Great check-in experience100% of recent guests gave this home’s check-in process a 5-star rating.
Great location100% of recent guests gave this home’s location a 5-star rating.
Indoor fireplaceThis is one of few homes in this area that has this feature.
Near the quaint town of Onancock, enjoy a relaxing retreat in our home overlooking the Bay. In a waterfront community, you will have access to our private beach just steps away from the front door. Kayak and Bikes are available to our guests.
1 queen bed
1 double bed
1 double bed, 1 single bed, 1 sofa bed
No parties or events
Check-in is anytime after 4PM
Check out by 11AM
ALERT FELLOW GUESTS / TRAVELERS- THEIR HVAC SYSTEM IS NOT SIZE APPROPRIATE TO HANDLE EXTREME COLD, THIS WAS DISCLOSED TO US, BY THEIR OWN HVAC CO.REPRESENTATIVE OVER THE PHONE. THE LOCATION IS REALLY NICE AND SO IS THE HOUSE BUT ITS BETTER FOR SUMMER TIME. THE HOUSE GETS REALLY C…
Response from Debbie:
Hi Dee, We are so sorry you had such a bad experience at our home. Just wanted to touch base in a few notes.... You asked to rent our home less than the required time limit allowed and were told of 10:00 am checkout needed....BEFORE you booked. To accept your rental request, we had to rearrange the in place cleaning schedule to accommodate you. That is the only reason we needed a 10 am checkout. As far as checkin information.... again, the reservation was confirmed late in the evening before your arrival. We had texted/emailed several times in the 18 hours before check-in. If you had needed more information or a welcome note, many opportunities were available to ask. As far as other communication, the first time we heard of any problems.... was 2;30 in the am, (we were asleep) again at 8:30 am via text from Airbnb when we immediately called you back. We immediately placed a service call with a repair company. It was the coldest day of 2017 so they were going to fit you in asap!!!! We truly never meant to be rude and I am not sure how you perceived this. In the 36 hours you were at our home, we exchanged many phone calls, emails and texts.... we try to make ourselves super available and literally communicated with you over 50 times regarding heat, sheets, wifi, early checkout, late checkin, etc. When I received a call from AIRBNB regarding complaints, they assured me they would directly communicate with you regarding issues. This began numerous emails and texts with AIRBNB about you PLUS your texts. We then let Airbnb handle the problem as well as offer you the opportunity for early check-out. Regarding the heat, and conversation with the service company, I personally spoke with "Kathy" at this company who told me that you were extremely rude and snippy AS well as had no idea you had to PUSH the BUTTON on thermostat to raise the temperature, after doing this, the heat started working. At 8:00 that same evening you texted to say.... very rudely.... that the heat was now getting colder and the next morning saying there was no heat. When technician arrives ASAP... he discovered the oil/heat emergency shutoff had been pulled, therefore turning off all heat. (You had already checked out) "Kathy" (dispatcher) also mentioned that in conversation, she gave you some suggestions on what could POSSIBLY be the cause of heating problems(not being aware of thermostat and emergency heat shut-off human misunderstandings) .... she was guesstimating since she had never seen our home or our system to know whether size and system were appropriate. We purchased this house two years ago and had No problems with heat. The fireplace is also working and has been used many times in the last month by our guests and our family. The house was rented Before And After Your Stay. Neither of the guests before or after had ANY problems with our HVAC system... We also have a very detailed house information manual in the living room. This book lists all pertinent rental information. In one conversation you said the wifi did not work.... I suggested that you look in book and CAREFULLY copy the password and pay close attention to uppercase:lowercase and letters/numbers. After three more texts/:conversations you finally listened and stopped using an "o" for a zero.... and it worked. As far as the sheets, we have never made the bed for guests.... I do not want our guests to think their sheets are not clean. That information is clearly noted in our rental information. I am very sorry about the towels not being up to your standard. I have already added to our inventory and greatly appreciate that feedback. Again, I am very sorry about your bad experience! We will reevaluate accepting a last minute request. You have requested to stay with us last minute before and we did not accept. We will keep that up because we never want to let our guests think "we are all about the money" Regards, Debbie and Forrest
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.