Twin/ Double Room, Tipperary Waters

Apartment - Private room · Tipperary Court, Stuart Park, NT 0820, Australia
Ingrid
Your host, Ingrid
17 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The Space

We are a couple of professionals in our 30s that live in a three bedrooms apartment. As we only use a small part of the flat and like to meet new people we decided to give Airbnb a try. We are both friendly and welcoming and will do everything we can to make sure you have a comfortable stay. But please be mindful that we are not a hotel, we are not professional cleaners and we work full time. So folks please bear with us.

We are not at home for most of the day – this means that we won’t be able to assist you whilst we are at work. One of us smokes and you will be able to smoke on the balcony but not inside.

The apartment is eclectic and clean, with a homely vibe. However the apartment is 6 years old and has been lived in continuously so there is some wear and tear. If you are into shiny and brand new things than we might not be the right fit for you.

Having said that, we think that our apartment is located in one of the most beautiful and peaceful areas of Darwin – in Tipperary Waters. There are beautiful views of the marina and the boats from our balcony and you will be able to enjoy these as you have breakfast. The neighbourhood is very quiet, safe and perfect for a relaxing stay.

We are close to Darwin City centre (5 minutes drive or 20 minutes walk, although remember it’s a tropical climate), where you will find the famous Mitchell street with all the pubs, bars and restaurants, shops, etc. In the city centre you can access the Deckchair cinema (open air cinema with amazing views of the sunset and the night sky) during the dry season. There is an indoor cinema on Mitchell street that is open all year round.

500 meters away from our flat you can enjoy the beautiful Dinah Beach Yacht Club with live music and great food. There are also a few restaurants overlooking the marina and some take away places (that do Asian food, fish and chips, etc). There is also a small convenience store where you can buy for drinks, snacks, etc.

At the top of the road there is a bus (no 7) that can take you into town - 10 minutes ride. The bus fare is $3.00 one way. Alternatively you can buy for $20 Show&Go weekly ticket which provides unlimited bus travel on scheduled public bus services for seven days from the date of validation. These can be bought from the bus driver.

We are also located 5 minutes drive or 20 minutes walk from the beautiful Waterfront where you can enjoy a dip in the beautiful lagoon, try the wave pool, check the shops out or try various restaurants and bars.

You can access the Parap market (5 minutes drive or 20 minutes walk) and enjoy various food stalls, yummy fruit juices and hand made jewellery and clothes every Saturday morning. For those who are serious swimmers there is an Olympic length pool in Parap.

We are 20 minutes from the airport, and the taxi to/from airport should cost between $25-30. There is public transport to and from airport but this involves changing buses and walking so it might not be the most convenient way of travelling. If you need directions let us know and we can provide them to you. Also as Darwin is a relatively small place with very limited demand for public transport there is no public transport throughout the night.

There are two bikes for your use. If you want to use the bikes let us know and we will give you the codes for the locks and ensure that the bikes are ready for use.

In front of the apartment there is a small free of charge car park. As the unit is located on a quiet street the car park is safe.

The apartment is on the 1st floor, with a balcony running along its length. There are large windows overlooking a small and beautiful marina and boats. The balcony has an eating area, where you can enjoy breakfast or dining by candle light if having a night in. As we live in a tropical climate we always eat outside.

We rent a double/twin room. The bedroom has built in wardrobes, Air Con and fan. In the room there are two single beds.The beds can be separated or joined up to form a double bed.

There is a separate bathroom with separate shower and bathtub which the guest bedrooms share as well as a separate toilet. If the other room is not booked for the duration of your staying, you will have your own bathroom. However please be mindful that you are likely to share the bathroom with others. Most of the times this has worked out well and if everyone respects other guests’ privacy and the house rules there shouldn’t be any issues.

We offer bathroom towels, shampoo/ conditioner/ shower gel. We also offer continental breakfast and teas.

There is a TV and DVD in the living room area, a Play station 3 and a Ping-Pong table.

We have wireless internet connection for limited use (this means that we ask you to refrain from downloading large file and movies).

The apartment has air con and ceiling fans in living/ sleeping areas.

There are also washing and drying facilities which you are welcome to use.

The living area is open plan, and the kitchen has all amenities for guests' use.

The apartment block has a pool area. The pool has the sun for the majority of the day for those seeking the sun.

Room type: Private room
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Extra people: $19 / night after the first guest
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Weekly Price: $435 /week
Monthly Price: $1741 /month
Security Deposit: $145
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Ingrid was a great host, her unit is clean and has everything I needed for my stay in Darwin, great location for the bus, a shop and Resturants were also close to the unit.

    July 2014
  • Ingrid and Dragos have the perfect place for Airbnb. I stayed with a friend and we had our own rooms (2) and shared a separate bathroom and toilet to Ingrid and Dragos which gave us heaps of privacy in the large unit. There is a door that closes this section off so you don't have to worry about disturbing them.

    It was comfortable and close to the city. We walked in to town on the first day and did lots of sightseeing. Ingrid gave us the best tips for a great time and we appreciated this. There are also some shops and takeaways close by - just a short walk down the street.

    She also posted my letters to grandchildren after I left and bent over backwards to return some items I had left behind after my departure.
    cheap taxis into the city and buses - go for it!

    July 2014
  • We had a relaxing time at Tipperary Waters. Apartment is clean and comfortable. We like the balcony and its views. Dragos and Ingrid are a lovely couple. Very easy to be with.
    David and Gek

    June 2014
  • We had a really nice stay at Ingrid and Dragos place. Great host, very clean place and with an amazing view of the Marina, very quiet. 30 minutes walking distance to the centre, there is also a bus passing by. Convenient, we recommend it!

    June 2014
  • Perfect stay after 6 month of travelling :-)
    Thanks a lot.

    June 2014
  • Ingrid and Dagros were very welcoming, friendly and accomodating hosts. They were very easy to communicate with beforehand too. The lovely, spacious apartment suited my needs and was within walking distance to the city. Great view too. Thanks for having me!

    May 2014
  • Very pleasant stay with Ingrid and Dragos in their spotless , bright well located apartement. Exept it was too short!
    Very large kitchen allows for exciting ping pong games.

    Ingrid and Drago go out of their way to be helpful!

    Francis

    May 2014
  • Good hosts, clean and tidy apartment, close to the city. Thanks for having me!

    May 2014
  • My place in Darwin - as I stay with Ingrid and Dragosh regularly I've come to feel quite at home. Besides being lovely people it's very pleasant to have a meal on the balcony while resting one's eyes on the bobbing boats. All the surprises here are good ones, e.g the ping-pong table and chocolate brownies.

    March 2014
  • It felt like home and Ping Pong was on the menu combined with Sony Playstation!!

    Great host, recommend to anyone looking to stay in Darwin that doesn't want to stay in a hotel. Will definitely try and stay again if they have any rooms available!!!

    Thank you.

    February 2014
Per Month
From
$68
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 27 times
Languages
English
School
University of East Anglia
Work
Local Government and NGOs
About
I have lived in UK for the past 8 years and have explored much of Europe ... I have recently moved to Australia to have the opportunity to explore and travel to new exciting places I am a passionate traveler looking to explore as much as possible. I am interested in history and we always seek to visit temples, churches, galleries, etc. Funny enough my boyfriend, Dragos, is into shopping and he likes water sports. My favourite gallery in the world is the Ufizi in Florence although Louvre in Paris and National Gallery in London come very close. I also like to try various types of food and have a sweet tooth ... I like to dance and would likely check the nightlife I usually travel with my boyfriend Dragos.. We are both social workers and have traveled together in Europe and South East Asia.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within an hour
Calendar Updated
a week ago
Similar Listings