1 bed house, Leeds, 15min to City

House - Entire home/apt · Aviary Mt, Leeds, England LS12 2, United Kingdom

The Space

Hello, and welcome to my one bedroom house in Armley, Leeds. It has a separate lounge, kitchen and bedroom with king size bed and desk. The front room sofa has a very comfy pull-out double bed.

New furniture and everything is very clean. It's surprisingly spacious for a one bedroom back to back house and still very cosy with central heating and double glazing. The house also has some outstanding 'pieces' from the 1970s embedded in its heart. :)

This would be an ideal spot to visit either of the universities or explore Leeds's industrial heritage, or all the shopping Leeds has to offer at the Victorian Quarter and new Trinity shopping centre. Try Laynes Coffee, Friends of Ham or Hansa's, the Henry Moore Institute or Roundhay Park, while you are here.

The house is in a great location (around the corner from Armley Branch Road):

* 2 mins to the bus stop for the main bus routes to city centre and Bradford.

* 15 minutes to city centre by bus with very frequent connections (or 40 mins. walk along the canal).

* 30 mins walk to the universities.

* 2 mins walk to the canal, Gotts Park, and the Leeds Industrial Museum.

* 7 mins walk to Virgin V gym, Vue multiplex cinema etc...

* 5 mins walk to local shops on Armley High Street, Tesco Metro, Co-op, local butchers.

* Good Indian restaurants, gourmet pizza delivery and plenty of fast food close by.

The area is a little bit run down and can sometimes be noisy but never past 11-12, and it's very safe. Generally working class and Eastern European, Armley has increasingly become a cheap alternative to Chapel Allerton and Headingly for young professionals and first time buyers.

Also:

+All bills included in weekly and monthly rates.

+ Broadband internet with unlimited downloads (over WIFI or ethernet cable).

+ 21" computer monitor (VGA, DVI and HDMI in) and speakers (3.5 mm headphone jack in).

+ UK 'pay as you go' mobile phone and sim card.

+ Clean linen - sheets, pillows duvet cover - and towels.

+ 14 Tog real duck feather duvet (comforter).

+ Clothes washing machine, powder, clothes horse, iron and ironing board, and there's a launderette 5 mins away.

+ Full set of kitchen utensils - pots, pans, cutlery etc. - and crockery - plates, bowls, mugs and glasses.

+ Breakfast, tea and real coffee.

And free on street parking in front of the house.

Please get in touch if you have any questions. Thanks for reading through the ad!

*NB*: There is no TV in the house, but the internet is very quick with unlimited downloads. If you bring a laptop or tablet with a VGA, DVI or HDMI out you'll be able to hook it up to the computer monitor and speakers and watch movies or TV from your own files or the internet. If you have apple you might need an adapter but these are cheap and easy to find.

*NB*: For late and early arrivals (outside office hours 9-6) there is a £10 charge to pay for a baby sitter to look after the kids while we check you in.

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Extra people: $17 / night after 2 guests
Minimum Stay: 3 nights
Weekly Price: $293 /week
Monthly Price: $1107 /month
Security Deposit: $433
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Flexible

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Thank you!!
    Perfect place to stay when working in the city. House is a bit more used than pictures suggest and lots of wear and tear throughout nevertheless good place to rest for the night. Few minor issues with the property but were all addressed quickly and efficiently throughout my months stay. Hayley the house manager for Berris was lovely. So super organised and friendly.

    Will be sure to stay again if working at the Playhouse again. Was only a 12 minute cycle from door to door!

    (Note for tourists cycling in the city. Make sure you use several heavy duty locks - my bike was stolen from the city centre in the early evening!)

    Many thanks!

    March 2014
  • Great Host, beautiful apartment!! thanks for everything Hayley and Berris, Hope to see you again!

    February 2014
  • Hayley and Berris were very kind and available with us. The house was very nice, clean and warm. The neighborhood was well served. Food they left was very helpful. Berris also refunded us because we had to leave earlier.
    We recommend the house to everyone!

    December 2013
  • Hayley and Berris were great hosts to us.

    The house is basic, without luxuries, but we felt very comfortable there. Also they were very flexible with our times of arrival and departure, and accommodated to our need, which made everything much easier for us.
    Very attentive hosts, but not in an intrusive way! :-)

    When we arrived the house was very clean and they had left everything we would need so we wouldn't have to bring more things with us; there were clean towels, all cooking basics (including oil, salt, etc.) and they even left milk, juice and cereals for our breakfast.

    The house is far from the city centre, about 10 minutes by Taxi or 15 by bus, but taxis in Leeds are very cheap and there are bus timetables in the house if preferred.

    I would recommend coming here :-)

    December 2013
  • Berris was one of the most helpful hosts on airbnb. All the experience was flawless and perfect. Since he was out of town, Hayley, a very nice lady met with us to hand out the house key and gave us an orientation.

    The house is very clean and well equipped with everything we needed. In addition, they got us pasta, orange juice, fresh milk, some pastries, tea/coffee. WOW! Amazing.

    Location was very convenient. We had our family event in Headingley and it was just 10 min drive there. There are lots of good restaurants around there. I recommend Bengal Brasserie if you fancy some good curry. Also Berris provided a very comprehensive guide to the area including restaurant and sightseeing recommendations.

    We'll be back!

    November 2013
  • The place is great,it has pretty much anything you need, except for the microwave, but it wasn't that big of a problem. Other than that, house is super comfy, cozy, very home-like and clean (!!). Thanks Berris and Hayley, absolutely fab hosts and its been a pleasure to stay. The location is not in city centre, but there is a bus stop real close and the drive to centre is about 10 min. Next time I'll be in Leeds I'll definitely chose this cute Armley house.

    Thanks!

    November 2013
  • Thank you Berris for this very nice appartment. This flat was great for me, there is a very comfortable bed a lot of space in the room and a big desk. The bathroom is nice and clean. The kitchen is well equiped but small if your more than 2. To get to the appartment there is the #5 bus from the train station, Duncan or Wellington Streets. It is a 10-15 min bus ride from the city center to the flat. This is a typical house with nice old features. I certainly recommand this to everyone !

    October 2013
Per Month
From
$50
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 67 times
Languages
Dansk, English, Norsk, Svenska
About
I'm an academic and my friends are mostly school teachers - mas claro :) very chilled. My work involves a lot of research and writing but not much teaching in the last few years. At the moment I'm studying the historical relationship between intellectual property and the biosciences. I think GMOs, food security and biodiversity present really exciting but possibly dangerous issues to us, as a society, to deal with. Studying the history of genetics and IP seems like a good way to learn about how to deal with our current problems. And maybe, just maybe, we'll sort it all out! I worked and studied at the University of Leeds for many years; it's a great University in a great town. There's decent coffee and food to be found in Leeds, some beautiful art and lovely parks. Try Laynes Coffee, Friends of Ham or Hansa's, the Henry Moore Institute or Roundhay Park, while you are here. I'm working away from the UK at the moment. But it's always easy to get hold of me. Drop me a line if you have any questions.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
2 days ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings