The front of the house - This building was once a Victorian primary school.This table folds out to comfortably seat a four people.
User Profile Image

East London artist house and garden

United KingdomLondon
Entire home/apt
4 Guests
1 Bedroom
2 Beds
1 adult
0 children
Ages 2 - 12
0 infants
Under 2
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet
412 travelers saved this place

About this listing

We'd love for you to come and stay at our artistic, unique home located right in the heart of London's traditional East End really close to trendy Shoreditch and super easy for central tourist locations. Mao, a very cute cat also lives here!


The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Check In: Anytime after 12PM (noon)
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt
Amenities
Prices
Extra people: $13 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee: $19
Security Deposit: $323
Weekly Discount: 10%
Cancellation: Strict
Description

The space

A beautiful and cosy Victorian school conversion. We a a lovely garden and a very friendly cat and are located really conveniently for visiting London's sites.

Guest access

Guests have access to the whole apartment, the garden and a parking space if needed.

Interaction with guests

I can either arrange to meet you to hand over the keys or if we are away we have a very convenient locked key box which I will give you the code for once you have booked.

The neighborhood

THE NEIGHBORHOOD
Roman Road: We live on the boarder of mile end and Bow, just next to the famous Roman Road market. This is London's East End at its most authentic...we have G.Kellys Pie and Mash shop that has been there for over 100 years and sells jellied eels and bright green liquer for drowning your meal in...and George's Plaice, a tiny little shop selling mussels, cockles and all sorts of cockney style sea creatures!..plus on most days there's all the stall holders selling fruit/veg, the latest east end fashions (!) and just about anything else you can think of!

Parks and canals: We are also right next to the beautiful Victoria Park which regularly has summer events and festivals on plus brand new amazing playgrounds, skate park, cafe's and a boating lake. The canal is nearby as well which is great for cycling along and Mile end park full of houseboats, canal side pubs and a great climbing wall.

Other nearby attractions:
All within a 10-20 minute bus ride - Brick lane and it's Sunday artist and vintage market, beautiful Spitalfields for bespoke shops, trendy Shoreditch for bars, clubs and art galleries, Colombia road flower market, Westfield mega shopping mall, Olympic park, and Broadway market for delicious food stall and cafes.

Getting around

TRANSPORT
Tube: We are really well positioned for transport right into the city. We are a 10 min walk to the tube station which is on the district (green), hammersmith & city (pink) and central (red) lines - so really convenient to wherever you need to go.
Bus: There are tons of buses that run very near to the house, we find the no.8 and 277 are the most useful.
Bikes: If you fancy cycling around the city there are a number of bicycles stations nearby which you can hire for just £2 for 24 hour access.
Walking: As I mentioned there are loads of places to for nice walking routes nearby like the parks and canals which can lead to the fascinating financial district of Canary Wharf, Camden which is full of quirky market stall, bars, restaurants, goths, punks and hippies and a great place to people watch! and soon to open the Olympic village and park area.

Other things to note

MAO THE CAT
We have a little black cat called Mao who is very friendly and she will undoubtedly show off her excellent tree climbing skills at any given opportunity! If you'd like to stay in our home we would need you to fill her bowl with food and water when it's empty (once a day or less). She's pretty good and doesn't gobble it down in one go so she's very easy to look after - and in return she will definitely keep you amused.

House Rules
Check-in is after 12PM (noon)

We are happy for you to smoke in the garden but would rather you didn't do this in the house. We would also need you to feed little Mao the cat once a day with her cat biscuits and fill her water bowl if needed.

Safety features
Carbon monoxide detector
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Availability
2 nights minimum stay.
From Dec 01, 2016 - Feb 28, 2017 the minimum stay is 5 nights.

37 Reviews


Summary
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value

This host has 1 review for other properties.

View other reviews

Your Host


Cara & Alex

Cara & Alex

London, United Kingdom · Joined in October 2012

Both myself and Alex my partner have lived in London for the past 5 years. We have lived in our house for a couple of years now and absolutely love living here. Since moving to London, we haven't stopped exploring and discovering new places and are very happy to share any advice and tips about the city. Alex works in the V&A museum which he cycles across London to everyday and I work as an artist on public art projects. We've travelled across the globe and love learning about new cultures and meeting new people so we would be very happy to help you plan all your London activities.

Response rate: 100%(past 90 days)
Response time: within an hour

Social Connections
You won’t be charged yet