1 MILE 2 SURF DOOR2DOOR DOGS GARDEN

House - Private room · Quiet Cove Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92011, United States

The perfect place for a quiet independent traveler who is a dog person.

The Space

ONE ADULT- SINGLE BED, REGULAR PILLOW TOP MATTRESS W/ MEMORY FOAM TOPPER
OR QUEEN SIZED INFLATABLE AERO BED- $79 nite
The space is really ideal for one person. If there are two, there is an inflatable aerobed that is adequate- note that there is a small charge for second person. The house is not child proof.

2 FRIENDLY DOGS ON SITE. - .

My home reflects my travels and my passions. I'm a visual person and my space, and my garden reflects that fact. I will be in and out during your stay, and telecommute from my loft 3-4 days wk.

Listing is for spare bedroom and the guest bathroom, with shared use of living area and outdoor area. Newly painted, new laminate floors, a single bed (pillow top regular mattress- with memory foam topper), or an Aerobed inflatable double size for one or two people. It's tight with both the single bed and aero bed but it fits. (See photos)

Bed linens, towels, private bathroom with shower, bath, sink- toilet paper also provided for stays of 28 nites or less. Longer stays negotiated based on amentities required. Maid service is not available. .

TV (ATT Uverse) in Living room (I have my own in my room), portable air conditioner/humidifier in the living room.

Coffee, tea, including sweeterners/milk included for stays less than 28 nights. No cooking, but you will have one shelf in fridge and may use plates, silverware for takeaway food. Filtered water and ice in door of fridge.

Nice patio space with 4 stools under umbrella in the back garden for a cuppa in the morning or a drink in the evening.

I keep furniture covered with beach towels because the dogs pretty much have the run of the house, and guests can "peel them back" when in use. The house is in a gated community with plenty of street parking directly in front. NOTE: Stays less than 28 nights: You will not be given a key to take with you as you tour the area, but will have access through the use of a lockbox/key safe.

There is a grocery store and fast food right across the freeway, the state campground / ocean is a mile walk door to sand.

A local bus runs along Coast Highway/Carlsbad Blvd- approx 1 mile to the bus stop. 101 runs along coast highway from Oceanside past Del Mar, Commuter train "Coaster" stop at Poinsettia Station within 1 mile ((website hidden)). This entire region is extremely bicycle friendly, with entire traffic lanes on Coast highway devoted to that method of travel.

For the most part a quiet community in spite of the fact it's right off the main freeway I-5.

Happening Now: Golf at La Costa or Aviara, surf in Carlsbad, Encinitas, bike lanes along the main highway, lots of restaurants, shops, galleries , pubs and more close by. Legoland nearby, Prime Outlet Mall up the street.

1 mile door to door to Carlsbad State Beach, or Batisquito lagoon, walking/running paths, bird watching,

I am happy to assist, provide guidance and suggestions for things to do, places to eat or shop, but not a tour guide:) or a travel companion. lol.

Guest Access

Guests have access to the bedroom, the guest bath, all outdoor areas- space in fridge for takeaway food, use of dishes, and microwave. Keurig Coffee maker and electric tea kettle.

Interaction with Guests

I am happy to answer questions and will meet and greet guests. I will be present at the listing during the guest's stay most of the time, but not in public areas for the most part. I am friendly but have lots going on at work, so I try to stay out of your way.

The Neighborhood

Close to the beach, shopping, restaurants, lagoons

Getting around

You have to walk 1/2 mile to mile to NCTD bus 101, or the Coaster commuter train. Easy walk.

Other Things to Note

I'm not really interested in long stays- or a roommate type situation. The price is not negotiable.

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Weekly Price: $500 /week
Monthly Price: $1700 /month
Check In: 4:00 PM
Check Out: 12:00 PM (noon)
Country:
City:
Cancellation: Strict
Pet Owner: Dog(s)

Overall Guest Satisfaction

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
  • I had the perfect get away in Sharon's home. I felt very welcome and comfortable. Sharon is a friendly, outgoing person and I enjoyed spending time in her lovely home. Pumpkin and Joey like a kangaroo made it even more special.

