The quality full-size mattress in your private room on the first floor.  The curtained area behind holds hanging and shelf storage for your belongingsAnother view in the room, with antique dresser and mirror.
Private room
2 Guests
1 Bedroom
1 Bed
Per Night
You won’t be charged yet
197 travelers saved this place

About this listing

A craftsman era 1914 bungalow on a pleasant, tree-lined street. Cozy private room with comfortable bed, and restaurants, bars & grocery walking distance away. Chicago is easily accessible via public transit or highway nearby. The best of both worlds!


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 11AM
Check Out: 10AM
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: $20
Security Deposit: $200
Weekly Discount: 14%
Cancellation: Moderate
Weekend Price: $65 / night

Description

The space

My home is a craftsman bungalow in Oak Park with a private guest bedroom and shared bath.

Quiet, residential neighborhood with nearby grocery store, restaurants, bars, live music, and parks. I have lived in Chicago and Oak Park over 25 years and am happy to help with suggestions for places to visit, great restaurants, or just to answer questions about the area.

The guest room is on the first floor of the house, as well as the shared bath and common areas. There are no extra fees for parking, or more than one guest.

Five minute walk to the train to Chicago (Blue Line) and a 25 minute train ride to downtown. Driving to downtown is a quick 15 minute trip when traffic is clear, or you can leave the car at the house and utilize the train as many guests have.

Oak Park is also home to Frank Lloyd Wright architecture, including his home and studio and Unity Temple, which are a ten minute drive or 25 minute walk. Many guests have enjoyed taking the walking tour of the FLW neighborhood as there are many houses and buildings designed by him in close proximity to one another.

The house retains many original features and is filled with antique and vintage items, as well as artistic touches and things I have collected while travelling. There is a front porch with seating and porch swing overlooking the front gardens, as well as a more private back deck with seating in the shady back yard.
Free parking and WIFI.
Cats share the space, but can be kept out of your room if you so desire, and are kept out of the room when no guests are staying. Non-smoking household.

Amenities within walking distance:
•Beautiful parks with playgrounds, swimming pool, tennis, sand volleyball, and baseball
•Fitzgerald's live music venue
•Harrison Street Arts District w/ artist galleries/shops
•Oak Park Conservatory
•Ethnic restaurants
•Coffee Shops
•Neighborhood grocery and drug stores

Nearby Oak Park attractions:
•Downtown Oak Park with shops and restaurants
•Classic Lake Theater (runs latest box office movies)
•Frank Lloyd Wright Home & Studio and Unity Temple
•Historic neighborhoods including several Frank Lloyd Wright homes and many other beautiful homes
•Ernest Hemingway House and Museum
•One of the area's largest and longest running farmer's markets (Saturdays June-October)

Chicago Attractions all easily accessible from Blue Line train:
•Skydeck at Willis Tower (previously Sears Tower)
•Landmark theater district
•State Street shopping
•Millennium Park/Cloudgate
•The Art Institute
•Chicago's amazing restaurant scene
•Wicker Park and Logan Square neighborhoods
•Historic Auditorium Theater
•Chicago Symphony Orchestra
•Grant Park & Buckingham Fountain
•Chicago's beautiful lakefront

•Navy Pier, Museum Campus, containing the world- famous Field Museum of Natural History, Shedd Aquarium and Adler Planetarium are highly accessible from downtown Chicago.
•30 minute cab ride to both O’Hare and Midway airports, or public transit accessible.


House Rules
Check-in is after 11AM

No smoking


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

Your Host


Lissa

Lissa

Oak Park, Illinois, United States · Joined in March 2012

I'm a foodie traveler, who spends time when not traveling cooking, gardening, tending to my bee hives, and just hanging out with friends.

Response rate: 100%(past 90 days)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections