Large 1 bedroom Gorge Waterway

House - Entire home/apt · Qu'Appelle Street, Victoria, BC V9A 1V3, Canada

The Space

The private entry walkway includes a lovely and sunny patio area with table and chairs to enjoy your morning coffee or evening glass of wine.

Your suite is in the lower walkout level of our home.
Your large one bedroom get-away includes a wood burning stove, large TV with cable (including HBO and sports), 3 piece bath (with shower only), open concept living, dining and kitchen.
The kitchen comes equipped with all dishes, pots and pans, microwave, staples, spices, coffee and teas and a Kitchen Aid mixer (for those moments when you really need to bake).
The bedroom has a queen bed and ample space in closets and dressers for all your gear.
The extra bed is a fold-out couch in the living room with a comfortable foam topper suitable for anyone.

We have a lovely, friendly and quiet Labradoodle named Cedar. He spends his time with us whether we are upstairs or in the yard or in the office.

The neighbourhood is quiet, safe and friendly with much to offer within walking distance.
Walk 2 minutes to the end of our street and you will be at the corner store. Continue down Gorge Road for another few minutes and you are at Gorge Park (see photos). This is an off lease park. The walking path continues along the Gorge waterway for 3 km.

Six blocks from our house is a grocery store, Starbucks, liquor store, pharmacy and restaurants.
There is free parking on our street. The bus stop is one block away with the # 11 bus taking you downtown in 10 minutes.
If you are a walker, the walk to downtown across the beautiful Selkirk waterway takes about 40 minutes.

This is a great place for cyclists. There is room just outside your entry to safely store your bikes. We are a short 5 minute ride to the Galloping Goose Trail which connects to the Lochside trail. Together they cover more than 80 km of pathways, along city back-streets, farmland, forest and ocean vistas, all within a day's travel of Victoria.
Cycle downtown from our house in 10 minutes. Ride in from the ferry along the Lochside Regional Trail. If you are coming from far away we can loan you our extra bikes (note that we are short therefore the bikes are small).

Room type: Entire home/apt
Accommodates: 3
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Extra people: $9 / night after 2 guests
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $513 /week
Check In: 3:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Moderate
Pet Owner: Dog(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this comfortable and convenient apartment.Arlene and Wendy were friendly and helpful, but were in no way intrusive. They also kindly loaned me a heat pad when I put my back out for a couple of days! The apartment had everything we could have wanted and is very welcoming and well maintained. All of the info on the description is fair and a true reflection of the set up. I would definitely try to book if traveling to Victoria again.

    March 2014
  • The suite was exactly as described and Arlene and Wendy are wonderful hosts. After a few days, it was like I had been living there for years! It is a short (5 min) walk down to the Gorge waterway where you will find a great park. Walking through the park takes you across the water to the Gorge Point Pub where I found the food and drink choices to be excellent. I would definitely stay here again!

    March 2014
  • Arlene and Wendy's home was the perfect place to stay for a few nights while we explored the greater Victoria area. The unit was spacious and bright with a separate back door entrance. As promised, the convertible sofa made a comfortable extra bed. Their home is in a centrally located suburb, but it's useful to have a car to get around. We had no trouble finding parking on the street right in front of the house. Arlene was available for questions before and throughout our stay. I have no complaints!

    February 2014
  • Arlene met us when we arrived and showed us around the spacious suite with an impressive fully stocked kitchen. We brought our dog so it was awesome to have a fenced yard. There is Gorge Park nearby where we walked over a bridge and then under it to get across the busy road. It's a quiet neighbourhood and we slept well. We had a great stay and would definitely come back.

    February 2014
  • Arlene and Wendy were gracious, generous and concerned w/our satisfaction. The location was quiet and relatively simple to access downtown Victoria. Wintertime visitors should be aware that the apt. is, after all in the basement and therefore not always "toasty". All in all, a satisfactory stay.

    February 2014
  • Beautifully completed large basement suite in a great location with everything you could possibly need. If you like to cook for yourself then this is the perfect choice with a full kitchen and dining area. Arlene and Wendy are extemely welcoming and are happy to provide information on the area. Located a short drive from Downtown Victoria and highway one this is a great base to explore the island from. We had a fantastic stay.

    December 2013
  • Wonderful hosts, comfortable accommodations and fantastic location. Terrific rental for people travelling with pets.

    October 2013
  • Arlene and Wendy are great hosts and the suite was amazing, very spacious and cozy. They even left some fresh fruit and yogurt for us to enjoy during our stay, which was a nice surprise. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

    September 2013
  • A most enjoyable place to stay! Kitchen provided all the modern conveniences one would expect and the bed was very comfortable - no complaints!

    September 2013
  • Very nice. Exactly as advertised. I would definitely stay here again if I returned to Victoria.

    August 2013
Per Month
From
$75
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 101 times
Languages
English
School
Glenlawn Collegiate
Work
Self employed working from home
About
I am a woman who loves to bike and hike. I grew up in Winnipeg and spent a lot of time in my father's restaurant. This is my partner Wendy and we love to host dinner parties. We work from home in our own energy assessment business. Our recent travels have been to Mexican destinations - Oaxaca, San Blas, Los Ayala and San Agustinillo. I am studying Spanish, a slow process at the moment. I would like to learn more Spanish before travelling to South America next winter.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
a week ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings