Serenity Guesthouse & Personal Spa

House - Entire home/apt · Orosi, Cartago, Costa Rica

Peaceful and relaxing lovely, well appointed guesthouse surrounded by beautiful mountains and the sound of the river nearby. Near Central Orosi. Rafting and ziplining minutes away,. Close to a National Rainforest and volcanos. Spa services.

The Space

Tired of the rat race? Ready to be pampered? Our hosting philosophy is creating the environment that our guests need. You will be our only guests and we want to help you relax and fully enjoy your time away from it all. We offer a private guesthouse in the beautiful Orosi Valley (one and one-half hours from San Jose) surrounded by green mountains. Kitchen, bath and living area let you live privately, independently and economically.

Jacuzzi and custom spa services available a la carte on site including various types of massage (relax, bamboo, hot rocks), physical therapy, hand and foot care and more! Competitive prices for all. Ask your host what is available at the time and she will arrange things for you. Sleeps 4 with a queen bed and a set of adult'sized bunks. Come and be pampered and then go out on Costa Rican adventures.

This place has it all and is centrally located to be your home base in Costa Rica. Family friendly and non-smoking (indoors). The bus stops right in front of the guest house. A short walk across a nearby bridge takes you into the center of Orosi to do your shopping, visit the famous church and enjoy the night life.

*** PLEASE NOTE: The guesthouse is not to be used to conduct any kind of business. If you desire a real relaxing vacation that includes opportunities to go off on Costa Rican adventures, you are totally welcome here. Please leave your business behind when you join us. Of course, you can use your phone and computer to check-in with your work, but please maintain the serenity that we offer. It's good for you and it's good for us! Pura vida!

Room type: Entire home/apt
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 4
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 3
Extra people: $20 / night after 2 guests
Minimum Stay: 30 nights
Weekly Price: $250 /week
Monthly Price: $750 /month
Cleaning Fee: $50
Check In: 2:00 PM
Check Out: 10:00 AM
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict
Pet Owner: Dog(s) and Cat(s)
  • Warning: AVOID THIS PROPERTY AT ALL COSTS!!

    We came down with 2 clear objectives, create video content for our online business and fast internet. The host, Judth, said it would be fine to shoot a lot of videos on the property and that the guesthouse would be a place of complete privacy. We came down excited to enjoy our stay and it turned out to be a complete disaster. We had little to no privacy and were interrupted several times a day, so we had to put a sign on the door "Recording: Do Not Disturb" but then they ignored the sign and continued to interrupt us. Then we put a sheet on the door to let them know we did not want to be disturbed. She was frustrated as to why we were shooting videos every day. Then, she charged us for renting her car, but wouldn't let us drive it so we also had to pay for her servant to drive us as well and she included herself on the trip and made us all pay for it. Throughout the week, she would invite her friends and drink a couple times a week and them get really loud and annoying. One time we were invited over and the alcohol consumption got really out of hand. She was saying inappropriate things and touching people inappropriately. As a guest it was really uncomfortable and we wanted to stay private in our affairs for the rest of our stay. Needless to say, we woke up extremely early and left the property and came back extremely late to avoid interacting with our host at all costs. We has some friends invited down and they slept over 3 nights and we were barely on the property (she didn't even meet them) and she charged us $20 per night for their stay (it's only $100 per month for extra people) and then felt that she was obligated to 10% of my revenue because I was doing business on her "property". Which is absolutely ridiculous! Early durning our stay, the girl that came down with us were having some problems between me and my partner. She was going to leave early, but instead Judth, our host, decided to stick her nose into our business and then told her to stay in her house talking in appropriately about us. We also didn't have the freedom of speech because the host could hear our conversations through the walls. She gave us a lights out rule for 10pm. We couldn't stay up late and she would blast really bad music at random times durning the day and late at night the dogs would bark keeping us awake for hours...

    There was no sense of privacy, most of our work has not been completed due to our host disturbing us, we were overcharged for everything, she intervened into our personal business, we also had to dodge her undergarments that were hanging outside our door.

    AVOID JUDTH AT ALL COSTS!

    January 2014
    Judith
    Response from Judith:

    Amir, I can't even begin to respond to this incredible review. What we have here is a failure to communicate -- to quote Cool Hand Luke. Obviously we were not a good fit with each other and I only wish I had asked for a lot more clarification from you upfront. What you were attempting to do was not intrinsically evil.... It just was not appropriate for my guesthouse. Thanks for the learning experience. Maybe you learned some things as well. Judith Grossman, hostess Serenity Guesthouse

  • The reservation was canceled 65 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

    July 2012
Per Month
From
$60
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 20 times
Languages
English, Español, Nederlands
School
Catholic University Leuven (Masters in Clinical Psychology), Owego Free Academy, Thousand Oaks High
Work
Clinical Psychologist, Child, Youth and Family, Life Coach, Author, social worker
About
I am a friendly, professional clinical psychologist who loves people and sharing life with same. I enjoy getting to know people from different cultures, races, creeds, lifestyles, etc. Born in the USA, I have lived in Holland, Belgium and Costa Rica. My favorite words are transformation and metamorphosis and I love helping people get past the obstacles within them that are holding them back from being the person they were created to be. 360 degrees of authenticity is my motto.
View full profile
Calendar Updated
2 months ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings