bathrooms: 2.5
Bedrooms: 3
Beds: 3
Check In: Flexible
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Some pet(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 24 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee: 24
Security Deposit: 601
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 king bed
Bedroom 3
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in time is flexible

Smoking outside.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
5 nights minimum stay

5 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Stephen User Profile
June 2017
We stayed at John and Diana place for a week at the end of May and we really loved the homely feel, quiet scenic location and all the amenities the house had to offer. It was perfect for our small family ( 2 parents 1 child) and could easily accommodate bigger families if required. Di and John were great and made sure we had everything we needed for our stay. We would happily stay here again and would highly recommend this place to others.. Stephen

Miriam User Profile
December 2016
The host canceled this reservation 75 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Sarah User Profile
December 2016
The house is beautiful and spacious, with very tasteful decor and fully family friendly. John and Diana could not have been more helpful in helping arrange our stay and the location (right next to the dodder river) is perfect for walks and runs. We would be very happy to stay again.

Thorn User Profile
August 2013
John and Diana are lots of fun to stay with. They welcomed us like old friends when we arrived and even cooked us dinner and made tea, though it was 11 at night! The house is big, very clean and nice and with a gorgeous back yard (and if you're there in summer you might get to pick some berries or rhubarb, or have a barbecue). As an added bonus, you get to hang out with Alfie, their friendly Irish water spaniel. The house is in a residential neighborhood a bit far from central Dublin (about 50 min walking or 20 min by bus), but it's right on a direct bus route. And it's near several neighborhoods with shops and supermarkets. We enjoyed our stay and found it comfortable and relaxing. Thanks guys!

Stephanie User Profile
October 2016
1er sejour en Irlande en famille . La maison de John et Diana est splendide. Un vrai cocon familiale. Elle est spatieuse , on s'y sent bien...comme à la maison . La décoration est soignée. Les transports sont faciles avec la ligne 16 qui nous conduit en ville en 30 min. ( Arrêt de bus à 5 minutes de la maison ) Dommage , nous n avons pas pu rencontrer nos hôtes qui etaient absents . A recommander pour les familles et les personnes aimant la tranquillité et le repos . Tout était parfait . Merci pour tout
John And Diana User Profile
Response from John And Diana:
Nous sommes ravis que vous avez apprécié la maison tant et que vous avez eu de belles vacances ici en Irlande.
October 2016

This host has 22 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Rathfarnham, IrelandJoined in April 2012
John And Diana User Profile

Easy going, friendly couple in our mid 30s. We both work full-time though Diana is currently on maternity leave with our little girl. We love trying new foods and wines and love to travel and meet new people. We both like hiking and swimming. We're often out at the weekends but love cooking and socialising with guests on weeknights. I was born and raised in Dublin and my wife knows it well so we'll be able to help you plan a great break away in Dublin!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings