large central room - double bed D6

Private room
1 Guest
1 Bed
Per Night
Report this listing
You have reported this listing. Undo?

About this listing

Spacious sunny room in old Georgian house. 26 minutes walk from the city centre or 15 mins on the bus. Ten mins walk from trendy Portobello. Bus stops. supermarkets, bars, cafes, swimming pool and cinema are 2 minutes away. Sleeps one.

large central room - double bed D6

The Space
Accommodates: 1
Bathrooms: 1.5
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 7:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Room type: Private room


Cleaning Fee: $14
Security Deposit: $116
Weekly discount: 3%
Cancellation: Strict


The Space

Very large double room in beautiful period home in residential neighbourhood, 15 to 20 minutes walk from Trinity college or a 10 minute bus journey. Close to the city centre and very close to all amenities. I am on a direct bus route to UCD the 142.
The house is probably more suited for people who will be out and about all day

I am here during the day as I work from home so its probably more suited to someone ho will be out and about. The house is quiet between 11 pm and 7.30 am. During the day people will be in and out and I may be on conference calls. Don't expect on a weekday for quiet to sleep in. It wont be very noisy (unless the hedges are being cut) but there will be life and noise.

I am located in a friendly safe central neighbourhood with restaurants, bars and coffee shops and a cinema across the road all minutes away
You are 15 to 20 minutes walk to Trinity or a 10 minute bus ride (2 mins walk to bus stop), on a direct bus route to UCD (142, 15 mins away).
2 minutes from
- 4 supermarkets
- a great and inexpensive Palestinian restaurant, Little Jerusalem,
- Starbucks and MacDonalds and several inexpensive Thais and Indians
- a great fish and chip shop
- Slatterys a listed Victorian pub,
a cinema, swimming pool and a laundry.
10 minutes walk to the green line Luas.
Shared bathroom, shared with max one other guest and sometimes me (if I want a bath).
continental breakfast available on request in beautiful garden with friendly poodle, foxes and loads of birds
no smoking inside or out !!
You can keep some small things in the fridge if you wish and have a tea, coffee or a drink or heat something in the microwave .
I do not provide cooking facilities.
There is a launderette around the corner should you wish to do your laundry. If you stay more than a week I will do a load of washing for you.
You are welcome to sit and study or use your computer in my dining room.
I work from home, the sitting room is my home office and is generally unavailable to guests. My garden and garden room are now asleep for the winter but in Spring summer and autumn it is pleasant to sit there.
You can put a bike in my shed at the front of the garden but I do not guarantee safety.Lock it. I do not have parking but it is free on the road after 6 pm and before 8 am on weekdays and at the weekend.

Lovely gardens with lots of wildlife, foxes, frogs and birds like being in the county but in the city.

Walking distance from theatres and the concert hall.

This room is not available for longer term let. Please don't send me enquiries re same.

Guest Access

The house, dining room, garden room, and garden but limited use of the kitchen to heat something up or put something in the fridge. No cooking. . I work from home and use the sitting room as my home office. Please if I am in there with a computer with the door shut during the day don't expect to come in and sit and chat with me me.
My printer and ink are paid for by my work. I can't print boarding passes for you but there is an internet cafe around the corner
The bathroom is shared there is a hair dryer in the bottom of the airing cupboard (the door to the right of the bath)

Interaction with Guests

I am here normally to greet you and tell you about the neighbourhood. After that its up to you. Some people like to chat, some get up and go. Some people have a drink with me. I wont be intrusive but if you are interested and you want me to show you the neighbourhood or make recommendations I will.

I do work from home mostly using the sitting room as my office (I have two other reception rooms). If I am in there with the door shut using a computer please don't assume I am free to talk to you.

The Neighborhood

I love Rathmines close to town but a village where families live, parks, schools a cinema, swimming pool and gym. supermarkets, health food shops pubs restaurants, cafes, bookshops it has it all.
Local Sights
Library Rathmines road Lower – William Morris Window (URL HIDDEN)
Mt Jerome cemetary, Harolds Cross – wonderful Victorian Cemetary, (URL HIDDEN)
Sandford Church, Sandford road, Ranelagh, Harry Clarke Stained windows, (URL HIDDEN)
Helen Lucy Dillon garden, open Saturdays, Sandford Road, Ranelagh, (URL HIDDEN)
Slatterys pub, Rathmines road Lower, listed Victoria wooden pub – look around they have some pictures of old Rathmines, no website.
If you want to walk you around and tell you a little bit about the architecture happy to.

Getting Around

There are loads of buses to and from Rathmines and the luas is a ten minute walk.There is no direct bus from the airport, take a cab ( I have a guy I use Alan who does a set rate) or get a bus and the 14 or 15 or 140 from Dame street/College Green
. The 18 from Castlewood Avenue will bring you to Ballsbridge and Sandymount or Palmerston.
From Harolds Cross (15 minutes walk away) you can get a 16 to the airport.
Buses only take exact change and do not give change or take notes. I recommend buying a Leap card in Mini Mart on the Rathmines road lower opposite Lidl or at the airport (in the Spar)

Other Things to Note

There are four supermarkets within 5 minutes walk and a cinema across the road. There are numerous small restaurants and takeouts including starbucks and MacDonals. Some great quirky shops like "the Third Policeman" and a great weekly house clearance auction
Little Jerusalem I love or Slattery pub

network vodafone 821a
security key AUYJ88CYKRVVTD

+ More

House Rules

Quiet house. Have fun but respect the house
No checkins after 10 pm.
This is a relaxed house but I do have some rules. I have had a lot of people to stay, the vast majority are considerate and clean and quiet. I am sure you will be too. The rules are pretty comprehensive and cover the times when people have not abided by my house rules. Don't be intimidated

I work from home and the house is probably more suited to people who will be out and about a lot. I am here during the day and people call in and out. Don't expect complete quiet in the morning. This is a lived in home.

1.Access: You have access to your room and to the dining room. I use the sitting room as a home office and in general it is not available for guests. I do not give access to cooking facilities in the kitchen but you may keep some small things in the fridge and heat something up in the microwave.
In the summer you have access to the conservatory, my garden and the terrace.
I don't provide access to my washer dryer but will do a load of laundry for you if you stay more than a week. If you want to do some hand washing you can hang the clothes on my line in the back yard. Please don't leave your underwear on the radiator in the bathroom. There are other guests staying. There is a laundry (Shirleys Laundrette )3 minutes walk - for those who are staying for a shorter time and want to do some washing.
(website hidden) people in the house except for the booked in guest.

3.Meals: I provide a light breakfast, toast and cereal, fruit and tea or coffee. I do not provide gluten or lactose free products.
Please use table mats underneath your dishes on the dining room table and coasters under cups.
After breakfast please put the milk back in the fridge or your dishes in the dishwasher. If you bring home a takeout or eat something here please rinse your dishes off and put them in the dishwasher. If it is full or on please wash them and dry them and put them away.
Make yourself a tea or coffee if you want but please if you use all the milk replace it. It's really for breakfast.
Please don't leave food waste lying around - put it in the bin. The bins are labelled Recycling (CLEAN paper, plastic, cans), rubbish (no food), Rubbish and compost. Rinse glass bottles and leave beside the bin.

4..Noise: This is a quiet house. I don't mind what time you come in at but quietly please. If you want to play music I suggest using a headset, I have a usb one I can lend you. Please if making phone calls after 11 pm use a headset.

5.Bathroom: The bathroom is shared please be conscious of that when leaving your toiletries around and leave them neatly or keep them in your room. I supply soap, shower gel and shampoo if you need and also towels. Please don't leave laundry hanging up there I can hang it up for you in the utility area if you give it to me.
Please dont hang wet clothes on the wooden furniture it will damage it.

6.Rubbish: I empty the kitchen bins daily please bring your food waste down and bin it there rather than in your room. It would be great if you could bring all your rubbish down and sort it in the kitchen into recycling and rubbish but I don't mind doing that.

7.Printer: The printer belongs to my work I can't print boarding passes etc for you but there is an internet café three minutes walk away on Rathmines main street, open 24 hour, which will do it for you.

8.Shut the front gate:

9.Landline: The phone in my dining room is a work line.

10. No bicycles in my house (front hall) or to be brought through the house or chained to the front gate (I can't then open it).

11. Nuts or popcorn can make an awful mess in your room. Please be conscious of this. If you spill them you are welcome to use my hoover to clean up. I am happy to store food for you in the kitchen in the fridge or in the covered bread bin. .

12. I change the sheets and towels once a week. If you want extra towels just ask. I give three towels, a bath, midsize and facecloth. Most people find that enough.

13. On checkout I may be able to keep a bag for you for the day I may not. My checkout time is 10 am. I need the keys returned out at checkout.

14. No smoking in the house- if you want to smoke outside I will give you an ashtray. Please close the door behind you if you go out for a smoke.

15. Please don't ask to use my address for postal deliveries. I don't provide this service.

16. A friendly cat lives in my garden(as in when she is on the other side of a window she is feral) , a fox and frogs. We have animals lots of them but I can't take yours.

17 no children

+ More

Safety Features
First Aid Kit

3 nights minimum stay
large central room - double bed D6

39 Reviews

Check In

This host has 59 reviews for other properties.

View Other Reviews

About the Host, Margaret

Dublin, Ireland
Member since June 2013


Explore other options in and around Rathmines

More places to stay in Rathmines: Apartments · Bed & Breakfasts · Lofts · Villas · Condominiums