Spacious space to sleep, relax, and work.French doors to the garden, veggie patch and outside entertaining area.  This view is facing east.


Private room

3 Guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds


Private room

3 Guests

1 Bedroom

2 Beds

Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Our eco friendly home and family welcome guests to respectfully join our community life and make the most of their stay with us. The bedroom is large, light and spacious. Tell us what you need and we will do all we can to make it happen.

The space

Strawbale Home In Leafy Suburb -

I am happy to share our family home for other travellers visiting Melbourne.

We have a welcoming home with: reclaimed timbers, textured strawbale walls, open plan living, fire place in winter and an outside entertaining area with table tennis and bbq and couches. The guest bedroom is quiet, private and reflects the natural elements of our eco friendly home construction. Some people call it a well loved urban barn.

The guest room is large, light and spacious. It has a double or queen bed with table and 2 chairs, a couch, TV (by request), wardrobe space (by request) and a shared bathroom ensuite. It has easterly views out to the garden, with great ventilation from french doors and an opposing window that open to allow a beautiful breeze into the room on warmer days.

Location
We are 25km from Melbourne CBD and are 15km to Mt Dandenong and 20km from the Yarra Valley. The beach, the city, the hills and the valley are all about 30min away by car.

ActivitiesI have a folder with a variety of eating places close to home and a list of services and activities you may be interested to do. We are happy to help you coordinate your plans whilst in Melbourne.

Tennis courts, an oval and a play ground are 500metres away. I can provide 2 yoga mats, tennis racquets, bicycles and balls. Our street backs onto the bike path along Taralla Creek and leads you to Dandenong Creek bike path.

Public transport is close by: By train you can get off at Ringwood Station and catch bus #679 to the PB petrol station near the corner of Canterbury Rd and Gracedale ave. Its a 5min walk from there.

Heathmont, Ringwood East and Bayswater stations are also a 20 min walk away.

Our place feels like an eco retreat in the suburbs. You feel close to the natural elements of the earth with our style of construction and earth/reclaimed building materials. People most often say they feel 'at home and relaxed' in our space.

Street parking is available for your car/caravan/motorhome. Driveway parking is available for motorbikes or cars by request.

Guest access

You will be able to access the communal kitchen, the open plan lounge area and the more private lounge room where the fireplace is. You are free to enjoy the outside spaces, and use the veggies from the garden bed in moderation.

Interaction with guests

I will be available throughout your stay to check how you are going and to meet your needs as best I can.


The space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Pet Owner: Dog(s), cat(s), and other pet(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: $23 / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee: $12
Security Deposit: $77
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app. Learn more

House Rules

Please communicate what you need so we can help you.
Please be quiet before 7am and quiet after 10pm
Help keen communal spaces tidy. Eg if you are using the fireplace or kitchen or hot tub etc
Please take your shoes off in the carpet areas.
Everyone aims to keep the lines of communication open so we can all understand each other better.
Your pets may be allowed to stay here but please discuss with me first.
Smoking is only allowed outside - patio entertaining area ok.

You must also acknowledge
Pet(s) live on property - 2 quiet cats, 1 Jack Russell
Some spaces are shared - Your ensuite bathroom, and the rest of the house.

Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund, including service fees.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

9 Reviews


Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Gurvinder User Profile
May 2017
Thank you for everything

Tim User Profile
April 2017
Erika is great to deal with where your comfort is obviously important to her, the house has a fantastic vibe.
Erika User Profile
Response from Erika:
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back. Cheers, Erika
April 2017

Jeff User Profile
March 2017
Once again, a great place to stay if you need somewhere comfortable in Ringwood East. Erika is warm & friendly which makes for a comfortable stay.

Jeff User Profile
February 2017
Erika's place is excellent and Erika & her family, warm & welcoming. The space is large and the bed is super comfy. Unfortunately I was called away at the last minute for work otherwise would've stayed longer. However, I will definitely return when in the area again.

Ashleigh User Profile
October 2016
Beautiful space, quiet and cosy.

Enquiries User Profile
October 2016
Erica, the host, was pleasant and friendly. But the standard of the room, furniture, bedding and bathroom was below average and as much as I loved her pets, the only good thing was the natural warmth from the straw bales. Sorry Erica but the doggie smell was terrible in the bedroom and the toilet was filthy
Erika User Profile
Response from Erika:
Thank you for your honest feedback and I shall certainly address all the issues you raise. I care that the room is clean and pleasant for my guests and will make sure it is so. Our straw bale home certainly has an urban barn feel to it and the bathroom can be shared with several people daily so I shall check that my profile accurately describes this. My sincere apologies for any inconvenience to you. Kindly, Erika
October 2016

Sue User Profile
August 2013
Staying with Erika was a great experience. She was friendly and went out of her way to make me comfortable, even picking me up from the station. The room was very comfortable and quiet and sleeping in the straw bale was much more restful than a normal house. I felt more like a family friend than a guest, and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again and recommend it to friends. Thanks Erika!!

Ringwood East, Australia · Joined in May 2011
Erika User Profile

I am an adventurer of life, curious, open minded and a people person, I like to dance, cycle, do yoga and enjoy the moment that I am living. There is almost nothing better than deepening connection and intimacy with people I have in my life, alongside being a helpful person and serving a greater purpose. I love my work with birthing women and being a part of supporting someone to be more confident and able to achieve what they hope to achieve.

Response rate: 100%
(past 90 days)
Response time: within an hour