large central room - double bed D6

House - Private room · Leinster Road, Rathmines, Dublin, Ireland
Margaret

Spacious sunny room in old Georgian house. 20 minutes walk from the city but in the friendly local Rathmines neighbourhood. Meet my friendly dog, sit in the garden. Bus stops. supermarkets, bars, cafes are all two minutes away

Your host, Margaret
13 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

Spacious sunny room in old Georgian house. 20 minutes walk from the city but in the friendly local Rathmines neighbourhood. Meet my friendly dog, sit in the garden. Bus stops. supermarkets, bars, cafes are all two minutes away

The Space

Very large double room in beautiful period home in residential neighbourhood, 15 to 20 minutes walk from Trinity college or a 10 minute bus journey. Close to the city centre and very close to all amenities. I am on a direct bus route to UCD the 142.

I am located in a friendly safe central neighbourhood with restaurants, bars and coffee shops and a cinema across the road all minutes away
You are 15 to 20 minutes walk to Trinity or a 10 minute bus ride (2 mins walk to bus stop), on a direct bus route to UCD (142, 15 mins away).
2 minutes from
- 4 supermarkets
- a great and inexpensive Palestinian restaurant, Little Jerusalem,
- Starbucks and MacDonalds and several inexpensive Thais and Indians
- a great fish and chip shop
- Slatterys a listed Victorian pub,
a cinema, swimming pool and a laundry.
10 minutes walk to the green line Luas.
Shared bathroom, shared with max one other guest and sometimes me (if I want a bath).
continental breakfast available on request in beautiful garden with friendly poodle, foxes and loads of birds
no smoking inside or out !!
You can keep some small things in the fridge if you wish and have a tea, coffee or a drink or heat something in the microwave .
I do not provide cooking facilities as the kitchen is small.
There is a launderette around the corner should you wish to do your laundry. If you stay more than a week I will do a load of washing for you.
What I am providing is the bedroom. You are welcome to sit and study or use your computer in my dining room. The sitting room is sometimes available for your use. Please ask. My garden and garden room are now asleep for the winter but in Spring summer and autumn it is pleasant to sit there.
You can put a bike in my shed at the front of the garden but I do not guarantee safety.Lock it. I do not have parking but it is free on the road after 6 pm and before 7 am on weekdays and at the weekend.
You can have a door key but I will need to get a key deposit from you of 15 euro (replacement key costs).

Lovely gardens with lots of wildlife, foxes, frogs and birds like being in the county but in the city.

Walking distance from theatres and the concert hall.

I have a good deal with a taxi driver from the airport (20 euro). If you want me to book with him for you (Alan) for pickup from the airport or travel to the airport let me know. You can of course take the bus but its two bus journeys from here.

Guest Access

The house, dining room, garden room, and garden but limited use of the kitchen as it is in need of renovation. There may be use of the sitting room but I mostly work from home and use it as my home office. Please if I am in there with a computer with the door shut during the day don't expect to come in and sit and chat with me me. Questions are fine. My computer and printer and ink are paid for by my work. I cant print boarding passes for you but there is an internet cafe around the corner
Putting something small in the fridge or heating something up is fine.
I love to cook, there are great inexpensive restaurants in the neighbourhood but if you want me to cook you dinner some evenings I can do so for a reasonable fee. A lot of what I cook is vegetarian but I can do carnivore… I can nearly always give you something light and healthy like soup or risotto and salad. (8 euro charge for soup and salad). Just let me know in advance and if I can do it I will.

Interaction with Guests

I am here normally to greet you and tell you about the neighbourhood. After that its up to you. Some people like to chat, some get up and go. Some people have a drink with me. I wont be intrusive but if you are interested and you want me to show you the neighbourhood or make recommendations I will.
My dog always interacts she loves people.
I do work from home mostly using the sitting room as my office (I have two other reception rooms). If I am in there with the door shut using a computer please don't assume I am free to talk to you.

The Neighborhood

I love Rathmines close to town but a village where families live, parks, schools a cinema, swimming pool and gym. supermarkets, health food shops pubs restaurants, cafes, bookshops it has it all.

Getting around

Yes loads of buses to and from Rathmines and the luas is a ten minute walk. I can sometimes give you parking if not I may have dockets for the road which is free parking evenings nights and weekend. There is no direct bus from the airport, take a cab or get a bus and the 14 or 15 from Trinity

Other Things to Note

Some great quirky shops like the third policeman and a great weekly house clearance auction
Little Jerusalem I love or Slattery pub
If given advance notice I can provide dinner at a reasonable charge. I cook a lot of vegetarian but I do carnivore too.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $540 /week
Monthly Price: $1892 /month
Check In: 7:00 PM
Check Out: 11:00 AM
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • The room was very big and cozy, with a wonderful view on the garden. Margaret was very helpful and a nice person to talk with, thanks for everything!

    June 2014
    Margaret
    Response from Margaret:

    thanks Irene best of luck in Dublin

    June 2014
  • Margaret was very friendly, helpful and welcoming, the house is wonderful, set way back from the road and quiet and light. The double bedroom was large, full of character, clean and the bed comfortable. There were some nice restaurants in the area and the house is no more than 20 minutes walk from St Stephens Green and the main shopping centre of town. It is very close to major bus routes - 2-3 minutes walk if you want to get the bus into town. Margaret's dog was very well behaved.

    May 2014
  • The room was lovely. A very quiet place in the centre of Rathmines. Walking distance to the city centre.

    May 2014
  • Really pleased! As my first visit to Dublin and also to AirBnB, things couldn't have been better.
    Margaret was an excellent host, always helpful and very friendly. The house is very nice, comfortable, nicely decorated.
    You can get to central Dublin in a 45 minute walk. Even walking at late hours (23'ish) didn't have any problems on the street.

    March 2014
    Margaret
    Response from Margaret:

    Glad you enjoyed Nuno. Stephens Green is actually only about 20 mins walk.

    March 2014
  • My first airbnb experience! I stayed four nights with Margaret, everything was lovely, very relaxed, Margaret great company and I felt as if I spent a weekend with a friend which was a nice surprise.

    February 2014
  • Margaret is a very helpful host. She cooked delicious breakfast, bought ticket online, booked taxi for me……every things I needed.
    Thanks a lot.

    January 2014
    Margaret
    Response from Margaret:

    Pleasure Mia to have you

    January 2014
  • Margaret is a warm and welcoming host to a warm and welcoming house. It's relaxed, beautiful and lived in. A home from home in the heart of Dublin.

    October 2013
  • Great place, Margaret very helpful. Lovely friendly dog.

    October 2013
    Margaret
    Response from Margaret:

    Thanks David kind of you to say as when you were here I was really let down by painters who started the bathroom then wandered off for nearly a week leaving all of their painting gear on the upstairs landing and have still not fully finished. (The bathroom mirror (which is large) is still in my bedroom......

    October 2013
  • Big clean room, nice bed! Interesting older house. Lovely host!

    September 2013
  • My week in Margaret's house has been fantastic! A beautiful bedroom in a big house with soul and a large garden. Rathmines is a quiet small town, with everything you need, just 20 minutes walking from Dublin city center! And Margaret is a very generous, nice and friendly host, always available to discuss and responding for your needs!

    August 2013
Per Month
From
$83
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 18 times
About
Am from the country love to garden and cook and love my dog
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
today
Similar Listings