Shoreditch/Brick Lane Pub Bedroom

Apartment - Private room · Commercial Street, London, E1 6LP, United Kingdom
Nico
Your host, Nico
38 Reviews
Response rate: 98%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

Based in the heart of Spitalfields, the apartment is perfectly located for your London adventure and is ideal for students, backpackers or any travellers on a budget.
We strive to provide a central, simple and clean accommodation of the standard of a good backpackers' hostel.
The flat and your bedroom is professionally cleaned every day.

Offering you independence for your visit to London, the apartment is the perfect base for exploring the best that this wonderful city has to offer. A working pub, the ancient building has three floors as well as a gorgeous roof terrace, perfect for star gazing and getting away from the busy city floor.

Two floors below your bedroom, our friendly East End pub hosts a wide variety of local and European snacks and drinks. The pub is a mere two minute walk away from the bustling Brick Lane, a hive of cafe’s and restaurants, the street hosts the most amazing markets and food stalls on a Sunday. We are directly opposite Petticoat Lane Market and less than a five minute walk from the famous Spitalfields Market (the best antique market every Thursday!), as well as walking distance from many lovely shops, restaurants and bars.

We are based a mere 15 minute underground or bus journey from most Central London landmarks, museums and art galleries. Our staff are always more than happy to offer as much information as possible to ensure that you have a happy stay with us and to allow you to see the very best that London has to offer.
While breakfast is not included, we have a communal kitchen which is open to our Airbnb guests. The bathroom has a bath, shower and toilet facilities shared with the other bedrooms available via AirBnb.

-£45 per night for a couple Mon-Thurs and Sunday
-£60 per night for a couple Fri-Sat

Closest Tube Stations: Aldgate East (2 minute walk), Liverpool Street Station (8 minute walk).

Please contact us to ask any questions or to book your stay with us!

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: No Charge
Weekly Price: $520 /week
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Neighborhood:
Cancellation: Strict
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • The living space is really cool and cosy, The pub down below is a fantastic place to get something to eat or drink, and everyone who works there is fantastic. I will definitely stay here again when I come back to London.

    July 2014
  • The room was quite clean and cosy. And Nico and the staff in the pus were nice to us. Good place to stay.

    July 2014
  • We had 2 stays with Nico, one either side of our trip to Italy.
    During the first stay the pub downstairs was undergoing renovations which we weren't told about. the whole place smelt like sawdust and wet paint. This wouldn't have bothered me if we were warned about it. By the time we came back most of the renovations were done.
    The accommodation is on a busy and very noisy road, ear plugs are a must!
    The bed is quite uncomfortable, and the hot water in the shared bathroom was tempramental leaving us to have the occassional cold shower. There is a kitchen, but it isn't really useful, we had to eat our cereal out of drinking cups as there were no bowls and I'm not sure how often the fridge got cleaned out.

    On a positive note, it is in a great location. Spitalfields is a really funky part of London. And the pub downstairs is great.

    Overall, I wouldn't recommend staying here. I'm sure there are hostels around London that provide better facilities.

    July 2014
  • This is going to be a fab place! When I arrived there were sunny spells with a young crowd and a few hipsters hanging out around the ground-floor pub with its huge airy windows. The fundamental renovations had been completed but decorating in some of the spaces remained, nonetheless the somewhat shabby-chic result was fun. I'd be slightly concerned that there won't be enough sound insulation between the future first-floor restaurant and the second-floor of rooms above it, but given that this an inner city area and the place is on a busy road it's all part of the atmosphere. I actually used to live up the road (it's a great location!) so I'm used to the sounds of the city but if you're after a calm location this isn't it. This room is onto the side street so probably slightly better than the one on the main street. There's a separate stairway around the side to the rooms so you don't have to go through the pub.

    June 2014
  • Nico was a great host! We were at Nico's for a week and he was very easy to work with. The Wifi worked very well and never failed. Even though the restaurant below was going through renovation (which is now complete) the work did not disturb our stay even with the window in the room open. Convenient walking distance to Aldgate East Tube station and Barclay's Bike hire points, as well as many places to eat and get coffee.

    The room was spacious enough for two. One window was painted shut however the other one opened without a problem and propped it open with a board. The floor is bare wood but solid. The wardrobe is big enough to hold quite a bit of clothes and if you are the type to over pack there is a dresser in the room as well.

    The hot/cold water for the tub/shower is a little tempermental.. but after a few days we learned its querks. The washer and dryer did its job and it saved us from going to a place to wash our clothes. In the shared kitchen there were dishes and silverware as well as water, wine and beer glasses for our use. The fridge is smaller than Americans are use to but it is plenty big enough for multiple people to share for quick trips to the market down the street.

    June 2014
  • Nico communicated well and was flexible to my arrival time. The Wifi worked well without any issues and was readily available. The accommodation is being renovated apparently to be completed in the next week or so from 05/06/2014.

    June 2014
  • It wasn't the best experience.
    I couldn't get a hot shower in the three days I've been hosted in the room. The bathroom wasn't really clean and the toilet didn't flush properly.
    Though Nico and John were available at all times, the problem with hot water couldn't be solved.
    Plus, as the building was being repaired, it was really noisy from early in the morning.
    Wifi doesn't work every time (in fact didn't work at all the first day).
    Another con: the room wasn't quite as shown in the pictures: dirtier, with mould on the walls and ceiling and windows dirty as well.
    As I read in another review, it was more of a hostel under construction, than a private room.
    To point the pros: Nico and John were available at all times on the phone, which made them great hosts, and the location of the place is very good as well, close to a metro and Liverpool stations.

    June 2014
  • Première expérience Airbnb assez décevante.
    L'appartement est très bien situé dans Londres à 1 min du métro qui dessert Londres assez bien.

    Gros problème : l'appartement est au dessus d'un pub en travaux. Lieux pas très accueillant et assez vieux.
    Pas d'eau chaude ou d'eau froide plusieurs soir dans la semaine sans comptez le gaz coupé qui sur un séjour de 5 jours vous force à faire des dépenses supplémentaires pour les repas.
    Les travaux du bar commencent très tot le matin (même le dimanche) et finissent assez tard en soirée. Rue très bruyante également.
    Propreté de la salle de bain laisse à désirer...

    Nico a cependant été très réactif dès qu'il y avait un problème et bien que tous ces inconvénients ne soient pas dépendant de sa volonté, je pense qu'il devrait penser à mettre ses chambres en locations quand tous les travaux seront fini (y compris eux de l'appartement)

    June 2014
  • Nico was great, my phone wasn't working the day of our meet up and with Airbnb blocking phone numbers we almost weren't able to get in touch. I agree with the other reviewers that the room could be fixed up more, it's in a gorgeous, older, super cool building which once renovated could really be something. The bathroom situation was laughable, literally. We only stayed there one out of our two nights, mainly to store our stuff and sleep, and every time we were home someone was showering for 40 minutes…and that was the only bathroom. Overall, I would say it's a good place to stay for the area, especially if you just need something in that part of town to store your stuff and sleep.

    May 2014
  • Based on the Help Center, I completely understand that I should have contacted them as soon as I arrived to the flat I rented in case I wasn't comfortable with the installations. However, as you can read below, some inconveniences raised only after some hours or days after hour arrival and the unfortunately the frustration kept building up. Let me please share with you my experience.

    As soon as we arrived, we discovered that the pub that was advertised to be below the flat was replaced by a building site. I expressed to Nico my fear that the building site will generate loud noise. He assured that during our stay there were not going to be any problems. Unfortunately this turned to be false. Saturday and Sunday we had some silence but Monday morning at 8am we found ourselves in the middle of ongoing building work.

    The terrace that was also advertised for the flat, was unavailable. As part of the building works, they were transforming it to a green roof. We weren't able to make use of the advertised facilities.

    The whole place was dirty because of the building works. The bathroom turned out to be shared not only with other guests but with the 11 construction workers.

    During our first day, we had no hot water and the kitchen didn't have any gas service. Nico told us that he was going to fix it the day after but he never did. He said that he was going to buy a microwave, but never installed it, at least not during our stay.

    This is why we didn't contact you as soon as we arrived: We tried to be tolerant and we trusted him on fixing the inconveniences. But during our stay, unfortunately nothing got resolved:

    The hot water was interrupted 2 more times during our stay. Each time we had to call him to fix it.

    The room window were dirty and we weren't able to open them so we couldn't renew the air of the room with fresh air. On top of that, there was a strong smell of humidity in the room.

    The floor was made of rather disgusting old wood which hasn't been painted for many years, and very dirty because of the constructions.

    The painting on the roof and the walls was very old with many spots of humidity.

    When we arrived there were no knives, forks, spoons nor any cooking items. I had to ask him twice for it. In addition, we had to ask him twice to unload the washer and dryer. The house keeper left it all day loaded, and in the announcement it said it was available for guests.

    Please find below a link to my public folder in Dropbox where you can find pictures of the pub construction, terrace construction, noises videos, not working kitchen, and not working heater. There is also a PDF file with the transcript of the e-mails we exchanged with Nico.

    (website hidden)_DpX082wa/Apartment

    May 2014
    Nico
    Response from Nico:

    Hi Martin, I can unfortunately not say that I am surprised by your review as it seemed obvious during your stay that Airbnb was not adequate for your travels and that we were not the right place for you either, staying in the flat all day, waking up at midday and staying in the kitchen the rest of the day. I have tried my best to accommodate your wishes and am sorry that you do not even seem to recognize that.

    May 2014
Per Month
From
$79
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 724 times
Languages
Deutsch, English, Français
About
...
View full profile
Response Rate
98%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
2 days ago
Similar Listings