An excellent private double room

House - Private room · Botanic Avenue, Drumcondra, Dublin, Ireland

The Space

This is an excellent private double room in a magnificent spacious 4 bedroom house in one of the greatest areas in Dublin North provided with a WiFi and all the possible amenities. With its stylish layout and perfect location it ideally suits singles or couples looking for a peaceful and comfortable stay in the heart of the city centre.

The room has access to 3 bathrooms, a beautiful living room, a modern spacious kitchen with all the mod cons, a central heating, a free on road parking and a nice garden. Bedlinen and towels are available for every guest.

A friendly housekeeper lives in it permanently to help you with everything you need during your stay.

Situated in Drumcondra area where shops, restaurants, take aways, bars, surgeries, schools, DCU, sport facilities and various public transport links are just in front of your door, this room is a must let by anyone looking for a perfect accommodation at a reasonable price. It is also surrounded by Croke Park stadium, Mater Hospital and the unique National Botanic Garden.

Guest Access

A kitchen and 2 bathrooms

Room type: Private room
Bed type: Real Bed
Accommodates: 2
Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 3
Beds: 1
Extra people: $11 / night after the first guest
Minimum Stay: 2 nights
Security Deposit: $100
Check In: 11:00 AM
Check Out: 10:00 AM
Cancellation: Strict
  • The location is closed to the city center. The next bus station is just at the end of the street. A supermarket and post office is nearby. The airport is not so far. The Housekeeper Erika was friendly and helpful. It´s a good location for a short citytrip to Dublin.

    April 2014
  • Un peu déçu. l'appartement n'est pas dans le centre, c'est assez excentré
    J'ai trouvé l'appartement vraiment sommaire, la salle de bain est limite.
    La literie était bonne.

    April 2014
    Response from James:

    The apartment is 10 minutes walk from the city centre and this was clearly stated in the ad. Please, read carefully the property description next time.

  • there was a water damage in the flat, so we got a 4 bedroom booked in a nice hostel. everything was fine, thanks!

    March 2014
  • A very secure, modern residential building located a few steps from major bus routes. A few minutes walk to Connolly Rail Station, Luas tram red line, and Busáras Dublin Central Bus Station. Very convenient location from which to discover Ireland.

    March 2014
  • Pros:
    Very affordable
    Near the city centre
    Near a bus stop
    We booked the accommodation for St.Patrick’s Day weekend Thursday 13 March-16 March however James then forced us to alter our reservation to one less night because he had promised the room to someone else. This left us not only looking for a place to stay for one night during the busiest weekend of the year but to pack up and move everything during our holiday. Neither is ideal.
    Someone other than the flat owner emailed me asking about our details and when I asked them to explain further as to who they are or why they needed my information they were short with me and gave me no information. We later learned it was the housekeeper who turned out to be rude and unwelcoming.
    Walls had unknown black spots all over
    Very small- Staying in a small space is okay for a short time but we couldn’t even sit at the table.
    They only gave us one and half rolls of toliet paper and half a roll of paper towels which lasted about a day and a half between the 4 of us.
    The walls are paper thin you can hear everything and everyone!
    My friends and I were chatting at a normal level in the bedroom when the housekeeper just let herself in our room with no knock at 11 pm on a Friday night during St. Patrick's Day weekend to tell us to stop talking.
    The lock to get into the building is complicated and sometimes doesn't work. We spent 20 minutes outside trying to unlock the door. Standing outside in an unknown neighbourhood at night can be scary. The lock into the flat is just as bad. The lock itself is about 100 years old and takes a while to unlock but what is worse is that you must use the key to lock the door from inside the flat. If there were any emergency or fire we would have been locked inside the room. At one point it took an agonizing 20 minutes to unlock it to leave.
    The shower would be freezing cold for about 30 seconds and then would be scorching hot for 40 seconds and no normal temperature in between.

    March 2014
    Response from James:

    Adrian was aware in advance that he and his friends can stay with me for 2 days only and he agreed with the alteration when he had the right to cancel his reservation. The studio was ideally clean and Adrian was provided with all the stuff written in our ad. The walls are not thin but according to the rules stated in our ad, no noise is allowed after 11 pm during the night. Adrian was informed that we have a housekeeper and it is normal for her to ask for his details considering the check in time arrangement.

  • This isn't the apartment we booked! This owner has different properties and the photos posted here belong to a different apartment! The man who gave us the keywas really nice but the apartment was old , the bed really uncomfortable, the linen were worn out and the toilet, even though it smelt of bleach, was not cleaned properly. I would advise the owner to post photos of the actual apartment and not of a better one. The price is still not very high for the property but in my case I would have decided to pay a bit more to stay somewhere better if I had seen the real flat in the photographs.

