Kids' space...or just extra person space!
Glebe - Family Suite welcomes you
Glebe - Family Suite welcomes you
5 guests
1 bedroom
3 beds
2.5 shared baths
5 guests
1 bedroom
3 beds
2.5 shared baths
You won’t be charged yet

Welcome to our family home! We realize that travelling with kids or travelling as a 3 or 4-some is extra fun but does have its challenges. So we have a cool 'suite' available for families or travelling-ensembles. Shared bathroom alert!

The space

We are progressive, eco-friendly and located centrally in the Glebe neighbourhood on unceded Algonquin land.

We are a lively open-minded family household and love to welcome guests who have interesting tales to tell and hold politically progressive and eco-friendly values. We have a large rambling old house with all amenities and a large backyard where we try to grow organic vegetables, BBQ and hold music, poetry and fund-raising shows. We also lend bicycles to our guests.

The family suite is on the second floor and has a queen size bed in the front room and in the back a bunk (double on top, single on the bottom, additional single pull-out possible) . This is obviously super-kid friendly but is also a solution for the travelling three or four-some ensemble. There are shared bathrooms on the first, second and third floor of the house.

Babies! If you are a baby, you are also welcome and your parents will be happy to know that the back-room is pretty sound-proof. So if you cry occasionally in the night, you are not going to disturb anybody. Oh and we'll pop up the baby-travel crib and play-pen for you.

There are no desks in the family suite but you can also use the home-office space on the third floor. (There is another airbnb room on the third and a surf couch space if you are an even larger group).

You can be private upstairs or you can join into the family and B&B household. Organic fair-trade coffee and tea are unlimited (free) and $12 extra per day per person for full breakfast (incl. organic eggs, organic bread, local produce, lots of fresh organic or local fruit).

We are child friendly: there is a home-based daycare running on the ground floor Mon-Fri (8:00 - 5:30) and both my kids have their baby-sitting certificates. So in-house child-care can usually be pre-arranged.

We are LGBT positive.

We are eco-friendly: we have a lot of organic and local food, we support use of renewable sources of energy (Bullfrog), we try to stay away from toxic cleaners & chemicals. We are currently unfortunately not pet friendly as a couple of us have allergies.

Our place would be ideal for people looking to build their network in Ottawa with various progressive communities -- we can probably give you a few useful contacts in the community or media. If you are coming to Ottawa to advocate or lobby for progressive change, you can also use the fully equipped home office space (3rd floor) and we are open to meetings and strategizing happening in the various common spaces of the house.

Neighbourhood & Location: We are located in the Glebe, which is a central, treed, urban, thriving neighbourhood. Two blocks from the house you can find coffee shops, restaurants, grocery, pharmacy, boutiques, post office, wine bar, whatever.

One block from bus routes 1 & 7. Five minutes bus ride or 20 minutes walk to Parliament. Best way to get around Ottawa is by bike -- loaner bike + lock is available.

We are 5 minutes walk away from the Greyhound Bus Terminal and 15-20 minutes drive from the airport. Pick-ups can be arranged.

Parking can be arranged.

More info at (URL HIDDEN)


Amenities
Free parking on premises
Internet
Wireless Internet

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed, 1 bunk bed, 1 floor mattress, 1 crib

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
Check in time is 4PM - 11PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

Pets: Unfortunately we cannot accept any pets.

Children: We are very child friendly and will make every effort to accommodate your children in a cost-effective way. Childcare can almost always be pre-arranged both on-site in the daytime, as well as in the evenings. A home-based daycare runs Mon-Fri (8:30am to 5:30pm) on the ground floor of the house. We have three kids in the house (9, 12, 13).

We are LGBT positive.

Accessibility: Unfortunately the house is not wheelchair accessible. If you need accommodation for a disability or special need, please discuss and we will do our best to accommodate and figure out solutions.

Parking: Can usually be arranged in the day-time. 7pm to 7am free street parking is available except on snow-clearing days.

Negative List: No drugs. No guns.

Alcohol: Alcohol is often shared on the premises. Alcohol is enjoyed in moderation.