    March 2014
  • Sharon was very accommodating with my travel schedule. Her home and hospitality were very cozy and inviting. Her dogs were fun to have for a dog-fix. We had all sorts of things in common and even enjoyed a great meal out together. I felt very comfortable in her home and hope to come back next time I'm in the area. I was do grateful to have Sharon as my first Air BnB host.

    February 2014
  • I picked Sharon's room because it is very close to where
    I was working last weekend. She communicated very clearly
    and promptly and was flexible with the check in time. The room
    is lovely and comfortable. Most importantly, though, was Sharon's
    hospitality - we had tea together and walked the dogs on a beautiful nature trail nearby. I had a great time!

    November 2013
  • It is worth every penny you spent by staying at Sharon's house. She is kind and helpful in rendering my stay very pleasant and smooth. If you are NOT an American, you may want to ask the hostess many questions upfront to understand rules and expectations.

    July 2013
    Sharon
    Response from Sharon:

    I am a little confused by the "NOT an American" comment, as I did everything possible to accommodate Geo and his guest although they arrived a day before their reservation. There was some confusion with the airbnb system to accommodate changing the reservation to assure that I was paid for three nights instead of two, and my attempts to rectify the situation via bnb versus just taking cash from them may have confused the guest, but it all worked out from my perspective. I do know that they mentioned "home hosting" so I am not sure if perhaps they misunderstood my listing and were expecting more of my attention during their stay, so I have tried to clarify this on my description so that any future guests from ANY country will hopefully be satisfied with the energy I put into sharing my space. :) We did communicate via text instead of face to face since they returned home the last two evenings during their visit after my bedtime- and I left for work prior to their awakening the last two mornings so I feel I did the best I could under the circumstances.

  • If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing home to stay in, Sharon's place is perfect! She has a beautiful garden patio. The home is less than a mile from the ocean. I felt very welcome and safe staying here. Sharon's house is lovely and very clean. We had plenty of privacy during our stay. Each morning we had fruit and coffee waiting for us. Sharon also created a list of places we might want to visit. It was very helpful. She has two, very calm dogs, Pumpkin and Joey who are as sweet as can be. Sharon was a great host, and I would recommend her home to anyone. Thanks Sharon for a great stay!

    July 2013
  • We were in town just for night and needed a place to lay our head after attending a wedding, so we weren't at the her place very long - but nothing but good things to say. Fresh linens and new pillows. Friendly dogs, a few free treats and bottled water in the kitchen also were a welcome touch. Everything was clean and airo mattress was comfortable. Thanks again Sharon - See ya next time !

    June 2013
Per Month
From
$79
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 8 times
Work
Not for Profit organization/ charitable organization/marketing
About
From Los Angeles originally, Live in San Diego County near the beach, work as Dir of Communications for a not for profit, 2 dogs, traveler, writer, foodie, gardener, love art (performing arts also), Lived in Australia 89-94, travelled 4 months on the way home - going to oz to visit friends this year, last two years destination was morocco, london, san miguel de allende I work full time, and am hosting on airbnb to give me some extra money to contribute to upgrades and repairs on my home, without the need for full time roommates. I have a very busy schedule, and for the most part will leave my guests on their own while they are staying with me. I get up very early during the week to walk my dogs before beginning or leaving for work. As a result I also go to bed pretty early, so if guests do not arrive back before 8pm they may not see me all day although I may be home. I have tried very hard to be accommodating to my guests while I learn the airbnb system. I prefer to let airbnb take care of the "payment" side of my hosting efforts so there is no cash changing hands on the spot. I do not list my home as a vacation rental. I am sharing my space with others, while providing a private bedroom and my guest bathroom.
View full profile
Response Rate
100%
Response Time
within a few hours
Calendar Updated
7 weeks ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings