Gorgeous Irish Retreat by the Ocean

House - Private room · Garrettstown Cottages, Cork, County Cork, Ireland
Marcus & Susie
Your host, Marcus & Susie
19 Reviews
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The Space

We live in a very bountiful place along the Irish coastline. We are right on the shore of the stunning Garrettstown beach strand which has its own surf school year round, even in crazy weather! There are cliff walks and Irish pubs dotted nearby.

We are 10 minutes drive from the seriously quaint and cute Kinsale town, which is renown for its Gourmet seafood and fish restaurants and where every year people from all over the world come to see the historic sights and take boat trips. So if you like fishing, the mackerel are next in this end of July, if you like the Arts, Kinsale Arts Festival happens around the middle of July, if you love forestry our local bluebell forest (a few minutes away from our door) has miles of walk paths, if you like the sea, there are boat trips all summer to see whales and dolphins in our nearby harbour view strand and especially if you like to surf or sail, there are wonderful waves most days and there is always an open surf school, minutes walk from our door and Kinsale has a sailing school for 6 months a year.

Our local little village, Ballinspittle, boasts the fantastic Award-winning Diva's Bakery & Coffeshop with great fresh baked goods every day. Occasionally we get a travelling Red Double Decker bus Café and a travelling Sauna at the beach which park up and stay for few days ..that's always a treat !

Our home itself, is a family home with me Susie and my husband Marcus and our two young boys .It’s a big airy bright spacious place, we love it. Our guest-room is a double room with a bathroom next to it and is on the ground floor. Babies are welcome and we have a travel cot and facilities for kids. We sleep upstairs.

I can offer early or late breakfasts, as we are up early with our kids anyway, so we welcome any early-birds out there! . My speciality are pancakes and most of our food is usually organic and we always try to source good local produce from our local growers and butchers. I can certainly cater for vegetarian breakfasts, as I was a vegetarian myself for 15 years, and any other dietary requirements. We eat mostly wheat free as our son is wheat-intolerant so we are used to alternative cooking.

We speak English, Italian and Spanish, as my husband is originally from Argentina, and of course we love the experience of many different cultures as we have travelled much ourselves.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Extra people: $7 / night after the first guest
Weekly Price: $378 /week
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Flexible
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Overall Guest Satisfaction
Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • Had a great stay with Marcus and the boys. They live in a fantastic spot and I felt very lucky to share their home for a few days.

    July 2014
  • Wonderful and very welcoming family! Susie and Marcus made us feel at home from the very first beginning on and always gave us good recommendations for restaurants and our further trips. The location is also great, just a few steps away from the beach. Would definitely stay there again - thank you Susie and Marcus!

    June 2014
  • The room has an ensuite (not very clean) and is situated downstairs next to the kitchen and living room, so it is not very (email hidden)e house is very very small, noisy (because of the children cries/screams/plays), and is rather cluttered and untidy.
    Breakfast was shared at the table in the living room with the toddler and the 5 years old child while Marcus was cooking breakfast in the kitchen.
    While Marcus is a nice person to talk to, (we only met Marcus and the children, not Susie because she was away for a few days), overall our stay was not really a pleasant one as we felt a bit at odd and uncomfortable.

    June 2014
  • The hosts were excellent! The location was near the beach and the little village has a great breakfast at The Diva. Susie makes an excellent full breakfast and is very kind. Marcus waited up for us as we were late getting in and us very knowledgeable about the area. He gave us an excellent route to our next destination the was very scenic. I would recommend this host highly.

    June 2014
  • Amazing host :)
    adorable family

    June 2014
    Marcus & Susie
    Response from Marcus & Susie:

    And you very a super guest Giangi!

    Ci vediamo (in Ireland or in Bologna!) !!

    Marcus, Susie & The Boys.

    June 2014
  • very,very nice place and people.
    we enjoyed a lot.
    super family and super irish breakfast.
    thanks for all, and five stars b et b

    estelle et emmanuel

    May 2014
  • We enjoyed our stay with Marcus & his family. The house is just a stones' throw from the beach and easily accessible from Kinsale, a lovely seaside town.
    Marcus was most helpful with directions and answering questions about the area.
    We did have some problems with sufficient hot water and adjusting the shower temperature, not untypical in Ireland. Marcus did all he could to resolve the issue.

    We would recommend his B&B for couples or families with young children as you share the breakfast table with his two active and pleasant boys The full Irish breakfast was very good

    May 2014
    Marcus & Susie
    Response from Marcus & Susie:

    All the best Dan and Anne, pleasure to have had you here!

    May 2014
  • Very nice family, great kids and really god conversations! By the way, thanks for nice walk to the beach the next morning!!!:-)

    May 2014
    Marcus & Susie
    Response from Marcus & Susie:

    It was a pleasure to have you here guys, all the best for what's coming for you and we hope to see you again!!

    May 2014
  • Marcus and Nancy was great!!!!. We were welcome into their home so openly. Their home was very clean and tidy. The room had fresh flowers waiting on us upon arrival. Also, we were provided with a great breakfast each morning. The best part is that your room is very private with your own bathroom. They also took time helping us with our travel plans. We highly recommend this location in your travel plans.

    May 2014
    Marcus & Susie
    Response from Marcus & Susie:

    Thanks for that guys! All the best in your trips, and see you again one day! Marcus, Susie & The Boys.

    May 2014
  • I always wanted to experience Ireland and the Irish coast and staying with Susie, Marcus and there boys was a great way to do just that! The house is amazingly situated right at one of the two sandy beaches near Kinsale in the south of Ireland. My daughtern (6y) was instantly friends with Susies son and I felt really integrated into the family. Together with us there was also a German speaking Au-pair staying, which was great for my daughter (as she doesn't speak English).
    The area is really really great. Kinsale is a beautiful little town, with two old fortresses to explore, a hidden little treasure of a beach (thank you again for the great tip, Susie!), a very nice playground and lots of small little cafes and shops.
    But what amazed me most is the gorgeous nature. Just around the first beach is a second even larger one and it is a nice walk around a near peninsula along the coastline.
    The room we stayed in was very clean and we had our own adjoining bathroom. Breakfast was real Irish with eggs and sausages (which my daughter adored). If you want to visit Ireland and really experience the people living there I can highly recommend staying with Susi and her family! We loved it very much and perhaps would like to come back in the future :-)

    May 2014
Per Month
From
$70
Subtotal Total

Add a profile photo to Instant Book this listing.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 75 times
Languages
English, Español, Italiano
School
Escuelas Técnicas ORT, Colegio Tarbut, Buenos Aires, University College Cork
Work
Marcus: Actor, Drama Facilitator & General Theatre Networker & Susie: Yoga Teacher and Alternative Health Practitioner
About
We live in lovely Garrettstown, County Cork, Ireland. We have a 5-year old son (as of today) called Arrancito (little for Arran) and a baby boy (9 months old as of now) called Isaaquito (little for Isaac). We love to travel, though havent been travelling that much in the last few years (its the little midgets' fault!). I work as an Actor and Drama Facilitator and my wife is a Yoga teacher and Alternative Health Therapist. Arrancito and Isaaquito dont work yet, they are too small for that! We are looking forward to do more travelling, and this site seems to be brilliant for that! Up and onwards! Our house is really beautiful (if we may say so), and its literally one minute away from the beautiful Garrettstown beach. A place of magic during most of the year.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
2 weeks ago
Similar Listings