Smoking: No smoking inside the house. Smoking permitted on 3rd floor deck, backyard, front porch.

Food Preferences, Intolerances and Allergies: I am happy to take your preferences and constraints into account in preparing your breakfast. The House is not peanut free.

Chemicals, Toxins & Allergens: We generally use non-chemical cleaners and our food-basket is heavily weighted towards organic, local and wholesome foods. That said, the community household is diverse, busy, and fluid with very few absolute rules. While we clean with some regularity, there is also some dust. Sufferers of MCS or extremely high sensitivity to various allergens should undertake their own assessment and pre-cautions.

We are politically progressive, supportive of unions and labour organization (though not uncritically so), and allies of indigenous peoples.

Respect for People: We expect all guests to behave in a manner that respects the rights and diversity of views of other guests and household members. When there are children in the room, please refrain from using coarse language or inappropriate topics. Violent or abusive behaviour of any kind will not be tolerated.

Respect for Environment: We are actively working on lightening our footprint. We have a well-organized recycling set-up including a back-yard composter for organics. We try to minimize waste. We are a subscriber to Bullfrog Power which means that we draw on renewable sources of power. We buy significant amounts of organic and local food and usually cook from scratch.

Taxes: We believe in paying our fair share of taxes and benefiting from a well-functioning public service, universal health care and old age pension. We pay 13% harmonized sales tax on all income through airbnb (HST Numb(PHONE NUMBER HIDDEN)), and income tax on all income generated by the house after eligible expenses.


Cancellations

66 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jian User ProfileJian is a superhost.
October 2017
Angela gives clear instructions on how to find her house, and made sure that we were greeted upon arrival. She is warm and friendly, very patient with my many questions about seeing Ottawa.

Sara User Profile
June 2017
We had a wonderful time in Angela's property. She was a fantastic host and the rooms were very comfortable. Angela also graciously provided us parking in her garage. Thanks, Angela!

Sydney User Profile
February 2017
Angela's place was lovely. Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. Would definitely recommend.

Richard User Profile
December 2015
Angela and her family are very welcoming and accommodating. Room is clean and cozy. Quiet neighborhood, but pretty close to the downtown. I would recommend this place for the others.

Zeena User Profile
June 2015
I really enjoyed my days in Ottawa thanks to Angela's hospitality. She is a really warm human being and went out of the way to ensure that all guests feel welcome and at home. The house is very spacious, giving a lot of privacy and free space. I was in Ottawa for some official work, and Angela helped me wherever she could, whether it was getting around the city, understanding public transport etc. And to top it up her home brewed coffee is simply impeccable!

Linda User ProfileLinda is a superhost.
June 2014
We spent two nights at Angela's, which was the perfect launching pad for our explorations of Ottawa. The neighborhood is beautiful, peaceful, and Angela provided off-street parking! Just a short walk from the house is the "main street" of the neighborhood, where we enjoyed everything from coffeeshops, local grocery, a bookstore and outdoor Mexican patio. Our room was small, but sunny, and felt private despite the many rooms and people in the house. Angela's house has a very communal quality to it, so it's good to just make yourself 'at home'. We liked sharing coffee and conversation at the big kitchen table, as people came and went, or a neighbor arrived. If you are involved or interested in progressive causes, this is the place to stay, as the BnB motto is: "We change the sheets while you change the world!" Thanks Angela!

Venkat User Profile
October 2013
Angela was a perfect host. Absolutely no complaints. I didn't notice that I had to check out at 12 pm but she politely reminded me at 1 pm about the check out time. She even offered to let me stay in ground floor if I needed more time. She introduced me to her family and showed around the home during check in. Overall thanks to my hosts, this was a great experience as a first time airbnb user. Will definitely stay again here if I happen to visit Ottawa in future.

This host has 213 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Ottawa, CanadaJoined in January 2013
Angela User ProfileAngela is a superhost.
I am politically progressive, environmentally conscious and feminist. I am connected with a number of communities and networks in Ottawa. I am especially happy to facilitate stays of people who are coming to Ottawa to advocate, lobby and network for change in the direction of gr…
Languages: Deutsch, English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighborhood

Similar listings