Guest room dresser and mirrorGuest room reading chair
West KY Country Retreat near Lakes and Recreation
West KY Country Retreat near Lakes and Recreation

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Western Kentucky has lakes, rivers, streams, LBL National Recreation Area, hunting, fishing, boating, and quiet rural countryside. I am close to all that with a comfortable inviting home to share with you while you enjoy all the area has to offer.

We are also a premier viewing spot for the 2017 Solar Eclipse in August!

The space

My home is located on a quiet farm setting. I am conviently located 3 miles from I-69 and approximately 15 miles from I-24. Within 30 minutes of Lake Barkley, Kentucky Lake, and LBL National Recreation area. I do have a chocolate labor doodle who stays indoors. The bedroom is furnished with a queen sized bed, full size dresser with mirror and nice size closet. Two windows allow for great views of the surrounding farmland. The sunsets are beautiful when taken in view from the westwerly facing front porch. I have a fully equipped kitchen with all stainless appliances you are welcome to use as well as a private bathroom with tub & shower combo & laundry facility.

If your looking for a quiet place to getaway to work, study, compose a work of art or simply get away for some R&R I don't think you'd be disappointed here. During weekend stays Breakfast and/or dinner may be provided at your request. I do love to cook and entertain when I have the time.

Guest access

You will have access to all parts of the home with the exception of my bedroom and bathroom. The bedrooms are on opposite ends of the house so it works well for the privacy of the guests and the host.

Interaction with guests

I work Monday - Friday 7 to 4. Outside of that time I am usually home. I am happy to engage with you as well as give you the space you want and need to do whatever you want to do while in the area.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Private bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Flexible
Check Out: 1PM
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities
Kitchen
Internet
TV
Essentials

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Weekly Discount: 19%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is flexible

Mutual respect is the main rule. Respect me, my dog, my home, and my property.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

4 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
George User Profile
September 2017
Shane's place is in a very quiet area. He has done a fantastic job in renovating. He worked during the day so we had to place mainly to ourselves. Shared some conversation during the evening related to history of the area which was quite enjoyable and informative. We took some time to explore some of the outbuildings on the farm and enjoy the livestock (especially the horses) on the property next door. Having coffee ready in the morning was a real treat. Will stay here again if we're back in the area. I strongly recommend staying with Shane.

Cynthia User Profile
August 2017
Shane is a very accommodating and gracious host. Whether I needed a nap or a chat, he was very attentive. The room was clean and comfortable and his home is lovely. I also enjoyed meeting his charming dog. I really recommend him if your travels take you into Western Kentucky. I was there to see the eclipse, and Shane went out of his way to provide a bed for me the night after. I'm very pleased, it couldn't have been a better visit.

Mark User Profile
August 2017
Shane tells me that he offers a room on airbnb because he likes people. It shows in everything he does. He is warm, kind, and generous with his time and home. It would be almost unfair to future guests to tell you just how great a time we had with Shane, but I will say that my son and I came for the Solar Eclipse of 2017 and ended up having the greatest celebration of life and the universe (actually) that we could ever have imagined. We are profoundly grateful for the memorable gathering of friends, family, and like-minded strangers (new friends) that Shane instigated and fostered. To focus on the 'concrete' things that airbnb guests are interested in, I can report that the room and bed are clean and comfortable, as is the lovely home. Shane welcomes you to make yourself at home and use pretty much whatever you need. Utility note: Wifi is fast, though it is weak except in the living room. Shane mentions on airbnb that he has a dog. I'm not a huge dog fan, but this dog is exceptional. She has an absolutely lovely 'personality' and I would (almost) gladly have taken her home. Not a chance, though. Ask Shane to tell you her story. She's not going anywhere.

Ann User Profile
March 2017
Shane is a welcoming and accommodating host. The area is rural, scenic and yet close to the interstate. Our room was attractive, clean and comfortable and Shane was flexible about our arrival and departure time. Wish we could have stayed longer to explore the area and the recreational area nearby.

Princeton, Kentucky, United StatesJoined in June 2013
Shane User Profile

I am a single guy who enjoys having house guests in my home. I love to travel myself. I frequent Chicago and Nashville, however I am always ready to visit any big city. I also love cruises and the Caribbean. I enjoy theater and the arts, cooking, dinning, out, and just enjoying whatever I find myself doing. I am very involved in the communities in which I live and work. I consider myself a good conversationalist and always up for a good conversations and glass of wine or even a beer!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighborhood

Similar listings