    March 2014
  • Nous avons passé un agréable séjour à Dublin mais concernant l'appartement nous avons été très décu !

    Celui-ci n'est pas propre du tout. Le ménage n'est pas fait systématiquement. Il y a de la moisissures un peu partout et surtout dans la salle de bain. L'annonce indique que celle ci a été refaite et est flambant neuve....... Nous avons pris des photos.

    Nous n'avons pas cuisiné une seule fois dedans car la cuisinière était plus que sale. De plus les odeurs des voisins cuisinant du poisson est horrible. Les voisins sont assez bruyant jusqu'à 2/3 heures du matin.
    De la chambre, vous pouvez suivre leur conversation.

    Cependant, nous avons été bien accueilli malgré le fait que la personne ne parle pas bien anglais. Les instructions via james ont été très appréciées pour notre arrivée.

    La connexion wifi était la seule chose parfaite!

    L'appartement est à 15 minutes à pieds du centre ville, une fois que l'on connait cela va très vite. De l'aéroport c'est très bien desservit.

    Malgré tout la description de l'appartement est un peu embellie par rapport à la réalité et le prix assez onéreux pour un tel appartement.

    March 2014
    Response from James:

    Indary is a difficult guest to have. She expects a luxurious accommodation for a cheap price. The apartment where she stayed was ideally clean because I inspected it while the cleaner was there. There was only a small wet spot in the ceiling corner because the neighbours upstairs had flooded us a bit but this is being fixed. The apartment is provided with all everything for a comfortable stay.

  • Appartement assez excentré pour le prix, 25minutes à pied de O'Connell Street, 35min de Temple Bar donc pas très pratique si vous comptez rentrer tard pour profiter des pubs. A notre arrivée, l'appartement n'était pas très propre, des cheveux dans la douche et ne regardez pas sous le lit ! De nombreux accros sur les murs, des crochets cassés un peu partout, des pièces de meuble de cuisine qui trainent... La salle de bain est très bas de gamme (minuscule lavabo) mais surtout la cuvette des toilettes était cassée...
    Bref, nous ne recommandons pas cet appartement, pour le même prix, voir souvent moins cher, d'autres personnes sur Airbnb proposent mieux ou même des auberges de jeunesse qui ont un meilleur confort !

    March 2014
    Response from James:

    Eloise and her boyfriend should not be taken by any host! They stole the new bath towels and they left excrements on the bedlinen. The sperm spots on the bed cover were so hard that we could not use them any more after the frequent washing up we did. The studio was left in an ideal condition but after Eloise it was so dirty that I had to pay for 2 cleaners to come instead of the one I use. We only had a broken toilet seat cover that we did not have enough time to change because of the early check in of Eloise.

  • Good flat and the price is not too expensive

    March 2014
  • It was a terrible experience to stay here.
    We rent this house for 1.5 months.
    The new guests have moved in before we checked out.
    My booking still active at the moment.
    But they kept telling me that I have cancelled my booking.
    I said "I have no reason to cancel my booking"
    They asked me to pay extra money for staying
    I was angry and asked Airbnb's help.
    Airbnb apologized and told me that they will give my money back.

    They didnt find out the problems and solve it.
    They just care about money!!!
    My friends was smoking in the living room before they making the rule "no smoking"
    We got the fine "€50" and I refused to pay because they added the rule after the things happened.
    The location is not bad but It's danger district in Dublin.
    And the house outside is very dirty.

    February 2014
    Response from James:

    Every host should avoid having Shynian. She does not tespect the house rules. On the second day of her stay when the housekeeper went to repair the lamp in the hall, we found the apartment in a smoke fog with 2 guys sitting in front of a big ash tray. She refused to pay her fine and 2 weeks later she found a job in Cork and told me that she wants to move out. She moved out and left her friend to live in the apartment. Then on the third week I got a cancellation email from Airbnb saying that she has decided to cancel her reservation. I contacted her and then she said she had never cancelled it. Her friend kept staying in the apartment and asked for €220 refund back living there alone but I refused because according to the contract Shynian paid per day and not per person. I then talked with her friend who decided to stay there although Shynian cancelled the reservation and he wanted to share the apartment with other people where he relet it again. Finally Airbnb closed our case giving Shynian €100 back.

Per Month
Subtotal Total

This is the final rate, including any fees from the host and Airbnb.

Save this listing to review later.
Saved 8 times
St Pats Cavan, Thomond College
I am a letting agent and an Irish language lecturer interested in travelling, meeting different people and sports.
View full profile
Response Rate
Response Time
within a day
Calendar Updated
2 weeks ago

How does Airbnb promote safety?

Similar Listings